Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for holiday

Posted May 16, 2014
I didn't get to use the hotel much as I was in Mauritius for a conference but I can see myself having a good time there. Saw some dolphins frolicking in the sea one morning at breakfast and will certainly be revisiting
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kunal

Awesome... it actually made our holiday....

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: beach, swimming pool,
Cons: rooms
beach and resort location just too good.... awesome pool in front of beach... room needs improvement... but overall 4 stars... will refer it..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dave H from Regina, SK

Mixed reaction to the Recif Attitude

Posted Apr 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had higher expectations of the Recif Attitude based on the pictures and other reviews that I read. The staff were friendly and attentive, but the hotel is a little worse for wear. We couldn't use the A/C because of a strong musty smell that was produced when it was running. The room safe batteries died which I reported but they were never replaced so we couldn't use it. The infinity pool is fantastic, as is the bar, beach, and restaurant area. The food selection is themed, e.g. Indian one day, seafood the next, etc. so if you don't like a particular theme, you're out of luck. The free snorkelling boat trips were cancelled every day we were there because of rough sea (which seemed common) so who knows about that. Plan on spending quite a bit of time at the hotel because there's not much in terms of restaurants or stores close to the Recif. The aquarium is right down the street, however. Overall not bad if you manage your expectations and get a good rate; this is a three star hotel at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tanisha & Harleen from India

Worth the price!!

Posted Mar 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the recif during our honeymoon. We received a warm welcome from the staff. The hotel room was comfortable and spacious. The swimming pool though small was the highlight; facing the ocean. The restaurant at the hotel was french that served buffets for breakfast and dinner. Special arrangements were made in food preparations to suit our indian taste buds :). Music and dance performance were held during the evening times. We rented a bike and a car to explore the island with the help of the staff. We also made use of the boat house affiliated to the hotel for Kayaking & other water sports. Overall an excellent experience and fully recommended by us. :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from South Africa

Well run resort with some room for improvement

Posted Nov 4, 2012
Pros: Location, relaxed atmosphere, comfortable and well presented rooms, the pool, very good massage, friendly guests
Cons: Surly staff in the bar and restaurant, aggressive locals on the beach, average food
Location: Immediate access from rooms to the beach, some distance from Grand Baie (not walking distance), very few high quality options for dining nearby
Well located away from crowds with direct access to a small public beach, comfortable and well presented rooms, very pleasant bar, lounge chairs, dining area etc. I had a massage in the spa which was very good. Some of the staff in the bar and the restaurant can be surly and need training on customer service (the young female staff member was the exception - she needs to be given more opportunities and some of the older waiting staff can be moved on). The locals visiting the beach each day can be persistent to the point of rudeness and the hotel needs to somehow manage these relationships better as it has potential to turn a nice day at the beach into an unpleasant scene to be avoided the next day. The quality of the food served at dinner was generally disappointing and the options nearby, outside of the hotel are very limited, unless you want to make the 10 minutes drive to Grand Baie.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Honeymooners from London

An almost perfect experience.

Posted Aug 27, 2012
Pros: The friendliness of the staff, who are simply there to help you enjoy your stay to the best of their abilities. The breakfasts.
Cons: The inability to get a reasonably priced evening meal when desired. Cleaning staff need more consistency. A larger sea swimming area would be better.
Location: Wonderful western coast location that meant glorious sunsets can be seen. A car is needed to get about easily unless you constantly rely on taxis.
A very pleasant hotel to stay in, although the cleaning staff are not always efficient - on our first day there, we were tried to be charged with minibar items that weren't ours and the fridge contained a half bottle of water from the previous occupants, the complimentary coffee/tea/sugar etc. wasn't refilled for about a week and the complimentary shower gel/shampoo was almost empty at one point. The swimming pool is a good size for simple bathing but would not really be sufficient for children if anyone was thinking of going there. Breakfast was absolutely excellent with a wide choice of options and omelettes/eggs are cooked to order, which makes a very pleasant change. Do be wary of eating evening meals in the hotel - the room contained a full menu with no indication of when it applied, so we went along to the restaurant on our final evening, only to find a more expensive fixed price and exquisite set (two choices per course) menu was all that was on offer - what happens varies from night to night so check beforehand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great value for money!

Posted Aug 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed 8 nights. On arrival they handed us the key of a not so nice room, garden room on the rear of the hotel close to the road, devided by a wall. We complained about the noise and the next day they moved us to a perfect room with see view. Striking sunset view! The food was ok, Wifi a dissater but we were on holiday so not a problem. Nice facilities like, pool, terrace on the beach and nice loungers. The best thing of the hotel was the manager Kevin. He does everything to make your stay pleasant! We would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Hilary

Relaxed yet stylish

Posted May 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a very stylish and relaxed hotel, and so much more reasonably priced than many of the hotels on Mauritius. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The beach isn't the long strip of white sand that can be round elsewhere, being rather small - however, more than compensated by the fact that there are a few rocks, and hence the 'sound of the sea'. (Our room - like many - were very close to the beach, and we were able to sleep with the door open and go to sleep to the sound of the waves which was lovely.) We only stayed one night (at the end of a work trip), and a longer stay would have been great. There is not a huge amount to do in the hotel itself, but it would be a good base from which to explore the island using the local buses (which pass right outside the hotel).