Ratings based on 696 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom iowa

Great location. Close to shops, bars and food.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Cons: As with most resorts, the food was only marginal.
There were two generations of us traveling together. The location was perfect because the adult kids could go out to the bars, catch some good music and watch the NCAA tournament. That meant the older adults could stay at the resort or go out, too, with or without "the kids." The area is surprisingly safe and has great shopping. We adored the staff except for one poolside bartender, who was a jerk consistently. As with any smaller resort close to bars, shopping, etc., the beach wasn't much but still offered a beautiful view of the Caribbean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Smith, Arkansas

Wonderful trip!!!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The rooms are spacious and have a great view of the ocean. The food and service were superb. The Staff goes way above and beyond the call of duty!
Location: Very close to 5th Avenue which has entertainment, shopping, restaurants, etc. Also located on the beach. What more could you ask!!!
Everything was perfect!!! Could not ask for a better trip. Our group of six had a fabulous time. We intend to go back to Playa del Carmen soon!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Wichita, KS

Close access

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Handy to everything
Cons: More food options
Location: Plenty to do nearby.
A decent hotel, decent food on site, walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The service and staff are great
Cons: Quality of food and drinks
Location: Location nice lot of stuff about
Not a bad hotel but not 4/5 star more like 3+. Room service is a nice touch but food a drinks lack something
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom plano, tx

Great staff, awesome room, good food.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The room, staff, location, food
Cons: The beach on the side of the hotel where the fishing boats are
Location: 5th avenue shopping is close, ferry to Cozumel is close, next door to The a Royal is a plus
Was a little nervous booking this hotel after seeing all the reviews. However, because I went in with low expectations I was extremely pleased. 90% of the food was very good in my opinion. We've been to Mexico several times and this stay was a favorite of my wife and I. The room was great (beach walk out room). Wasn't a mega resort which we liked because we didn't have to walk so far to get everywhere. Also town was close enough to walk to 5th avenue. The negative would be the beach at half the hotel is deteriorating, but other half still very pretty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toledo ohio

Gran porto real resort

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Nice hotel 1/2 block from 5th street. Standard rooms are not what many would desire! Go with jr suite for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Great Value and Experience

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: I suggest you spend the extra cash and get a Beach front room like we did. Well worth the upgrade cost.
Location: Loved the shopping a few blocks off the beach.
Enjoyed every aspect of the stay except for one thing. Every morning the Hotel staff would roll carts up and down the hall about 7:30am. The hall is tile and the banging noise woke us up every morning. If you are an early riser this won't bother you a bit. but for us we liked to sleep in till 9am. I would suggest the hotel change the cart wheels from hard rubber to air filled rubber tires and tell the staff to roll the carts slower so they won't make so much noise. Other than this we loved everything about the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Monterrey

un excelente relación precio/calidad en playa

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: todo..
Cons: el precio
Location: practicamente sale a la 5ta. avenida de playa del carmen, su spa y estacionamiento muy convenientes..
todo el personal muy amable, la comida muy rica, todo incluído....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom salt lake city utah

Yearly vacation

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: The hospitality from every one this is one of the best place I you feel welcome best location. From 5 th avenue and beach front
Cons: Better food on. The buffet it was not the best some of the food was dry
Location: Great location 1 block from 5th avenue I like to take walk at night to shop
I enjoy sleeping on a really clean room Carla who was are housekeeping. Was great Are room was really clean and. I feel that I can trust the housekeeping I always leave money or my jewelry on the night stand and she move the stuff to clean but I always fine all my stuff Room service was really good never hade a problem
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Relaxing Vacation, Great Resort!!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: We like that this was a smaller place so there were not long lines and nothing was too crowded.
Cons: We thought everything was great - keep up the good work!
Location: Relaxing on beach, 5th Ave shopping just 2 blocks away, and ferry to Cozumel within walking distance.
We had a wonderful week of vacation! We choose this resort based on reviews - and were glad that we did! Resort was small enough that there were not huge crowds, long lines, or fights for a beach chair! One day we even had the rooftop hot tub to ourselves! We upgraded to beach walk-out, which I would highly recommend. It was fabulous because it included a cabana and also included The Royal restaurants right across the street. Just 2 blocks from lots of shopping on 5th Avenue, and easy walking if you want to take the ferry to Cozumel for the day. So many great staff that I wish I would have written down more of their names -- but from the time we checked-in (Maria), to the great staff at the concierge desk (Enrique), to Janet H on the beach delivering me a cold drink at the perfect times, to Nicolas at Trade Winds bar mixing up "something fruity", to the great staff at the sushi bar and all the great staff at the various restaurants. I really can't say enough good things -- we wanted a relaxing vacation, and this was definitely a great choice! We rarely stay at the same place twice - but this resort would be an exception....we would definitely stay again!