Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Rob from Frederickburg VA

Villas Hermosa Heights - Disappointment

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Location to Playa Hermosa
Cons: Complex managers needs to be sensitive to the client
Location: Location was central to beach access roads and evening activities
We rented for a week just after high season. We were assigned Villa #13. The complex was pretty much empty except for some local kids swimming in the pool. We found the complex to be in poor repair reflecting a clear disregard for the customer. The rooms furniture were worn and poorly equipped. The kitchen's functionality was hampered by a lack of basic utensils and dinning ware. The rooms provided usable closet space but no hangers place you clothes. I addressed this with the complex manager and was essentially blown off. Other elements that that we found annoying. The poll maintenance crew firing up gas powered leaf blowers at 5:50 AM, Internet connections required a trip to the pool area. Trash in and around the villas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for family

Posted Jan 3, 2014
This hotel was generally quiet although not at New Years. It is a 15-20 minute walk to the beach with small grocery store and bank machine very close by. The receptionist was very helpful in organizing day tours. We loved the fruit drinks and food at Robertos located on Playa Hermosa.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Damita from Atlanta, Ga

Nice for self-sufficient travelers

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom villa was very nice with a well equipped kitchen. Our villa was near the pool but far enough away that the pool noise was barely noticeable. It was nice to eat breakfast outside on the balcony...a plus! I recommend this hotel but my only complaint is that the maid put dirty dishes in the cabinet and the pool was not cleaned often. I did report that the maid was putting dirty dishes in the cabinets as if they were clean, so hopefully other people won't have the same experience. There's also a small grocery store in walking distance that carries some American brand foods. Playa Hermosa is a very short drive away. The beach is nice for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B. from Alberta, Canada

All the comforts of home and a lot more

Posted Dec 14, 2013
Pros: Everything! Front desk staff was amazing. Cleaning people were wonderful. Grounds keepers were extremely diligent. Restaurants had good food.
Location: Small town atmosphere, shopping very close, beach within walking distance. You don't actually have to leave the property to have a good time.
We were impressed. We had lots of space in our villa, enjoyed the pool, mini golf, theater and restaurants. Staff was extremely helpful at all times. They went above and beyond. Could not ask for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful villas in a beautiful development.

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Inside of a residential/commercial development project that has a movie theater, miniature golf, a dentist and a spa. A beautiful pool with slides. Close enough to everything the area has to offer, and far enough to have peace. Very nicely done, I will definitely book there again next time that I am in Guanacaste. Hermosa is still my favorite area in all of Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bus. Traveler from N. American

Great Family Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was on a business trip during the "low season" and this hotel is really a family type place and was only partially operating since it was the low season. Even so, it was still a great place to stay. Other hotels and restaurants in the area had completely shut down for two months. There are more family type facilities here then others I know in the area so I would recommend it especially for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julia

Great Villa, quiet, beautiful!

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: The cleanliness and attention of the staff. Perfect!
Cons: Have everything available. Said hair dryer available upon request- said they didn't have any. Room service available- didn't offer. Restaurant not ope
Location: Perfectly located next to some shops and 5 minutes walking to the beach.
The villa at Hermosa Heights was gorgeous. Right by the pool and well displayed. The only things missing were some amenities: hair dryer, water bottles, restaurant for food. But food was available not too far
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Enjoyable hotel

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: Great amenities
Cons: Lack of staff
Location: Hermosa heights is beautiful but a bit far from markets/town.
Great but not much staff, stayed a week and couldn't figure out where or who even was the receptionist / front desk. Last day we figured it out and the lady was very helpful in helping get a rental car. The security guys were the only people we saw when we checked in and they spoke no English, however, we managed. Two days are room never got cleaned but when they cleaned, they did a fantastic job. Main bathroom shower didn't work and had toilet issues but overall an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Newton, MA

Villas Hermosa Heights

Posted Apr 29, 2011
Our villa was very nice and clean inside. The decks and amenities could use some updating. Broken chairs were left around the pool. Parts of the playground were broken and broken pieces were left there. If they didn't want to update or replace broken items, it would be nice if they removed them. Despite this we were happy there. People were helpful, though not always available, but someone else usually stepped up to help or find someone who could help. We had a tour one morning that they set up for us and we needed breakfast first, but the guy who makes the breakfast was not ready to start on time, so we barely got our breakfast and we had to go, there were no takeout containers to take it with us. It would have been nice if the front office/tour people and the breakfast people worked together to make sure we got our breakfast in a timely manner. The grounds were cleaned daily and the pool area was very nice. I think it was a bit expensive for what was offered, but we did get our own villa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hermosa Heights, Costa Rica

Posted Jan 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
Great hotel/villa in a peaceful location with beautiful grounds. The best of both worlds with the self catering aspect and the added bonus of maids to clean/change towels etc on a daily basis. The staff were all really friendly although there is a slightly laid back manner however this did not spoil our holiday. The hotel is in a good position with a supermarket 200m away. There are restaurants in the local area with more in coco beach a short taxi ride away (Beware they can change their rates but just tell them the lowest one that you have paid and they will generally do it for that.) Took three trips arranged though Edwardo/Sergio with Mardigi Tours and they were excellent. We also went fishing and saved lots of money by booking it though Michaelangelo on the beach next to playa bosa hotel. We did request car hire info from the hotel as well but this never materialised however if you want to book car hire just go down to Coco Beach and there are plenty there. The grounds of the hotel are full of wildlife and you are often awaken by on of the birds banging on your window. An orphan howler monkey also comes down on a daily basis which is great to see such a wonderful animal at close proximity. The only negative about this hotel is that they did not respond to any of my emails that i sent before travelling. I emailed 4 times and in the end I called them to arrange a taxi to pick us up at the airport. The reason for this is that there are several management companies on the site and the communication seems to be a little haywire however a new management team have just taken over so hopefully this will be sorted out in the near future. The taxi from the airport cost us $40 but we only paid $35 for the return journey. In fairness the guy who picked us up was there as soon as our flight landed and had to wait over an hour for us to get though immigration and get our bags. Take plenty of bug spray for mornings and dusk but all day if you go in the wet season. The bedroon ceilings are wooden so a little screw in hook if you have mossie nets. All in all a great hotel/villa as a base camp to do all that costa rica has to offer. Would definately recommend