Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MNTfrom Edgewood, NM

Great family hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice- it is more of a community with apartments that you can rent. The pool was outstanding with two slides that were fun. The swim up bar was cool as well. The people were nice although it was confusing at first because we had to check in at a dental office not a lobby. There are movies every night at 7:30 and you are only about 1/2-3/4 of a mile from the beach so it was easy to get to. We arrived early but the room was ready anyway so they let us check in. There is a kitchen and a washer/dryer in the room. It was a nice hotel overall.
2 out of 5
by Robfrom Frederickburg VA

Villas Hermosa Heights - Disappointment

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Location to Playa Hermosa
Cons: Complex managers needs to be sensitive to the client
Location: Location was central to beach access roads and evening activities
We rented for a week just after high season. We were assigned Villa #13. The complex was pretty much empty except for some local kids swimming in the pool. We found the complex to be in poor repair reflecting a clear disregard for the customer. The rooms furniture were worn and poorly equipped. The kitchen's functionality was hampered by a lack of basic utensils and dinning ware. The rooms provided usable closet space but no hangers place you clothes. I addressed this with the complex manager and was essentially blown off. Other elements that that we found annoying. The poll maintenance crew firing up gas powered leaf blowers at 5:50 AM, Internet connections required a trip to the pool area. Trash in and around the villas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by melaniefrom Toronto, Canada

Nice family villas

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our family of 5 stayed here for one night, before flying home out of Liberia airport. We arrived earlier than check-in, so our villa was not ready yet, however the registration staff informed us we could hang out by the pool and she'd come find us when it was ready. The grounds were nice, although some things were in need of maintenance - for example, the small "kids" pool/?hot tub up above the main pool had some of the light fixtures loose with wires exposed - we didn't feel safe having our children use it. The water slides were a great hit and the main pool was well maintained. The villas are beautiful and well-equipped - it was nice to have access to a washer and dryer to clean our beach towels. The kitchen amenities were poorly stocked however - since the description of Villas Hermosa states that cookware/dishes/utensils are in all the units, we expected to at least have enough place settings for a family of 4. There were hardly any utensils - something like one fork, a couple of spoons, a couple of butter knives, no paring knife. There was no saucepan/pot, so we had to use a display serving bowl to heat up our pasta in the microwave. The stove seemed not to be functioning properly as it took a very long time for the burner to heat up. Our kids (ages 2, 5 and 9) enjoyed the playground near the entrance - it could be improved by adding a shade structure - the silvery metal slide was in the direct 35C sunlight and therefore too hot for the kids to use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Aswellfrom San Ramon

Condo, not hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
it was ok, we thought it was a hotel but it was actually a condo. internet did not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for family

Posted Jan 3, 2014
This hotel was generally quiet although not at New Years. It is a 15-20 minute walk to the beach with small grocery store and bank machine very close by. The receptionist was very helpful in organizing day tours. We loved the fruit drinks and food at Robertos located on Playa Hermosa.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Damitafrom Atlanta, Ga

Nice for self-sufficient travelers

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The 2 bedroom 2 bathroom villa was very nice with a well equipped kitchen. Our villa was near the pool but far enough away that the pool noise was barely noticeable. It was nice to eat breakfast outside on the balcony...a plus! I recommend this hotel but my only complaint is that the maid put dirty dishes in the cabinet and the pool was not cleaned often. I did report that the maid was putting dirty dishes in the cabinets as if they were clean, so hopefully other people won't have the same experience. There's also a small grocery store in walking distance that carries some American brand foods. Playa Hermosa is a very short drive away. The beach is nice for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B.from Alberta, Canada

All the comforts of home and a lot more

Posted Dec 14, 2013
Pros: Everything! Front desk staff was amazing. Cleaning people were wonderful. Grounds keepers were extremely diligent. Restaurants had good food.
Location: Small town atmosphere, shopping very close, beach within walking distance. You don't actually have to leave the property to have a good time.
We were impressed. We had lots of space in our villa, enjoyed the pool, mini golf, theater and restaurants. Staff was extremely helpful at all times. They went above and beyond. Could not ask for more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by That guy

Beautiful villas in a beautiful development.

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Inside of a residential/commercial development project that has a movie theater, miniature golf, a dentist and a spa. A beautiful pool with slides. Close enough to everything the area has to offer, and far enough to have peace. Very nicely done, I will definitely book there again next time that I am in Guanacaste. Hermosa is still my favorite area in all of Costa Rica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bus. Travelerfrom N. American

Great Family Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was on a business trip during the "low season" and this hotel is really a family type place and was only partially operating since it was the low season. Even so, it was still a great place to stay. Other hotels and restaurants in the area had completely shut down for two months. There are more family type facilities here then others I know in the area so I would recommend it especially for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julia

Great Villa, quiet, beautiful!

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: The cleanliness and attention of the staff. Perfect!
Cons: Have everything available. Said hair dryer available upon request- said they didn't have any. Room service available- didn't offer. Restaurant not ope
Location: Perfectly located next to some shops and 5 minutes walking to the beach.
The villa at Hermosa Heights was gorgeous. Right by the pool and well displayed. The only things missing were some amenities: hair dryer, water bottles, restaurant for food. But food was available not too far