Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Historic Gold Country Charmer

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Built in 1852, this darling 4-story Hotel has seen better days, but was right in town, very clean and has an Elevator! The Lobby is full of artifacts from the Glory Fays of the Gold Rusg & is utterly delightful.😘
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Keswick

Old Hotel on Main Street

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff
Cons: The breakfast provided was a joke, considering the price that was charged for our stay. Coffee, fruit juice and some local fruit, were just not enough
Three night stay in middle of July, fortunately air conditioning was working well. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel is old and as such is getting tired. The room was a suite and therefore large enough. The bed was comfortable and well provided with pillows. There was very little servicing of the room during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas brit

Beautiful historic hotel in an incredible town.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The hotel is a wonderful authentic historic hotel. The elevator is from the 1920's and you feel like you have taken a trip back in time. There are great local wine bars and restaurants with great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from napa, ca

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Location is great! We brig your little beagle and the staff was wonderful about it. They have 2 dog friendly suites... It was perfect. It had old charm and comfort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff and the room was very clean and comfortable. We're looking forward to going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mark from San Diego

Perfect location in historic downtown

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location in historic downtown. Nicely refurbed and maintained historic hotel. Beautiful lobby. Evening manager was very friendly and helpful. No complaints whatsoever with stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Charyl from Reno, NV

wonderful old Hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and did a nice job of making us feeling welcome. This was our second stay, both wonderful.The only nenegative was the elevator, though historically correct, it was a pain for someone handicapped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Eric from Livermore

Historic and fun

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose the Cary House for a quick family weekend getaway and were not disappointed. While this is an older property, the rooms were comfortable and the staff was beyond helpful. If you enjoy stepping back in time and find vintage elevators entertaining, this is the place for you. This hotel also sports a great front balcony where you can relax to watch the sun go down and the limited nightlife kick in. All in all, fun, relaxing and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Santa Rosa, CA

Easy to recommend this hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Love the central location and having the option of enjoying a glass of wine (B.Y.O.B.) on the second floor balcony overlooking Main Street.... great! Adjust your expectations. This is a very old hotel (by U.S. standards) but well cared for and the staff is great! Don't wait too long to make your dinner plans..... the sidewalks do tend to roll up around 9:00 during the week. We got caught us in conversation and had to grab a burger at In-N-Out. Missed the local fare for dinner, darn. The bar across the street provides a little local color ..... and a bit of noise at night. ..... was not a problem for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com