Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio

Ok, but leaves much to be desired...

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The property was overall beautiful with clean rooms and for the most part, a wonderful staff. The food leaves much to be desired. Although the property has several restaurants you can't experience them without having reservations. For example, unlike other "all-inclusive" properties there are no nightly buffets. Additionally, in order to enjoy the dinner services men must be in dress slacks. I packed for a vacation on the beach (linen shorts and pants, sandals, etc...) not knowing that when I got to the property that u would be turned away on the first night for dinner. I was forced to order room service and to take a taxi to nearby restaurants throughout my stay. I even asked if the restaurant could provide me the meal in my room but they refused. I just wanted something different to eat for dinner other than the typical burger, quesadilla, and pizza that the room service offers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Getaway Spot for Stressed Adults in Need of Relaxa

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Staff was excellent. Food was consistently good across all restaurants. I think the iron work on the buildings is in need of replacement but doesn't look too bad at this time. The lampshades on the sconces in the bathroom needed a good dusting. And the ceiling fan was a bit annoying at high speed. Overall the room was comfortable. We did enjoy ourselves at this facility but we probably will try another place if we come back to Playa del Carmen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty nice!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The hotel is older and is in need of updating. The rooms were nice, but the bedding wasn't all that great. The pool and beach area was GREAT and the so was the staff there. Our concierge wasn't very helpful and the restraunts were all VERY hard to get reservations for. When we arrived we were offered all 9 and 10 o'clock times at only 3 of the different restraunts. We had to continually bug the hotel staff to get us better times. It was kind of pain! We have traveled TONS over the last 15 years and this probably isn't a hotel we would go back to. We were celebrating our 15th anniversary and let the hotel know prior to our arrival and they said they took note of it and would do something "very special" for us. Their idea of "very special" was 10 red balloons on our bed when we arrived and an offer for us the eat at 10pm at the most unpopular restaurant on their property! I think there are much better options out there for places to stay!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakton, VA

Cozy and Comfortable

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Smaller scale than other resorts, rooms in villas rather than in a large hotel, very good restaurants, great beach, excellent staff.
Cons: Very difficult to get restaurant reservations at reasonable hours while there, must book them prior to arriving.
Location: a brisk walk to the center of Playa del Carmen where there is always something happening. Mayan ruins and cenotes reachable on excursions.
We spent 7 days relaxing in this cozy all-inclusive resort and came away with a very positive impression.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by rhp, Hotel Management
Dear Alessandro, Thank you for your kind words. It was a real pleasure for us to assist you during your stay with us. Let us know when you are planning to come back and we will make arrangements before your arrival. Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Varieties of restaurants close to the beach
Location: No idea
Nice hotel, vanities of restaurants , close to the beach, had good time
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by RHP, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for your review. Your words are very much appreciated. It was our pleasure to assist you and we would love to host you again in future. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Super awesome property!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
First class - superb customer service! Restaurants were delicious and rooms were super clean. The property was beautifully landscaped and the staff was exemplary!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Upstate, NY

Great food & service

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Overall we loved our stay at the Royal Hideaway. The beach, food, and staff were all top notch. The resort is an easy 45-50 minute drive from the Cancun airport and within 1-2 hours of many Mayan ruin tourist sites. Our only complaints with the resort were 1) complicated restaurant reservation system (we weren't able to get a res at some of the locations) and 2) difficulty in getting a pool lounger. If you want to sit by the pool, make sure to snag your spot by 8am or so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Tyler, TX

Loved the food and the service of the staff.

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Staff, location and food.
Cons: Needs some updating and maintenance. Railings on porches had peeling paint. Bathrooms lacked adequate shelves. The landscaping needed updating.
Location: Good shopping in the town of Playa del Carmen. Within walking distance. Snorkling, parasailing, & swimming with the dolphins 30 minutes away.
Great location with beautiful views of the water and beach. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great food!!! We met several couples who had stayed here 8 times, so that speaks well for the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Beyond words!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
It's the ultimate paradise from the minute you walk into the resort! The staff is unbelievable and is so accommodating! The view from the pool to the beach is beautiful. For an all inclusive the food is top quality, the restaurants have many choices! It's an overall paradise and we will be going back for a 3rd visit!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Royal Hideaway

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Smaller resort, excellent service
Cons: The facilities are beginning to show signs of age and the rooms are smaller than some other resorts... Of course, we were not in the room a great deal
The Royal Hideaway is a great place to visit. The staff will go out of their way to make sure your every need is satisfied. The food at all five restaurants and the drinks by the pool / beach are all very good. The several pool areas and beach have plentiful seating for all guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Royal Hideaway , Hotel Management
Dear Thomas, Thank you for your comment. We really appreciate your nice words. They help a lot to keep working hard to make sure all of our guests are having wonderful stays and taking great experiences back home. Let us know when you are coming back and we will be happy to assist you with anything you need. Regards,