Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Get what you pay for.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
It is clean, quaint & serves its purpose. The staff is friendly & helpful. It is a fit for the area, an old gold mining town. This is not fancy by any means but you should happy with it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City, Utah.

Close to downtown, and conveniences.

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Its in a fairly quiet, safe area of town. I stay there when visiting near the Sacramento Area because I feel safe there.
Cons: The rooms are showing a little wear and tear, and could use a mild make over to freshen them up.
Location: Marshal Historic Park in Coloma, is just a short hope on HWY 49. There is nothing better to peek the interest of kids than to visit real history.
I've stayed at the Gold Country Inn on several visits to the Placerville area. My room is always clean and acceptable. Its in a safe part of town. I like the easy access to the freeway. I usually take a run over to the Marshal Gold Discovery Park, while I visit. Its about 15 miles on scenic Hwy 49. Visit on the second Saturday of the month for a special treat. My grand children were thrilled to actually find gold from the very river where James Marshal found his that started the 1849 gold rush.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san jose ca

The room was confy and aseptable

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Was nice very romantic night they need to put more blankets and little more of ventilation system in the smoking rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ca

not so good

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Pretty clean.
Cons: Paint, update rooms, better continental breakfast!
Location: Had to drive to shops, restaurants & any activities.
Hotel was not in a good location, continental breakfast consisted of very weak coffee & not so great roll. Room was very out dated but pretty clean, thank goodness. Wifi was almost non-existent, could not stay on line!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ricardo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by williamfrom Wildomar

Comfortable

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
No problem had a nice stay
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stevenfrom Valley Springs

Gold Country Mistake

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
For $127.00 a night it wasnt that great, the toilet stopped working the first night and cycled every 10-15 minutes the 2nd. The tv remote would not change the channels. The rooms were clean however and the beds were great to sleep on. Not worth the money however.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

one night stay

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: I did like the shower gel dispenser in the shower.
Cons: Everything. Linen, mattress, asthetics
Location: There looks like there is a fair amount to do in the area. A disappointment was that the stores did not open until 12 noon on Sunday.
We were in Placerville for a party. Booked a night at GCI and was disappointed when we arrived. The room were dingy and there was a hole in the bathroom wall. The bed was lumpy and it was VERY noisy outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The property is older but is clean and neat. Very well kept exterior. For the price of the rooms the amenities, such as, soap, coffee etc, was low grade, My room definitely needs a new toilet seat. I would definitely stay there again if the National 9 down the street is full. It is the same general condition but half the price. The staff was very pleasant and it was very quiet.