Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall ontario canada

good for a short stay. close to all ammeneties

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: the area.
Cons: the amount of space.
Location: very good location. close to all shopping and restaurants.
pretty good overall. bed could of been a little bigger. a small fridge could of been usefull.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very clean hotel only 8 years old, hotel very well maintained , very similar to holiday inn, breakfast included, close to stores and uno restaurant , very nice of them giving us complimentary drinks for each guest at UNOs we were 3, we would stay at this hotel again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, but ultimately a pass.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, Courteous, good internet.
Cons: Rooms should be entirely further from the lobby.
Location: Ausable Chasm is great.
I stayed here needing a cheap, clean place to sleep before taking a morning ferry from Port Kent to Burlington. When I first walked in there were a group of people sitting and talking loudly in the (tiny) main lobby with an open bottle of whiskey placed on the table between them. To clarify, this was at roughly 3:00 in the afternoon. I'm by no means opposed to drinking, and these people all looked very normal and nice, but having that be the first thing I saw when I walked in… Not great. To make things worse my room literally opened onto the lobby. A number of the rooms do. I heard every person going into and out of the building, every person congregating in the foyer, every bell rung at the main desk, and then got woken up when breakfast began in the morning. Furthermore at night there was this pulsing, low-grade industrial humming that sounded like it was coming from either inside the building or close by. I had to turn the fan on to muffle it, and then was a bit chilly. The staff of this place were extremely kind. It was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the wifi was fast. The muffins at breakfast were great. However, some poor building design and questionable policies meant my evening and night were about as restful as if I'd just pitched a tent at a KOA. In the rain.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

convenient highway stopover

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Cons: breakfast
Had we paid 1/3 less for this hotel, I would have been satisfied, but considering the price we paid this was a little disappointing. It is not situated near anything with any charm, but there are some restaurants and a mall nearby. The breakfast in the morning was very basic, but at least there was coffee,tea, cereal, toast and yoghurt. Should I stay in this area again, I would choose a location closer to the town/water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

You get your money's worth.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
We usually stay in the higher priced hotels but decided to try this one after reading the good reviews. We were not disappointed. The Microtel Inn was inexpensive but clean and comfortable. If we ever roll through Plattsburgh again, we will stay at the Microtel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yokers, NY

Good value

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Coveiet location with easy access to I-87. Great staff, comfortable room and a nice continental breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Clean comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Clean and bright.
Suited our needs for a one night stay. Nice parking area. Close to downtown Plattsburgh.
3 out of 5
by Mandy from Watervliet, NY

Bring your own pillow

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The pillows
Location: I ran a half marathon, it was in downtown Plattsburgh, pretty close to the hotel.
The hotel was nice and clean, very budget pleasing, but my husband and I didn't have a great night's sleep due to the pillows. Neither of us could get comfortable, they were paper thin. So my advise is to bring your own.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us at the Microtel! I'm glad to know that we were able to hit the mark on our cleanliness and our rates, and that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you were displeased with the quality and quantity of pillows in the room. We are currently in the process of replacing all of our pillows with gel-fiber models, and always have extras available if extra support is needed. Our front desk is always available to assist with these issues, so never feel like you have to remain uncomfortable in your own room. I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and demonstrate what a great improvement our new pillows are!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andre from Boynton Beach, FL

My new go-to hotel: Microtel by Windham

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Room size, cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: 7-10 mins away from Albany airport. A good selection of restaurants in the area and even a nice Pizza Uno restaurant walkable from the hotel.
My son and I did a travel trip in the northern part of NY the first weekend in April this year and had booked the Microtel in Plattsburg which were our trip begun. We were there only for two nights as we needed to set off for travel. I had booked this hotel a week ahead of arrival Hampton Inn. When we arrived, they had all my information at check-in. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The lobby area was nicely appointed. We really didn’t use the hotel amenities other than the printer located in the lobby area which worked like a charm. The room was spacious and we chose the one that had a counter space between both queen size beds. I had to work at the hotel the first day there and it was a pleasure. There was free Wi-Fi, flat screen TV mounted overhead between both beds, and the counter space with sink, mini-fridge and microwave. We both loved it. Because of the cleanliness and the low price, I am going to make Microtel my new go-to hotel when I’m on the road. Although not part of this review, on our drive back to Florida we stayed at another Microtel in Georgia. Same awesome experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone if you’re looking for an affordable, clean and well appointed hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of the hotel! Although there are bigger hotels in the area, we strive to offer the same level of service, cleanliness, and hospitality that one can expect from the most well-appointed hotels in town at a very affordable price. We have taken every measure to provide high-speed, reliable wi-fi, a broad range of television stations, and a complementary breakfast that includes fresh fruits and yogurts as well as the typical fare. I will also let the housekeepers know that you found the cleanliness of the rooms to be above your expectations--they always love to hear when they've been able to impress our guests! We are also fortunate to be located conveniently near shopping hot-spots and several excellent restaurants, the Uno included. The Plattsburgh International Airport is even located within ten minutes' drive time, making us a convenient stop for people anticipating one of those early flights. We would be happy to provide you with another excellent stay on your next trip to Plattsburgh!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to find

Posted May 23, 2014
Everyone's really nice and it's fast checking in. The free hotel breakfast is great as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing a review of the Plattsburgh Microtel! We know that the last thing that anyone wants after a long day of travel is to wait in line to check in, so we make sure that the process is swift and efficient for everyone. Additionally, our staff is always trying to make our guests' stays more enjoyable, so we remain available for assistance 24 hours every day. I'm happy that you enjoyed our breakfast as well; we offer a free continental breakfast every morning from 5:00 to 10:00 to get our guests' day off to a good start. With options like fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, bagels, juices, coffee, and tea (among others!), we try to provide something for everyone. I'm glad to know we were able to do so for you! If you are in the area again and need a room, we would be happy to be the ones to provide one for you!