Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HOUSE KEEPING, OR LACK THERE OF.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: THE VIEWS
AFTER CHECKING IN I SHOWERED MY TOWELS WHERE COVERED IN HAIR. TOWELS I LEFT ON THE FLOOR FOR REPLACMENT WHERE FOLDED AND LEFT FOR ME TO REUSE. MY ROOM WAS NOT SERVICED FOR 2 DAYS. MY COFFEE CUPS WHERE DIRTY. MY COFFEE WAS NEVER REPLACED AFTER I MADE 1 POT. COFFEE POT NEVER EMPTIED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by OTAS, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenients you faced while staying with us. Do hope you did enjoy the rest of your trip in Costa Rica.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Costa Rica

Hotel a privilege view

Posted Mar 1, 2015
The hotel is nice and you can see beautiful sunsets, staff attention in both restaurants are excellent, also the attention of the guys at the bars. Facilities well maintained, but the food they offer need more improvement, specially at the buffet in lunch and dinner time, they offer only 2 types of meats mostly beef and chicken, you will not see seafood and a limited salad station, very limited in variety and quantity for a big "Resort".Breakfast had more variety, and they offer good coffee. What you can drink is what you get at the restaurants and bars, no bottles of water, the pizzas at the snack bar burned with almost no toppings. The staff work hard but it's more of management who must to do something the improve the weakness.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by OTAS, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our Resort for your stay in Hermosa Beach and for taking the time to review our property, we are very glad you enjoyed your visit, our amazing location and setting and our service, hope you had a great trip all along in Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I love it!!the staff at the restaurant were great.

Posted Feb 26, 2015
My time was wonderful.i will recommend this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by OTAS, Hotel Management
Dear Educator, thank you for choosing our Resort for your stay in Hermosa Beach and for taking the time to review our property, we are very glad you enjoyed your visit, our amazing location and setting and our service, hope you had a great trip all along in Costa Rica.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Didn't reach my expectations

Posted Feb 23, 2015
I'm very disappointed in this hotel. First of all, you have to pay for the internet service and can only use in lobby. Second, AC doesnt really work at all. There wasn't that much varieties of food in the buffet. The service was the worst. They didn't pay attention to help us on what we needed at all. If you go to this hotel, you will not have an amazing vacation with your family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by OTAS, Hotel Management
Dear Jesy, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our property, please accept our apologies for failing to meet your expectations during your recent visit, we are considering each all of your observations and immediately working on its improvement. Hope you did enjoy the rest of your trip to Costa Rica.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to beach. thank goodness for shuttles!

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: all inclusive is nice to have. close to beach.
I don't know if it was because we booked through Expedia but our room was sub-standard, old, and away from the main areas. thank goodness for shuttles. the hotel staff never did get our inventory correct (even after reporting it several times. the towel number and types were wrong the entire 2 nights we were there). the hotel staff also bragged how they were better than our next destination (around the corner). they were NOT! very unprofessional to even make that statement. we also inquired about adding a 3rd night hoping for a good rate to keep us there. they wanted more for one night than we basically paid for 2!! not acceptable. we walked the beach and found another place to stay for the 3rd night before moving on to the next resort. had I nothing to compare it to I would have said it was okay (although I didn't like the room we were assigned at ALL!) staying in a second resort for the last half, I would now rate it overall as disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by OTAS, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad to know your enjoy your time with us in our lovely location. Hope to see you again in your next visit to Guanacaste!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, Costa Rica

Good Hotel location. Close to the best beaches.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
The hotel is good overall. Don't spect anything else than what you're paying for. Second time on this hotel and the staff always seems to screw something up. First stay, we encountered bugs in our beds and the staff refused to give us another room until next morning when the manager on duty approved. During this recent second stay they charged us a pizza that we never ordered and we had to wait 1 hour to check out because no one was able to take out the charge from our bill. Might be going a third time thanks to Don Walter, the restaurant captain, who was beyond his duties and made our time in the hotel a lovely one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by OTAS, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad to know your enjoy your time with us in our lovely location. Hope to see you again in your next visit to Guanacaste!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

An alright all inclusive near Playa Hermosa

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: I enjoyed the free shuttle running to all parts of the resort and the care and attention the front desk staff gave to me during my stay.
Cons: I was a solo traveller and often forgotten about during meal times. I had to get up for my own cutlery and napkin and wave somebody down for coffee.
Location: The beach is an easy walk and lovely stroll at sunset.
Overall, my stay was satisfactory for my last night in Costa Rica. This all inclusive was well set up with plenty of food and beverages available and a free shuttle going through the entire resort (handy with the hill it's built on!). My room had a nice view and was very clean. There was a family staying in the next unit and I didn't hear a peep from them through the walls. The hotel reception staff were very welcoming and accommodating, the tour hostess took good care of me, showing me around the resort when I got there and booking a taxi for me to the airport when it was time to leave. The only downfall was at mealtimes. I was a solo traveller for this portion of my trip and the wait staff in the restaurant neglected my table. At dinner time, I had to hunt down my own cutlery and napkins where other tables were provided for. At breakfast, I had to ask for my own coffee where other tables were approached and had it brought to them. Not a big deal overall... but when it's a service bigger tables are enjoying and I am not, it made me feel a bit put out. Overall, my stay was good though. I'd stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by OTAS, Hotel Management
Dear Wendy, thank you for staying in Villas Sol during your time in our area and for taking the time to review our property, we are happy to know you were able to enjoy the beauty of our resort and services.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view and nice hotel.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Beautiful view and very comfortable hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much and will recommend this to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by OTAS, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad to know your enjoy your time with us in our lovely location. Hope to see you again in your next visit to Guanacaste!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Plover, WI

Great Hotel and Beach

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Staff and location
We have stayed ad the Villa Sol twice now and loved it both times. The staff, location and hotel are great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by OTAS, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad to know your enjoy your time with us in our lovely location. Hope to see you again in your next visit to Guanacaste!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

nice view from room

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The only thing I enjoyed was the view from the room. It was beautiful. We enjoyed the tours we booked from the hotel pricey but they were fun. The staff was not so polite. We had no towels in our room and called to get them delivered to us but were not happy about that. The Food from hotel was so nasty had no taste. The hotel had no entertainment they need like a host to coordinate fun events every night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by OTAS, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad to know your enjoy your time with us in our lovely location. Hope to see you again in your next visit to Guanacaste!