Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Traveler

Most Uncomfortable Bed Close to Beach

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: 2 blocks from the beach; small pool (didn't use)
Cons: towels, mattresses, breakfast, cleanliness
Location: Two blocks from beach, Seaside Heights boardwalk
Location - good. Room size - on the smaller side. Bathroom - missing soap, locations with mildew, ceiling tiles with water damage, extremely rough towel loosing its threads and complete with someone else's hair. Room had a tv, mini fridge, chair, side table, & bed. The bed was the worst I've ever slept on. We put the comforter and extra blanket under the sheet to try not to feel every single spring in the mattress. Also very squeaky and sank in the middle. The floor probably would have been better. We changed rooms for the second night because it was too difficult to change hotels. 2nd room was slightly better, but not enough to ever want to repeat the stay. The included breakfast was cereal and maybe a pastry or something that I don't recall. Very basic. The crack under the room door to the hall was about an inch, and let in so much light we had to block it with one of the extra pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

2 blocks north of the boardwalk!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
really great location, friendly staff, could be cleaner but overall good stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed the location, staff, and found the room to be clean overall. We will look to make our annual touch up improvements in this off season after a fun filled summer season with wonderful guest such as your self and family. Our staff look forward to seeing you again soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations - Days Inn Seaside Heights / Toms River
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Taints the Days Inn name.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything needs improvement.
Unfortunately, from the moment we walked into the hotel to the moment we walked out, it was disappointment after disappointment. The gentleman at the front desk was rude from the second I walked up to check in. He also refused to give me a receipt when I checked out. There are many safety issues on the property, such as the exit doors are left propped open all night, allowing for any one to wonder in and cause a problem; the big windows in the guest rooms slide open fully but have no screen in them to prevent any accidents. There were globs of hair in the washcloths and towels. The bathrooms were never cleaned during the 2 night stay. The condition of the hotel itself was shocking. The only area that is kept decent is the main lobby. The guest room always had a stale smell and the AC unit, which was in a corner blocked by a bed, barely worked. The continental breakfast was a disappointment, offering minimal options. Unfortunately, the only part of this stay I enjoyed was when we checked out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, We understand that your faced some issues with your stay. The major issue seems to be related to billing. In the issues with the housekeeping, we have already spoken with the housekeeping manager to address the cleaning and apologize for any inconveniences. It seems that your stay was upsetting mostly due to the receipt issue. As the booking came through a third party website, the hotel does not have any financial details regarding your stay. Therefore, we always inform guests to the booking agent company for the receipt. Best Regards, Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice hotel...close to beach and great staff

Posted Aug 23, 2014
My only complaint is the pool maintenance. Otherwise our whole stay was fantastic. Walking distance from beach and boardwalk and the staff was incredible. Would visit again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. James, Thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We understand you enjoyed our location and found the staff to be wonderful; we are very happy to hear that! As per the pool, we will speak with our maintenance about the sand that sometimes accumulates as guests use the pool. We are looking forward to having you stay again very soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations - Days Inn Seaside Heights / Toms River
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

would not stay again

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness
Location: two blocks from Seaside Hts boardwalk.
Close to boardwalk which explains the high price, but the hotel itself is not pleasant. Room smelled clean which was a good sign, but then we looked around. There were GROSS stains on the bed skirt! Clearly visible from across the room. This is not hard to clean/replace-- unacceptable. The sink was clean but the toilet and tub were not. The shower curtain was so thin, probably the cheapest I have ever seen, which wouldn't have mattered if it were CLEAN. We were only planning on sleeping there which was definitely all the time I could handle without being grossed out. On top of that- our bed was broken. Felt like the springs had collapsed right in the center and my boyfriend and I rolled right into each other.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Dani, Thank you for writing about your stay. We understand that you did have a comfortable stay but had some issues with the beds. We thank you for the feedback so we can address the issues for an even better stay very soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel next to the beach , peaceful .

