Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston ,mass.

Nice hotel ,close to shopping

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Good food ,right on the beech ,good nightly entertainment 'several swimming pool
Location: Walk to center of the town is very good
The hotel is nice and clean excellent food and fantastic nightly entertainment ,unfortunately the last day some one stole our beech bags and sandals ,and after several complain ,after we arrived at U.S. They found half of our stuff (the more expensive stuff was not found),they are willing to mail it at our expense 'which for us was not worth shipping them!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor, Canada

Beautiful Grounds

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: It was very clean
Cons: Coffee refills in the hotel room. I like to drink a couple cups in the morning, but I had to constantly request more coffee be brought to our room.
Location: Great location, stayed at the Riu Tequila last year, thus the reason we returned, but choose the palace this time. Will return next year as well.
Initially when we arrived, the room assigned to us had a very bad musty smell to it. I requested a room change to which I was told I would be moved a couple of days later. Once we were established in our new room it was very good. The food is awesome and the beach was clean and enjoyable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel no ocean view rooms which is dissapointin

Posted Feb 21, 2015
The staff was great and helpful but the 24 hour bar had a bad odor and the water smells.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Food is absolutely terrible.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Food is absolutely terrible. I will never stay at another Riu again. Ruined my experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fair Haven, NJ

Beautiful hotel, excellent staff, good food!

Posted Feb 18, 2015
We stayed for 6 days in February and had a fantastic time! Place wasn't too big, restaurants were good & the staff was amazing! Would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ecuador

Excellent hotel and well located

Posted Jan 8, 2015
It is my 5th time staying at riu palace Hotels and This hotel is very good, but it Could be better if they improve the following suggestions: 1. Wifi 2. Animations 3. Activities 4. Sports bar If you stay After dinner, the hotel is bored. It would be Perfect if they can adapt to the riu palace península cancun that is the best of the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Nice Hotel Small Issues

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Very nice hotel and beach area. Some small issues like not having towels in the gym for seven days. Neglecting to control Mosquitos at the pool area. Felt like being swarmed by Misquitos all the time. Speacialty restaurants are a waste of time. Buffet is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Updated Riu, but the size is hindering

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the small groundsmof the hotel. Also the cappuccino bar with real espresso and pastries was a great touch
Cons: The entertainment team was not great. They practically ignored my fiancée and myself.
Location: We got scuba certified by the Scuba Caribe team right on the beach. Lung (that's his name) was a great instructor!
First I would like to say that I did enjoy my stay at this hotel. I am going to write about all of experiences in hopes that it helps you. My first run in at the hotel was my room. I had made my reservations online and had called to ask for a king size bed. The hotel has very few king sized bed. The majority of the rooms have the two double beds pushed together. The crack in the bed can be bothersome if you are trying to sleep close to someone. I was given a room on the third floor because I did not want a room on the ground floor and it was overlooking the top of a building with a tarp. I believe it was the top of the kitchen bc it always smelled like food. I immediately came back to the desk and they put in my request to move my room the next day. This was nice but the next day I was basically with out a room from 11-3. I had issues with my transportation company and the front desk was very very helpful to get me in contact with the company to resolve my issues. The room I received was one of the few on the side of the holding that faced the beach. However, you can't see the beach from the room. The buildings are in the way. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. Everything was modern with lots of purple. The hotel grounds in general were small which was a good and bad thing. It was good for if you forget anything in your room it's close, but bad because it felt as if they didn't have lots of entertainment around since the hotel was small.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Amazing staff and facilities. Food was ok and very difficult to get consistent reservations at the a la carte restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gaganfrom California

Amazing!

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This resort is simply beautiful, well kept, and the service was amazing. The staff went out of their way to ensure you had everything you needed, and that you aways had a drink in your hand. The pools were beautiful, and the beach was simply breathtaking. The ony complaint I had was that there free wireless internet never worked in the rooms, even though they advertised it as such. You had to go to the lobby or somewhere outside your room to get internet.