Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

Very Lovely.

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The fact it was a Bed and Breakfast. very cozy.
Really enjoyed the stay here. The host was very nice. They made us feel right at home. The PANCAKE's ! Well take our word they were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bredafrom Massachusetts

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our third stay with Mary and Dave Potter at their B&B. They are truly the most hospitable hosts we have ever come across. Dave met us at the car, offered to help with our bags, and introduced us to the other couple staying at the B&B. The next morning, Mary welcomed us as if we were long lost friends and enjoyed a cup of coffee with us while we had our breakfast. She remembered minute details from conversations we had had together during our previous stays, and inquired about family members who had poor health this past year. We HIGHLY recommend that others plan to visit Mary and Dave, even if it is merely to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. During our getaways we've gone canoeing, visited the local amusement park, toured a winery, and quite simply enjoyed ourselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris M.from Brooklyn< NY

Fantastic, Quaint Spot

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a really quick visit , but the small B&B just off the highway in Plantsville was a spectacular night's sleep. Mary and her husband were so hospitable and the PANCAKES or breakfast were among the best I've ever tasted. Will be here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great owners. Wonderful food.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: The couple that own it. We also enjoyed the best pancakes ever served with maple syrup made from their own trees.
We were very impressed with the owners of this B & B. They made us feel welcome and they provided us with an over-the-top great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David and Joyfrom Sheffield, UK

Wonderful hosts

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great time and the hosts were the loveliest, most generous people you could wish to meet. We immediately felt welcome and were sorry to leave. The building itself is full of character, the breakfast was excellent, the room was spacious and spotless, and the bed was as comfy as you'll find anywhere. We loved our stay there and would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ld smithxmasfrom stafford, va.

Wonderful night

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were on our way home from Maine and traveling with two dogs. We were warmly welcomed as were the dogs and they had a fenced yard where the dogs could run and play. Great pancake breakfast with homemade maple syrup and the dogs were invited down for the meal. The room was large and nicely furnished.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Happy Teacherfrom Massachusetts

Like a member of the family!

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
After spending 3 nights at Captain Josiah Cowles Place, I have, without hesitation, recommended this B&B to a number of friends and family members already. Our hosts treated us as if we were well-loved members of their family. From tasty desserts left out with notes for us, to allowing us to help ourselves to snacks, an assortment of cold drinks, and tea/coffee...it was unlike any other B&B I have been to. Each abundant breakfast was served with a side of lively conversation that left us with our tummies full and ready for the day's adventures! I HIGHLY recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a home away from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michaelfrom Phoenix

Nice historical building

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Nice old historic home and great staff.
Cons: The lack of street signs make it a small challenge to locate.
Location: Close by? All of Conneticutt is close by!
The B and B is a quaint building from the late 1700s. The owner and his wife were a real pleasure. They helped with dinner reservations and were attentive to our needs. I would certainly stay there for my next visit. Make sure to try the maple syrup produced on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ALorenefrom Philadelphia

Quaint and cozy B and B

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: All the comforts of home and then some.
Location: Easy to find, even late at night.
We arrived later in the evening but Mary and Dave were still up to great us, offer us some cake and show us to our adorable room where we had total privacy and one of the best nights sleep ever. They asked us when we wanted our breakfast and the next day offered up a delicious meal including their very own maple syrup. We left feeling very rested and full on a delicious meal. I would highly recommend this B and B, especially to couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels.com