Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Nice and clean. Very nice location.good stuff . Quite and love the pool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice close to beach

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: A little too expensive
Location: Beach
Quick nice stay . Quick nice stay . Quick nice stay . Quick nice stay . Quick nice stay . Quick nice stay .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forest Hills, NY

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Jul 13, 2015
We had a family function and needed a place to stay that wasn't insanely expensive for a summer weekend at the shore. Our room was fine, if small, but we liked the pool and the interior courtyard. The breakfast was a bit of a free for all as the hotel was very crowded--I would suggest extending breakfast an hour on weekends. But for the price, it was fine and my kids liked it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2015 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate you selecting our hotel as your place to stay while in town. I am sorry for the over crowding at breakfast and will mention this to the managers to see if there is any other options available for our guests to sit and enjoy a quick breakfast in house. We will take you suggestions into consideration moving forward. Thank you again for your business. Please come back and visit us again next time you are in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
The room and pool were clean. Staff helpful. The breakfast area is way too small and crowded and didn't hAve enough food so we ended up going over to ihop. Went to listen to band In the bar 1) music a tad too loud for size of bar and did go up to rooms. 2) one barmaid was drinking a beer 3) other barmaid warned up piece of pizza and sharing with customer (guessing it might have been bf as saw a kiss also) 4) served another employee a drink that had like 7 shots in it (appeared he was still working) and manager appeared to be having a few beers (may have been off shift) 5) was not offered chips etc like a few other people and didn't appear that they were serving any food at that point. Not sure if would've ordered as grill was right in bar and didn't look great. Disappointed in some ways as paid way toooo much money for 1 night for that type of place- guess cause it was the weekend and a hotel near the shore (still had more than 10 min drive to the beaches)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2015 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and trip with us. I appreciate your concerns regarding the pub and can see that the behaviors and actions of the staff there were unacceptable and inappropriate. They will be addressed with the appropriate managers. Our rates vary year round and we'd be delighted to welcome you back for another try during the less crowded summer months.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Breakfast room

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Breakfast room was terrible, very small nothing was organized never staying here for that reason
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by Sarah , Hotel Management
We are sorry to read you did not enjoy breakfast. While we cannot increase the size of the area, mainly due to the layout of the hotel, we can work with the attendant on better organizing this area. We are sorry to see that the reason you will not return is something we can correct.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

horrible visit

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Cons: staff and security along with new mattresses
there where people coming and going all night. women were coming out of the next room dropping off money and picking up stuff. Came there with my son and will never come back there. Also was charged a different rate than I was told and not given any explantion
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2015 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us and expressing your concerns regarding your recent stay. We hope you can accept our sincere apologies for this unpleasant experience. I am so sorry to see other guests actions made you very uncomfortable. I have shared this with the manager to review and also locate your bill and research the discrepancy, I will ask them to contact you with any further questions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from massachusettes

Overnight stay

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Could use some updating. Not bad location. Very close to shops and restraunts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see you had a nice stay and appreciate your feedback. The hotel has completed many great changes from the exterior paint to interior first floor room upgrades, while we are very busy this summer, we can just work with on going maintenance until the next round of upgrades can start. Hope to welcome you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Great hotel that allows pets!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Clean convenient to shore. Super friendly staff...very accommodating.... thanks!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guests, we are glad we were able to accommodate you and your pet. We just made some great changes to the pet friendly rooms, we have two more left to finish, but glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Reasonable Choice in a Pinch

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: rooms are old and need to be updated
Location: Seaside beach is close, say no more
The rooms are older and need an update they were clean and the new lobby area is well set up Gentleman that checked me in on Friday 6-19-15 was warm and welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and feedback. I am pleased to see you were met with great service from our front desk team. Thank you for the compliment for the new lobby area, we also completed our first floor upgrades and since we are very busy this summer, we are working on some on going maintenance of the rooms until we can complete the next round of upgrades.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beaufort, SC

I was sad at the condition of the room -

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: not much
Cons: tear it down and start over
Location: location was fine
did not even want to attempt taking a shower in the bathroom...over very poor upkeep and paint job
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Sarah, Hotel Management
I am very sorry to read you were dissatisfied with the guestroom assigned. I apologize that the guestroom you were in was not the newly remodeled one and that we were not able to offer you a different room. I will share this feedback with the manager so we can make sure we focus on this room during the next round of renovations.