Ratings based on 605 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

it was all ok!

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: price
Cons: nothing
Location: it was convenient to our needs.
I do not want too. your asking for an opinion and I do not want to give one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nc

Not worth the money we paid

Posted Aug 25, 2014
I will never stay at this hotel again. Way over priced! Needs a major update! Could be cleaner and more cominterys.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Please accept our sincere apologies that our hotel and condition of the guest rooms was not at our highest standards. We strive to offer our guests a great value we did not meet that goal for you and we are sorry to read you will not return. We hope you reconsider as our rates due vary throughout the year and we offer specials as often as we can. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to leave us a review and feedback.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from finesville nj

So so

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Ordered double room double bed got one room w 2 beds nothing great about it drab colors I guess better than the boardwalk
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do our best to honor all reservation requests and sometimes are not able to fulfill them based on occupancy at the time of arrival. Please accept our apologies that we were not able to honor your requests and for any inconvenience this may have caused. We will use your feedback to better our services and appreciate you sharing your trip with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Paltz, NY

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Aug 17, 2014
I was nervous about the hotel after I read all the reviews, but it was really nice! A little outdated but clean. The room was big with a patio over looking the pool. The staff was nice. It was a great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the positive feedback. We read and respond to all guest reviews and value all the comments we receive. We are very pleased to see that your time with us was very nice and the hotel exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing with us that you had a great stay. We hope to be your hotel of choice for a future stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Outdated and slightly run down. Misleading information about amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and feedback. i am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay. I apologize as well that you felt their was any misleading information, we will look into this right away and make the changes that we can to the website. Thank you again for being our guest and for sharing your trip with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Two night stay

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpfull
Cons: Major facelift and renovation required
Location: Close to Seaside Heights, restaurants and shops
We needed a pet friendly hotel, and this was the only one in the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful, however the hotel room was in dire need of renovation. Very old, carpets in rooms and corridors, ceiling in bathroom "puffy" and the place just needs a major facelift. $126/night is not acceptable for this kind of room (That's excludiong the $50/night pet fee)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We understand our guests expect a clean, comfortable guest room at a good value and we sincerely apologize that we did not meet that goal for you. I will address the issues with the manager so he is aware of the changes that need to be made. We hope you can accept our apology and join us again in the future for another stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north connecticut

Not awesome, not terrible.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
I chose HOJO because I did not want any negative surprises. I paid for and received a clean room cold a.c. and a pleasant staff. the rooms are bare bones with a small fridge, coffee pot and microwave. We did not use the coffee pot of microwave. We only stayed 1 night and I booked late for the event we attended. I really wanted more for the 200 I spent for the night but it was my fault for not booking earlier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guests, we appreciate your business. I am pleased to see that we met your expectations and you had a pleasant stay. I am glad you found the hotel to be a good fit for the quick trip. We hope to welcome you back for another visit soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Close to the beach but without the noise.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Beds were comfortable, front desk staff very friendly, location very good for visiting the shore.
Cons: Letting me know if there are any room deficiencies when checking in.
Location: Close to excellent shopping and shore points.
Nice location just 10 minutes from the seaside. Hotel staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. My room had no phone as the line was "compromised", whatever that means. Strange. Hot water for the shower wasn't there. A/C worked great. WiFi was weak. For our purposes, going to the beach all day, the room was ok and the location excellent. Much quieter than staying on an island hotel. Breakfast nook was good. Coffee and waffles got us going. I will return next summer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guests at the Howard Johnson Toms River, we appreciate your feedback. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations to be clean, comfortable and most of all, convenient to the beach. Thank you for bringing to our attention that there are some items we need to fix, we'll take care of that right away. Glad to hear you will return next year. Make you reservations in advance as the summer months can fill quickly. See you next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lax weekend

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: location and cost
People were friendly and very accommodating. Rooms were clean, location was great. Wish the rooms were a little more sound proof, could here people walking and talking in the halls.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words and positive feedback for the hotel. We are pleased to see overall you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Toms River. We hope to welcome you back soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelled

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Smelled of cigarrett smoke although my room was smoke free. Bathroom was not clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize that a previous guest was inconsiderate and smoked in a non smoking room. We will speak with housekeeping and ensure they are more strict about their final inspections as there is no excuse that the room was not 100% ready upon arrival. I am sorry you had an unpleasant experience and be happy to place you in a different room on your next visit.