Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arvada, CO

Location, location, location

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location and on site restaurant. Has a certain charm as well.
Cons: Needs a team of handy men to come in there and repair and improve the place.
Location: Enjoy the beach, look at the gorgeous houses in the area, dine out, RELAX.
I found this hotel on Expedia and had never been in the area before. It looked nice on the site and it turned out to be just that...nice. It's old, in need of repair, the rooms are very small and it's a shared bathroom situation. BUT it is less expensive than most hotels on the shore and the proximity to the beach can't be beat. The highlight of staying at the Grand Victorian is the Black Trumpet restaurant. It is a superb dining experience and we took all of our meals there since we loved it so very much. Great food, great views, good prices. Overlook the staff's shortcomings a bit and you'll totally enjoy the experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting across from beach

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall enjoyable. Liked getting beach chairs, towels, and badges. Bathrooms were small and shower was hard to use because the water didn't flow strongly at a good angle..
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Al Bfrom NJ

Great location on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Went to a wedding right next door at the Breakers. Took a room here to avoid having to drive back home afterwards. Room was small but neat, bed was comfortable. Never did have the complimentary breakfast, but we did eat lunch at the restaurant (Black Trumpet). Not cheap but food and drinks were all good. If they have the Maine lobster sandwich - definitely worth a try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joaniefrom R

Perfect for a nightly stay

Posted Jun 1, 2014
We booked a shared bathroom room for MDW and were kindly moved into a private bathroom room upon arrival. Hotel staff was so kind and breakfast in the morning on the deck was beautiful and delish! Standard room in a B&B could use a little upgrade but perfect for what we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by jeanfrom new jersey

wonderful location

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
we were there for Thanksgiving weekend. They had limited staff and no maid service on Thanksgiving. too bad We managed ok , When the staff was there, they were wonderful. Note: our room was for 2, but coffee available for 1. had to ask for more twice.
3 out of 5
by Jackfrom Pa

Was OK.

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: The bed was good and it was clean.
Cons: Employee training on how to talk with guests
Location: I had an event with the hotel next door. Had I known this before I would have simply gone to the hotel next door.
When I arrived there was no on at the desk and I was told I would need to wait 15 minutes. I then learned it was a shared bath, the receptionist said that was what I got for doing it on line at $99.00 per night. I Paid $125/night. So I had to pay another $100 for two nights with a private batch. Room appeared clean, but the TV didn't work. Also there were small bugs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andreafrom PA

I loved it

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: The room
Cons: Nothing
Location: Excellent. Right on the beach
Beautiful place and the staff was very nice and welcoming. I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Walt

Posted Sep 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is older. We had to share a bathroom and our room on the third floor was small. There was a sink but no mirror to use to shave. The restaurant was good but pricey. Perhaps had we chosen a front room with bathroom our stay would have been better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jessica

Convenient NYC Getaway

Posted Sep 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
What's nice about this hotel is that you can take the train from New York City and don't need to rent a car. Also the hotel is right on the beach. The thing I was most disappointed about was the service for Black Trumpet - the restaurant in the hotel. I'm not sure it's the same owners actually but we had recurring problems with various staff.