Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Convenient Beachfront

Posted Mar 29, 2015
The restaurant Indigo is not so great, but The Taj is convenient, offering various local discounts and was great for the kids, too. Music at night from the parties is a bit much some nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Great hotel and amazing staff!! The waitstaff was great and we will def be back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and on the Beach

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Next to 5th street and on the Beach, great location on Playa, huge 2 bedrooms payments whit 2 bath , perfect for families, and if you like bars and discos, all in the area. Breakfast complimentary and gorgeous. This is great for condo hotel holidays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Great experience! Clean hotel, right on the beach and very close walk to Quinta avenida.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Not as expected.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: The front line staff was fantastic and truly the best asset this property has to offer. The pool area is also beautiful - intimate and well designed.
Cons: Better locking mechanisms on doors. Better hot water system. Update website to better reflect rooms.
Location: The location is great for restaurants and bars. A bit noisy but worth it if you are interested in the nightlife.
I booked this hotel based on descriptions from both Expedia and the hotel website. I chose a "penthouse" for what I hoped would be a luxury experience. Unfortunately what is actually offered really isn't a "penthouse." Rather, it is a nice enough condo with no balcony or attached terrace. Rather, you must leave your condo, go up a flight of stairs to the roof to access the hot tube and terrace. It is not all convenient - a rather awkward set-up for something being billed as a penthouse and presented as high end. Had I known this I would have skipped the "penthouse" and taken a lower level condo on the beach/ocean side of the complex.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Beautiful condo, great experience

Posted Feb 9, 2015
El Taj was a wonderful place to stay! Great location within walking distance to everything and right on the beach. Staff was helpful. Beautiful (slightly small) bathroom, comfortable bed. Outside noise was not a problem for us, partly thanks to the thoughtful sound machine in our bedroom. One complaint- our unit was billed as partial ocean view, but this was not at all the case.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Keep Coming Back

Posted Dec 15, 2014
This was my third stay at El Taj and each time I love it just as much as the last. The staff are incredibly nice and helpful with recommendations for eating around town and always there to help with anything. I can't wait to come back, sit at the beach club and have a few drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Peterfrom Malmö

Bästa servicen.

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ett bra, välskött hotell, bra frukost och soft musik vid strandkanten och superb personal. Även att vi dricksade dåligt första dagarna så hade vi den bästa tänkbara servicen från alla, när sedan dricksen ökade blev servicen än bättre! Rekommenderas varmt !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JPfrom Tamaulipas

Perfect

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was all perfect... no complains at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The best in playa del carmen

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place..... Very clean, excellent service