Ratings based on 441 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Great, courteous employees.
Cons: it was surprising that we needed to spend an additional $10/day for a \refrigerator and $20/day for parking on top of that.
Location: Amazing Botanical Gardens.....
We mostly dealt with Stacey at the front desk, she was fantastic....she gave us great direction for the downtown. As per her instruction,we were able to find everything we were looking for. .
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom pa

beds are horrible!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
I never complain about anything, ever! This hotel was very clean, the staff was amazingly nice! But the beds are unbelievably hard!! I'm in my 20's and my back killed me for my entire stay! I'm serious, the floor probably had more padding! Awful awful awful! I read reviews and I couldnt believe no one said anything about how hard the beds were. My 4 year old even said the bed was not comfy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delaware

Close to Carnegie Museum of Art

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Provide written directions in and out of town
Location: Carnegie Museum of Art and Natural History, Cathedral of Learning
I was a bit taken aback at how little the people at the desk knew about the surroundings--I asked them if I could cut through the area one block form the hotel, where the Cathedral of Learning is, to get to the Carnegie Museum, and the girl at the desk said she didn't think so. Of course it was quite easy to cut through the middle of the block. When I asked for directions to the Ohio Turnpike, next morning, they were equally vague. Nice restaurant in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2014
We were very pleased with our hotel room. We loved the location and front desk staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was excellent too.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Excellent location for University! Easy to walk around campus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus, OH

Hidden Fees

Posted Dec 1, 2014
I booked this hotel as an Expedia hidden deal. The hotel was average and I was mostly happy with my stay. The reason I gave the hotel a rating of a 3 was due to what happened at check out. As I woke up to leave in the morning, there was a bill under my door for a $20 parking fee. I was not informed upon check-in that I would be charged to park in the hotel's lot. I am very unhappy about the charge and it sullied my experience at this hotel. Future booker beware, you have to pay to park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location for the universities.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The staff were quite helpful and friendly. The location. The restaurant/bar is a refreshing change from many hotels- simple but good menu and drinks.
Cons: Perhaps review the heating units and if rooms have problems give guests alternatives.
I had problems with the heating system in my room.The first night it was too hot and made noise every 60 seconds. At 2am I called for help- it did come and the problem was solved by turning of the system.The second night the temperature was better although event 5 minutes it made a dreadful noise. I tried turning it off as they person the night before showed me, It was at the setting. I called the front desk but did not get anybody to pick up the phone so I gave up.Tea in the room was not replaced.- only coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom West Virginia

Nice hotel near the arts district in Oakland

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: I liked how clean the rooms were and how quiet the hotel was at night when I needed to sleep.
Cons: I think the staff could be a little more friendly.
Location: In the Oakland section of Pittsburgh, the hotel was right next door to a lot of cultural places like Carnegie Music Hall at Oakland and hospitals.
I had a late check in due to a late flight arrival. I was greeted at the front desk by a woman who seemed to be in a bad mood, but I understand it was late and I think we were both tired. I had trouble understanding the parking at the hotel but she was able to help. I wasn't thrilled with her mood but again it was late. The other staff members were nice, a little distant but I am from the American South so I am used to overly friendly people. Others may like this. The room was nice and clean. The housekeeping staff was wonderful. The room was comfortable with a nice quiet room. I was pleased with the experience. The only reason I would not return here is the fact that this hotel being so close to the University and hospitals, gets a lot of traffic and I being a small town person wasn't up for it. Otherwise, this hotel is great for the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Castle, IN

Campus atmosphere was great!

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Friendlieness, clean, comfortable
Cons: nothing
Location: Went to Penn.ave, shopped and enjoyed the arts and food!
We came to Pittsburg for our first Steeler's game. Your hotel was reccommended by a friend. Very comfortable!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Crappy place with great people

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I changed the room three times, the heating wasn't working, the toilet was running, etc. It's a crappy hotel for the price, but the personnel is amazing and they're trying their best to accommodate you.