Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel not recommended for Retail

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Hotel seems to be more focussed on organizing BIG events (higher revenue at lesser impact perhaps). Wifi in the rooms do not work, had a wedding event right in front my beach facing room and the loud music went on till midnight. After complaining during that time, was pretty disappointed by the apathy of Staff members. Also observed the Senior staff are really cordial, but the ground staff was extremely un-cooperative and unkind. Personally, i shall not recommend this hotel for a family vacation....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach-side - bathrooms need improvements

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Beach vista
Cons: Bathrooms
Location: Not much nearby of note.
Great location but some of the room facilities, particularly the bathrooms, were below standard. The hotel did make efforts to rectify the situation by changing our room for one in better condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice hotel with excellent amenities

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: Room service
We arrived at this hotel with an open mind after reading lots of mixed reviews. However, I am more than pleased to say that this hotel was absolutely fabulous. Staff were lovely, always happy to go the extra mile and that too with a smile. Spectacular views of the gardens, beach and the Ocean from the spacious Nirvana room. Room was very clean and the facilities excellent. And room was cleaned twice a day!!! The hotel lobby was clean and grand. Food was good, plentiful, varied, fresh and enjoyable in the 180 restaurant. The other restaurants had to be booked but didn`t seem all that really. Pool bar, food and drink available but can be a bit expensive if you are on half board. The pool, beach and water sports are enough to keep you busy during the day and several sports are lined up to ensure that you have lots to do such as beach volleyball, football, table tennis, tennis. You don't have to rush down in the mornings as, despite being fully booked, we never had to search for any sunbeds and you get free towels as well. One disappointment for us was the room service which was a bit of a let down. When we booked in Nirvana the hotel mentioned a welcome bottle of wine on arrival and a daily fruit plate. But this did not happen. I had to remind them twice before room service sent us the wine and the fruit plates. We received the fruit plate only for 2 days during our 7 days stay. I did not bother to remind them again but was disappointed with the room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suefrom Mandurah

Beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Great staff very friendly and keen to please, terrific gym good amenities. Good restaurants - great choice in food.
Cons: Decor could do with a freshen up coat of paint and modernising - starting to look well used.
Location: Little town easy walk from resort. Lots of shops and shopping centres - fairly expensive though pretty much on a par with Australia.
Mauritius was beautiful - the people are friendly and the weather just gorgeous and impossible to take a bad picture! Warm days and balmy nights - perfect.
2 out of 5
by dipakfrom austalia

on the beach

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: the only good things about it were the helpful and service provided by Nicolas at the La Faya and Nisha at the health spa
Cons: Rooms need upgrade, staff need to be better trained to respond to queries, food quality needs to improve, perhaps provide a twice daily shuttle servic
Location: it is a bit off the track and you have no choice but to get a taxi to get anywhere, perhaps provide shuttle service to major centres
the hotel is i bit outdated and needs a refurb, the customer service though is terrible and they really need to improve on their staff training. majority of staff just cant be bothered when asked and their reply is will find out and let you know. food service is below average and very very slow and extremely expensive for what is provided. Definately would not stay at this property again as there are much nicer hotels that offer better value for your money.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sathfrom London

Good Hotel. Avoid La Faya Restaurant

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I and my family stayed here. The hotel & services are great. However, we had poor experience ever at the La Faya restaurant. There were hardly any Veggi option, the food was inedible. The pizza was like a rubber - I couldnt cut it or chew it. The spaghetti was dosed in chilli powder. This made our experience quite bad. We ended up not eating anything. However, the Cumin restaurant is a 5*. Amazing food and amazing service. I have to say that the single bad experience overshadowed our overall stay. The hotel is great - but do your research before you book the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stelfiufrom Geneva

AMAZING HOTEL AND PEOPLE!!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The people, the kindness..The cousine, the chef are perfect!!!!
Location: It is in front of the beach. the hotel has a diving center, so it is possible to attend the PADI course. There is the taxi service and boat service.
We spent 7 days in the hotel. Since our arrival, we realized that there was something different that rendered the hotel and our stay in the hotel so special...the people. I travelled a lot in my life but I have never met people so kind, smiling and nice as I did in Mauritius. The hotel was super clean and tidy, the service was perfect!!All the rooms are in front of the sea. Every evening there is music live in the bar, but it ends at midnight not to disturb any one. Being in front of the beach, we walked every night on the beach looking at the wonderful sky. It is impressive how the staff takes care of the customers, anticipating his needs. You feel completely relaxed and comfortable. The hotel has four restaurants, they change the menu every day so even going to the same restaurant every day the menu is never the same. I am vegetarian and I thought to have some issues for eating, the menu always provides a choice for vegan and vegetarian and it is always indicated in the menu. The chefs are perfect, the pasta is home made as well as the bread, pizza and croissants. I was so impressed how a hotel so big can offer a such high level of cousine for all the guest. I will miss you a lot and I thank you so much, especially the Chef Melvin at la Faya Restaurant (he prepared the best tortellini, pasta home made with roquette honey parmisan and goat cheese) and Sailesh at guest relations. They made my trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annafrom Dubai

Beautiful island... nice hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2014
We stayed here with our 2 children (4 and 6) for 4 nights. The room was great... heaps of space and kids were happy to share the sofa bed. We went all inclusive and it was great. Mostly buffet selections but the food was great... kids could order from the kids menu from any restaurant. Beach was nice.... a bit hard on the feet from the coral. Pool was lovely... kids enjoyed kids club. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful.... occassionally we dealt with an unhelpful staff member but the majority of them were lovely. The resort shops were unsurprisingly VERY overpriced, ie 800 MRU for a bottle of sun screen (approx $27 US or 19euro). So dont forget to pack essential items. The only disappointment was that there was no cash facility at the hotel. We arrived with a small amount of MRU (enough for taxi to/from the airport). There was no ATM at the resort. We wanted to do some of the chargeable water sports offerred on the beach however because they were offerred by an outside company we couldnt charge to the room (even though these companies are on the le meridien property and the staff wear a le meridien badge). We would have had to catch a taxi into port louis to get cash!!! Our flight wasnt until 6pm and we had to vacate the room by midday however the spa has changing rooms with great shower facilities so we were able to spend the afternoon by the pool and still shower before our flight. Overall, our stay was lovely and i would recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was fine. Service was vet hour and miss. Sometimes outstanding sometimes non existent. Overall given the nature of resorts on the island I feel that it was ok value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Janfrom Prague

Perfect location by the sea, with huge watersport

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Watersport facility, A la cart restaurant
Cons: Rooms condition, but they are remodelling rigth now the rooms.
We were pleasantly surprised by hotel service and amenities. The staff is very friendly - We greatly appreciate dinner in a la cart restaurant La Flaya and in Shell. Watersport team was very helpful. We went to snorkelling trip and used sailboat almost every day.