Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom 46-65 186th

Posted Mar 10, 2015
by closing the arcade, the Italian restaurant, the pool & the Jacuzzi, And the place where the shows where held , There's not much left, the little pool, and tuba down a mountain, And the paintball, $ 216.00 per room, that's just to much money for such little amenities, Won't go back, Don't recommended to anyone, and the lady who answers the phone when I dialed o for Customer service from my room, was mean and evil she was cruel, So I could say they don't treat the customers with respect either, After all that they expected to sell me a time share, witch is the reason I went there in the first place, but I was treated poorly, I left just in time, That would have been a great mistake....
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by LHerman, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I do apologize for your displeasure with the resort activities. Each guest is provided with an activity Guide at check-in. The guide lists daily activities and trips offered, such as Brain Freeze Trivia and Poconos Comedy Jam located at our Wintergreens Patio & Grill. Our Recreation Department makes every effort to plan a variety of activities and crafts to please all ages. The resort also offers 2 indoor pools as well as a game room located at Valley Station. Other amenities located at the Resort are our TreeVentures Aerial Ropes Adventure Course, Pocono Zip Racer with dual racing zip lines, paintball, horseback riding, 18 hole par 71 golf course and our all season tubing park just to name a few. The Fernwood Hotel and Convention Center along with the arcade, Italian restaurant and the event center is owned and operated separately from the Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway. I do apologize if their closing impacted your stay. I have also shared your comments with our Director of Guest Services, so that he may address the Front Desk staff on the manner in which your call was handled and to ensure that your experience is not repeated. We do hope that you and your family will consider another visit in the future, allowing us to redeem our reputation as a great place to visit in the Poconos.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Spacious one bedroom villa

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Great hotel location for snow tubing with the family and friends. The room was very clean and very spacious. Loved the kitchen. Need improvement in: The toilets need a little more maitanence, it has stain sorounding the inside. The pool needs staff members to enforce the rules and cleaness of the bathrooms; some kids were jumping in the pool and parents would not stop them to do so.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by LHerman, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Fernwood. Our staff works diligently to ensure each guest enjoys every moment while with us. We are pleased we were able to succeed in making your trip to the Fernwood Resort and The Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway a great one. I have passed along your obersavations to the Housekeeping Company that services our Resort as well as our Recreation Manager so that they may be addressed. Guest feedback is very important to us and we do indeed value our guests input and concerns. We have made significant improvements property wide and will continue to do so that we can accommodate our guests to the fullest. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Great stay, my kids loved it. Plenty to do around the area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated 80's hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2015
The place and decor are stuck in the 80's the jacuzzi was gross and old. we had fun on the snowtubes and did not even check out the pool. Overall I like modern and this was not it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty bad

Posted Feb 10, 2015
I had to switch rooms because hot tub didn't work and my new room had broken stuff as well and there were mice issues too.The snow tubing was amazing but they need to take care of the rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Decent Place Especially for the Poconos.

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Knowing what I am getting, amenities of staying at a resort, and the price.
Cons: Not really even updating the units just keeping up on the small things like peeling wall paper or even just fixing cuts/tears in the carpet.
Location: They have an indoor pool, paintball, an arcade, ping pong table, pool table, snow tubing (I would highly recommend it), and a zip line course.
Stay here pretty much every time I visit the Poconos. It is what it is a timeshare place that needs to be brought to modern standards. It is decent however it is hit or miss with the room you receive. Some hold up just a little bit better and are cleaner meanwhile you may receive a room that is lacking. Small carpet tears, wall paper peeling back, ceiling light fixtures that are not properly dusted, small concerns that may effect someone who is more particular than others. On the subject of these small offenses you are much better off here than any other Pocono retreat even rental homes.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island

Can't believe I paid GOOD money to stay here!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
*Hasn't been renovated since the 1970's. Floor was chipped and broken tiles. TV's were from the age of the flood. *Room was INFESTED with ladybuds. *mattress was in such terrible condition I woke up with excruciating back pain and neck spasms which I regularly don't have. *Room and grounds smelled like raw sewage... Bought candles to cover the hideous odor. *The Pines Grill Restaurant on site was so old and disgusting it should be condemned. When I walked into the women's bathroom with my 11 year old daughter a maleemployee was in the stall using the facity. I later saw him behind the counter . He didn't wash his hands on the way out either. I paid top dollar to stay during a holiday and this is highway robbery! I left complaint at front desk and manager never Called me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Not all bad!

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Expected an oven in the villa, the sofa mattress was a little worn however we make it work. Nice closet space and nice surroundings. Nice place for a couple of days of quiet time. Would visit again. Thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Richardfrom Brooklyn NY

Made the best of it

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Gave hotel condition a 2,water was brown filling hot tub whole weekend making it unusable.Gave neighborhood a 1,was housed across from burnt out villas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barbarafrom NYC

Rest and Relaxion

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you're looking for a quiet intimate get away ... This is it.