Ratings based on 395 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Laid Back

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Good breakfast, fair dinner, beach at water is not private,but great people watching. A good resort for a home base to explore surrounding areas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Best on Playa del carmen

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The bungalows are nice and comfortable, and the staff
Cons: The food!
Location: If you like playa del Carmen it is very well located. You can go to Fifth avenue walking, and the hotel is right on the beach.
It is the best on the beach, but the others look awful!! It is a very crowded beach and there is nothing quiet about Playa del carmen. Lots of very loud parties in the hotel around, with very very loud music! The hotel itself is very nice, every single member of the staff is adorable. The breakfast is very good but, otherwise the food is really mediocre! Terrible chef!!! Strangely the satellite view on the hotel site must be old it does not the concentration of big hotels around, it shows the way it was years ago! with a lot of nature that disappeared!And a lot of constructions around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel...small beach

Posted Mar 26, 2015
We just returned from our family vacation to Mexico. We have been going to Playa Del Carmen for five years now. We found a fabulous hotel called petite lafitte hich has small bungalows on the beach as well as a small hotel. We love it there. This year we thought we would split up our vacation and try a new hotel after staying at petit lafitte for the first half. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were only there for three nights. It is a beautiful set up and quite private. We were disappointed that we were not able to use the full facilities as the main part of the resort was booked for a wedding. We paid for the hotel in full prior to our stay. There was no mention or alternatives to make up for half the resort being closed. The area that was closed was the main pool and the main restaurant, in the future the hotel should offer something to make up for the half of the hotel being closed. Beach was crowded. Lots of beach chairs to pick from though. Food was average. There seemed to be many guests that returned year after year. All in all it's a nice place but we prefer petit lafitte.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rhode Island

Amazing getaway on the beach!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Everything!
We stayed at this resort for our honeymoon and we wouldn't have changed a single thing! The staff was always helpful and welcoming. Boli (the concierge) helped us on two occasions and really provided us with the information we needed to make the best of our time. Gabriel (the bell boy) was awesome when we realized we were an hour off and missed our excursion to Tulum, he set up it up for the next day for us and Rogilio (restaurant staff) knew us by name and we will really miss him! There were so many more that were also great! The room was so comfortable and we enjoyed hearing all of the birds in the morning. The main pool is beautiful overlooking the ocean. It is definitely the most beautiful of all of the hotels we saw along the beach! Mahekal has such a great, relaxed vibe and it was nice that it was tucked just far enough from 5th Ave but yet close enough to enjoy it when you wanted too! We will definitely be coming back with family in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

could not get room that we wanted

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: The decor is awesome !
Cons: the desk staff and hot water not work in our room
Location: location is awesome !
they gave us a diffretn room and view that we booked , this was honey moon and got a double bed and not room asked for :) staff did not even try to make it right , the man who checked us in just kept repeating the disclaimer " based on availability "......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Lovely boutique hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Location, comfort, food, service. Overall a lovely hotel that doesn't feel big and full of tourists.
Cons: Softer pillows.
I highly recommend it. We stayed in a garden room which is steps to the beach and lovely and quiet. Location is also great. One block from great restaurants and shopping. Staff is great. Food is great. Pools are beautiful and warm and clean. Wish I could come back every year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kamloops, BC

The perfect spot!

Posted Mar 17, 2015
We found the Mahekal the perfect spot, so close to 5th Avenue and the beach, yet so private. They offer a package with breakfast and lunch or dinner. I have never stayed at an all inclusive but I think we found a perfect balance. The food was wonderful, drinks are extra but reasonable. The staff were friendly and always helpful. We had the best vacation to date.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom McKinney, TX

Great getaway hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Location, beach, pool, staff.
Cons: WiFi, sound-proofing rooms that share a door for expansion with other rooms.
Location: Great beach location with a quick walk to Mamitas Beach Club. Quiet getaway that is in the city but without the city chaos.
We stayed there for a week this March 2015 and the room with Ocean View was as good or better than what I had seen in the hotel preview pictures. Our 2 kids had a blast at the pool and at the beach. The hotel staff was super friendly and very accommodating. Food was OK, better some nights than others, but was sufficient for us since we're not extravagant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Wonderful relaxing experience

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: Location and wonderful staff
My wife and I just returned from a great one week stay at Mahekal. From the moment we checked in we were treated to a perfect experience with a fantastic room, great food and a most relaxing atmosphere. This is a wonderful place to get away from it all with no T.V. and other distractions - just a great beach and location combined with a superb staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Modern day Gilligan's Island

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Proximity to beach and 5th Ave.
Cons: Our room had a sewer smell from the shower drain :(
Location: If you have not stayed near 5th Ave in Playa and walked the scene... every night best people watching outside of Bourbon Street in New Orleans.
On the beach, good chair and umbrella set up... security makes sure only guests use them. Proximity to 5th Ave. is excellent (2 blocks). 2 pools, both small, each can seat about 20 people... no music at either. All the rooms have thatched roofs which means you hear everything outside when sleeping... great if that is only the ocean, crappy if it means people talking, partying... or the birds that live in the thatched roofs! Food was excellent, and like all my experiences with the Mexican people at resorts, they were great.