Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, UK

Great views and friendly people.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Overall I had a good stay and found the people helpful and friendly. The whole feel of the hotel was positive and the negative comments following only affected the first day. Unfortunately, on arrival, I had to search the hotel and get help from other guests to find the check in person. A notice said to ring the bell for reception but nobody answered either that or the phone. The appropriate person was busy with other duties and thought all guests were already checked in. He was quick to help when finally contacted. Late in the same day I had to ask twice for the canned music playing by the pool to be turned off (at about 1030pm). It had been left on by mistake after the pool closed and the speakers were facing my room. Both these things were dealt with and there was much else to commend. The restaurant for example is very pleasant and the food is good even if rather light on vegetables. The breakfast terrace is great with a tremendous view. Information in the room could be improved. It doesn't mention that breakfast and dinner are taken in different places for example and it would have been good to be given the wifi code without asking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Amazing views, great atmosphere. Great price for what you get. Only issue was air conditioning didn't work- it was comfortable if you left the windows open, but then there were mosquitoes. I liked the place enough to overlook this, I'd stay again for sure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute hotel but very remote

Posted Jun 25, 2014
This hotel looks adorable from the outside but is very far away from everything so I do not recommend unless you have a car. Dinner was also very expensive and not worth it. Rooms were a little outdated and the air conditioning did not work. We informed staff of this and they told us they would come and check it out. We waited hours and they never did so we suffered through 2 very hot and stuffy sleepless nights. Do not recommend if you prefer a cooler, air conditioned room in the summer for sleeping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Portland Oregon USA

Beautiful hotel in the Tuscany hills

Posted Jun 21, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Villa La Malva. The location in the Tuscany hills is unmatched. The hotel was clean, staff were very courteous, and they even had a pool which we really enjoyed in the warm weather. No complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by laura

Wonderful time

Posted Nov 19, 2013
We had a wonderful time. Gorgeous views, lovely room, staff were great and we really enjoyed the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for money

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Great villa in a wonderful location...would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon from Murrieta, CA, USA

Great hotel in private setting

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Pros: Great hotel for couples with a car and sense of adventure.
Cons: nothing
Location: Awesome views, beautiful setting.
Very small quaint family owned and operated hotel in a beautiful setting. They were very accomodating and helpful. The dinners were outstanding. It is out of the way and I highly recomend only if you have a car and GPS system. We will definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely Tuscan hill hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2012
Great hotel which feels deep in the Tuscan hills yet only a 20 minute drive from Florence. Very clean and great friendly staff. Would suggest you do need a car. Nice pool and terrace area. Driveway steep and gravel covered meaning lots of wheel spinning trying to get out
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel la malva

Posted Apr 23, 2012
this small hotel is pleasant enough, ditto the owner, with lovely views of the Tuscan countryside, but falls down on three points:- 1. the heating is only turned on remotely by the owners at approx 7.30 pm and this is unsatisfactory on cold rainy April late afternoons, 2. much of the premises is an unfinished building site (the owners are creating 8 extra bedrooms plus swimming pool), and 3. the candle-lit dinners available on the two evenings we unwisely decided to dine in were served in a cold dining room and consisted of unappetising pasta & sauce, 'plastic' meat whether chicken or pork, straight out of the deep-freeze, which we were too hungry not to eat on our arrival & which we left mostly uneaten on the second occasion