Posted Aug 17, 2014
It's a very nice experience . I was in this hotel with my family , for two days & three night . Its a very quiet hotel , one of the things I didn't like was the , rooms they are very small for a family of four , & the breakfast is very poor . I kmow its not a five stars hotel , but they should work on that . The staff is very healpful , specially the front desk they , have a great customer serveces . I need something's & I got it the some day with no problem . I'll defenelly go back again to this hotel .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Jen, Thank you for writing about your great stay with us. Our entire team thanks you for recognizing their hard work. All of us are looking forward to having you back very soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations - Days Inn Seaside Heights / Toms River
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice location close to beach

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was okay
Cons: Updating the bathroom, not allowing smoking in lobby area.
Location: Island Beach State Park was great, fishing / crabbing on the pier in town was neat.
Hotel doors were propped open when we arrived at 11:00 at night....made us concerned about safety. The lobby and our room smelled like smoke. The room only had one towel and extra blanket when we arrived...for 4 people. They did get us more when we requested them. The bathroom was clean but pretty old, and the shower didn't even have one little shelf for a bar of soap! Parking was extremely tight in their lot, we had to park down the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed the location as well as hotel itself. Our team were happy to help with any extra items such as towels and blankets. We apologize if the room did not come stocked correctly and will speak with housekeeping about this. We look forward to having you back for an even better visit very soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Not worth the location or pool.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Knock the building down. Disown them from the Days Inn Hotel chain.
Location: Perfect boardwalk and beach. Lovely people of New Jersey . Amusement rides, shopping, fast foods, people watching. What a lovely area!
The establishment is unworthy of The Days Inn title. The bathroom was literally falling apart. Toilet paper holder falling off wall, bathroom sink fixtures crumbling to pieces in my hands. Toilet seat cracked and mismatched to bowl color. My daughter was scalded by hot water when room above flushed toilet. You could pull the knobs in shower out of wall away from enclosure. Staff smoking in open doors leading to outside areas. Pool was foul smelling despite being clear. No safe on site to keep laptop in. Hotel manager foreign, very condescending to women. Told me I should have informed him about the state of the bathroom upon arrival so he could have fixed it. The only way to fix this dump is to knock it down and rebuild. I am planning on letting Days Inn Corporate know, as this chain has a great reputation. Avoid this place at all costs. Sleep in your car instead!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for writing your feedback. Our team are disappointed to see that our guests did not enjoy the stay as much as so many of our guests. Our pool is maintained by a professional pool service and is checked for chemical balance. As such, it is unclear on the issue that you had mentioned. Also, we understand that the bathroom had some issues with the toilet paper holder being loose and bathroom hardware being loose. Our maintenance will investigate the these issues as well. Our hotel has the utmost respect for our guests and we always hope for the same respect in return. Best Regards, Guest Relations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glens Falls, NY

Unhappy with Days Inn

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Location: The ocean was awesome! Great boardwalk and shops.
I was disappointed with my stay at Days Inn. I booked my stay through Expedia and paid in full but when I got there I was charged an additional $60 because we had 3 people. There is no elevator had to carry our luggage upstairs. When we got into our room we had no towels. We went downstairs and they said they are having a shortage. Our maid did not come on our second day even though we were out of the hotel the entire afternoon at the beach but did bring us towels at 4pm. The pool is a joke! It looks nothing like the picture at all. I would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing about your stay. It seems your stay was not fully enjoyable due to some issues with the housekeeping. We apologize if the housekeepers did miss your room during their service period. As per the billing issue, we received a reservation that indicated different details about your stay. We would like to invite you back for a much better stay in the future. Best Regards, Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Hotel was close to the beach about 2 blocks away. Room was clean. Wasn't big but it served its purpose for the 1 night we stayed. Wally at the front desk was extremely nice. Complimentary breakfast was nice with some good selections. Overall nice hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and our entire team look forwarding to having you back again very soon! Best Regards, Guest Relations - Days Inn Seaside Heights / Toms River