Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago area

Location is perfect to enjoy everything in Playa.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
We spend two nights at the Acanto before heading to an all inclusive hotel on Maroma Beach. The location of the hotel is perfect and the layout is spacious. Although it was just two of us in a one bedroom villa, there was an additional bedroom located in our unit (door was locked) and it would have been perfect for a family or two couples. There are so many great places to eat at Playa and the shopping is a fun mix of surf shops, local goods, upscale "mall" type stores, and trinkets. It's a colorful place to people watch and if you can stay up past 11pm to party if that's your thing. The beach is a short walk and is also very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guatemala

Conveniently located

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: it is close to everything.
Cons: Breakfast could be improved. Pool temperature is too cold
Location: it is close to everything.
It is 2 blocks away from the beach and 40 mt from the 5th avenue, which is crowded 24 hours a day, but you can barely hear any sounds in your room. Breakfast is included, but too simple and the same every day. I stayed three nights with my family and had a great time all the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Guillermoo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Perfect for families or larger groups

Posted Nov 18, 2014
We took 3 teenage girls and 3 adult women for a weekend trip. We had a 3 bedroom villa. It was 3 large bedrooms (2 kings & 1 queen) and 3 bathrooms. It was perfect! A full kitchen and living room. Close to the beach, right next to 5th street shopping, and dining (I recommend El Sur on 5th Street). Everything we needed was there. If we had questions, staff would answer or find out for us. One of the ladies went out of her way to contact our transportation service (to the airport) to confirm for us and they gave her a run around (8 different #''s) and she completed the task and did so with a smile. It was raining one day and they provided umbrellas. They had small areas with jacuzzi's, bbq grills, and lounge chairs on the roof. Just let them know and they will get it ready for you (not very private though if that is what you are looking for). The only reason I gave them a 4 and not a 5 on facilities is because they provide a small continental breakfast and I would have liked just a touch more (maybe more fruit & yogurt?). I will go back and take my family!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Maryfrom panama

maravillosa estadia

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Maravilloso El hotel muy lindo, limpio, y cómodo y el staff muy eficiente y amable, la verdad que lo recomiendo ampliamente, es más bello que las fotos
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Decent hotel but had a hotel worker intruder.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Decent hotel, perfect location but had an awful experience. Awoke at 2:30am on the first night to someone coming into our room with a key. I yelled out and they said "sorry" and then left. In the morning we told the front desk and questioned them on who else would have access. We were told no one. The hotel looked into it further and found a report from the security guard that HE was the one that came into our room. He said he saw a light on and was going to turn it off. There was no light on and the tv was also off. What if there was a light on? That is still no excuse for someone to come into your room. We suspect the security guard thought the room was vacant and wanted to take a nap. Who knows. Wouldn't recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wonderful apartment/hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
My wife and our three kids booked the Acanto through Expedia sight unseen but after reading some reviews. We wanted a 3-bedroom place and were a bit worried that it would be chintzy or run-down... Totally the opposite. It was wonderful. The Acanto is right in the heart of Playa, close to the beach and all the shopping and dining , and yet it is a little oasis, quiet and relaxing. The apartments are clean, modern, spacious, and very comfortable. The staff are super friendly. When they found out it was our 20th wedding anniversary they discretely put a bottle of wine on the dining table with a sweet card. We had multiple balconies, outside and inside seating areas, multiple bathrooms, a very functional kitchen, and incredibly, a real sense of seclusion and privacy. This place is a gem. I'm not sure when we will go back to Playa but when we do, we will stay at the Acanto.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Perfect condo hotel steps away from everything

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The rooms are spacious and beautifully appointed.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: 5th Avenue is about 10 steps away- great shopping, restaurants and necessities in both directions. The beach clubs are one block away-
Fantastic stay for a week in Playa- this place was perfection. Literally steps off of 5th avenue, and just a block from the beach, this little jewel of a pied a terre was exactly the right amount of everything. Awesome service, wonderful ambience; when you step into the courtyard, it's like stepping into your own residence- the courtyard pool is perfectly cool, with lounge chairs just waiting for you to relax after a busy day. The staff, specifically Joel and Nallele, were amazing- gave us wonderful recommendations, and handle de every little thing we needed- this was such a great experience, we are coming back in December!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Abelardofrom USA

Not what we expect from a Boutique hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
When we arrived to the hotel and did the check-in the first thing they did was to read us the Rules of the hotel. I was shocked with one of the rules. If you go out at night you need to tell the night guard you will be late. Come on. I'm 49 and my wife is 39 it has being a Long Time since I do not tell anyone if we are going out and when are we coming back. If you lose the key is $25 usd for a normal proximity plastic key they use in many hotels and they replace it for free. It was not aloud to put the air condition below 21 Celsius ( 70 F ) in the room. The included breakfast was very poor and I understand the concept of continental breakfast. We choose a room with a "Private Jacuzzi" it was nothing private in the jacuzzi. It is located in the roof top with several other " Private Jacuzzis" but the division fence is like 3 ft high so everyone can see you all the time. Our feeling was the administration of the hotel wants to save money at all cost. The hotel is nice and well located, the rooms were fine a bit small but confortable, over all we expect more for a boutique hotel.