Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Boston

Great All-Inclusive for family/couple on a budget!

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Very clean and adequate for a family vacation on a budget. Nice balcony to sit and watch sunset. Nice pools, small but adequate. Friendly staff.
Cons: Buffett dinners could definitly be improved with more variety, carving stations. The theme nights all tasted the same. Food good but not exceptional
Location: Location was fine for a first visit to Costa Rica. If you want to tour more, you may want to find places closer to the things you want to do.
The trip met all our needs. It was not a luxury resort, but was more than adequate for a family vacation. The rooms were nice. The beach was nice, waves good, shuttles ran from hotel to beach on a steady schedule, never having to wait too long. You can walk-only five minutes, but coming back is up a huge hill. The all inclusive bar was better than we expected, so we were pleasantly surprised. The pools were a lot of fun for relaxing or volleyball. Activity directors were excellent trying to get guests involved. We had one of the best rooms, an end room on the 2nd floor, w/ an ocean view and mountain view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Playa "Hermosa" is a paradise.

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, facilities.
Cons: The only minus: There are no two beds and facilities for people with disabilities bedrooms. Some religious services could be suggested.
Location: Go to "Playas del Coco" and Liberia downtown. Take a tour to Nicaragua.
Playa "Hermosa" (Beautiful) is a paradise. The hotel staff is very kind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view and that's it

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: The views and the breakfast
Cons: food, pools, activities, not so much focus on selling...
Location: some nice beaches are nearby also an small town with good options
The view was really something, the hotel facilities are just lacking for the price range, food was ok but with just a few options, almost zero activities you will spend more time in your room than at the other facilities,, the drinks were very good, this guy Daniel should be their full time bartender The pools are small There was an awful smell near the pool by the hotel rooms If you arrive early be prepared to pay extra to be able to have lunch, first time that happen to me snack bar was lacking too No elevator for the rooms, good thing it is just a 3 floor building, but that have to be considered for some people, It became obvious that they are more interested in selling their timeshare package than in keeping an all inclusive hotel The sailboat tours was very good and again everything is saved by the amazing view of the sunset but for that price you will be better staying at some cheaper place and getting the food from nearby restaurants
3 out of 5
by Tilly from New York

Beautiful view. No hot water.

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Beautiful and stunning view. Stayed in one of the villas, no hot water throughout the stay. Heard it was a common problem with the villas. No one came to fix it and was not allowed to change rooms. The food at the Al la Carte restaurant was mediocre.
3 out of 5
by Karen from Panama City, Panama

The room had spiders web in the closet

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Cons: On time housekeeping. More activities.
Even the staff is good, I had to ask the staff to clean the room and change the sheets. The soap quality is really bad. In general, the hotel is OK, but cant be rated as 4 stars, its around 3 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LEA

Awesome view from restaurant and room balcony

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Food and Panoramic view
Cons: Front desk staff needing training to learn how ti treat customers. I felt ethic discrimination because of background this should nor happen.
Location: Zoo at Liberia.
Hotel is within large villas development. 300 meters through step hill to he beach. There is golf like car that will take you down. I would not aadvise this to people with mobility problems unless you don't want to go to the beach which is dark grey soft sand just fine. I purchase all includive and foof did not disappoint. Good variety of dishes. At restaurant you can see nice blue parrots. Hotel manager should use left over fruits in feeders nearby. Also iguanas on site. Staff at front desk needs training to learn how to treat people. Staff at restaurant is awesome courteous smiling authentics . Barman is awesome! Will come back for sure.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

worst all inclusive

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
should not be and all inclusive please if your looking at the area for and all inclusive stay at the riu
1 out of 5
by JORGE from COSTA RICA

THE WORST HOTEL ALL INCLUSIVE OF HISTORY

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: ROOM WAS NICE
Cons: THE ALL INCLUSIVE
THE WORST HOTEL ALL INCLUSIVE OF HISTORY, DRINK BAD, BAD SERVICE, THE WORST EVER WIFI, SNACKS? WHICH HAD NO SNACKS. I WILL NEVER RETURN.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Dec 21, 2012
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Food
Location: Okay views
Not worth the money, go to Mexico! Costa Rican food was terrible. This hotel tries to save money the cheap way. All inclusive with terrible products, staff does not take tips so not helpful. Most things are half as$. Tacky place. If you like class and are thinking higher end do not go there!