Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent personal service in a great town!

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The B&B is a real vintage home and everything was functional. Breakfast was delicious and the owner also took a special request in cooking some eggs.
Cons: The bedsheets and blankets seemed a little thin. Fortunately, the house was well heated so we slept comfortably.
Location: The GlenMorey is very close to downtown Placerville, with several good restaurants. We went to Cascada and Bricks and both were very good.
We enjoyed our stay at the GlenMorey for two nights. We had the Edinburgh and Inverness rooms. Both were very quiet since the B&B is protected from road noise. Beds were comfortable and there were extra towels were found in the dresser. The GlenMorey is decorated quite tastefully in a Scottish theme.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by K. Mitchell from Thousand Oaks, CA

Great place to stay and have a "Wee Dram" at night

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very cozy, the owners were great, the Christmas theme decorations were great, and the overall furnishings and décor brought us back to a wonderful trip and time well spent in Bed & Breakfasts in Scotland! The breakfast was wonderful, and we also liked that GlenMorey's location was only a short walking distance to Historic downtown Placerville.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mimi & Steve from Sacramento, CA

A cozy Sco'ish retreat

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked one night here for me and my sweetie as a surprise getaway for his birthday. We arrived a little before the "official" check-in time and, after a self-guided tour of the open rooms (Inverness was occupied but we checked out St. Andrews and Edinburgh) and the common areas (large, comfortable sitting room fitted with a piano, soft music playing, a superb library, as well as personal touches like the innkeepers’ wedding photos), we were greeted by Tom, the proprietor. He was very gracious and we appreciated his laid-back style. We were encouraged to select whatever room we pleased and we chose the blue room (St. Andrews). The inn is decorated with a Scottish flair, but not obtrusively so. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I only gave it a 4-star rating because it would have been nice to have more than one chair in there, but I believe one would have to sacrifice the armoire to make room for it. After some wine tasting and a fabulous dinner in town, which we walked to via the conveniently close pedestrian bridge, we spent the remainder of our evening snuggled under a lap blanket, sipping wine on the back porch, looking at the lights of Placerville through the leafy gardens. The bed in our room was super comfy and I really didn't want to get up in the morning, but I also didn't want to miss Tom's legendary breakfast - and it didn't disappoint! We commend Tom and Allison for creating such a wonderful retreat location. We will be very happy to return to GlenMorey!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Central California

Charming!

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Location: Within easy walking distance to old downtown Placerville with a multitude of interesting shops.
Warm and welcoming hosts, an absolutely charming place with attention to decorating detail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Silverado CA

Great experience

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The house was beautiful and full of things to keep you occupied. The host was vey nice and the breakfasts pretty tasty. Very charming. Would recommend this place to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Elisa from Santa Rosa

Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We thouroghly enjoyed our stay. The house was lovely, one of the oldest in Placerville, and nicely decorated. The location was perfect - walking distance to downtown and a short ride to where we needed to be to white water raft. The breakfasts were yummy and the coffee delicious. The bedrooms had mini-refridgerators which was nice. The owner/operator was very accommodating and friendly. We enjoyed it so much we are going back next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dwatts

Nice B&B

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: quite location
Cons: Room air was a bit annoying. door locks inside need work. also there was what looked like a gas line and valve with no cap inside the room.
Location: wine tasting , shopping, lots of small bars with that old town feel. red hawk casino
Hard too find but good location nice gardens , close to town walking distance. Big clawfoot tub and nice firm matress. spent the day in town wine tasting and antique shopping very peacefull place. Went to the red hawk casino steak house for dinner, service was great, food was just ok had the cowboy steak and they must have used his horse. Meat was very grainy and tough for $42, just go to the buffet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Julia from San Jose, CA

An Everything Scottish Inn

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Proprietors were very friendly and accommodating to our needs, especially when first aid was needed for a member of our party. Their food was quite tasty. We stayed there 3 nights. Our first breakfast was a Fritatta with home made veggie sausages, along with fruit cups, orange juice and coffee, tea, or cocoa. The second day the main dish was poached eggs on toast with all the other above mentioned accompaniments. The third morning we were served what they called their special dish which was a French toast with apples & nuts baked on, along with scrambled eggs along with the usual accompaniments listed above. The room we were in had a very nice shower head which was quite invigorating. What we could not understand though was why during our whole stay our room was never refreshed. There was no cleaning or bed making done the whole time we were there. This was the first time we've encountered something like this in all our travels. For the price we paid, we would have expected a little more attention to details of this sort.
2 out of 5
by Sid from Ca. central valley

Reminiscence of a Hitchcock movie.

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Not a thing.
Cons: Exterior house appearance and landscaping.
Location: A lot of history and a casino
Creepy, narrow access road, over grown on both sides gives an eerie feeling that you may have taken the wrong turn! To top everything off, we were fed a vegetarian breakfast and we're definitely not vegetarians. All in all, not a well spent $150.00. We could've stayed at a very nice hotel, had a nice dinner and breakfast for that much!!!