Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated, dirty, run-down

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: The Blue Hole (not the atoll), 5 Blues Lake (dry at present), Caves Branch and Barton Creek tubing and caving.
We arrived late, in part because of a lack of street signage in Belize,but the staff welcomed us eagerly, and we were shown to our room upstairs. As we proceeded upstairs, it was obvious that the hotel was in a state of severe disrepair, with peeling paint everywhere, broken fixtures, and broken furniture strewn about. The overall structure appeared shabby and was unkempt. When we entered our dimly lit and musky room, my wife pointed out the mold and mildew covering the cloth lampshades on the fixtures with out light bulbs. The springs in the mattress were like little spears in our backs. There were dead bugs all over the tiled floors, mold and mildew in the shower, no on-site food or drink, no breakfast food in the morning, no amenities... If I had not lost my phone, I would have posted pics of some of this. There is a big difference between nasty-dirty and just run-down. Cleanliness doesn't cost anything, other than a little effort. A bulldozer might be the best option here. This hotel reminds me of the seedy, low rent,cheesy inner-city motels you would see in the movies in the 50's and 60's. For sure, our worst travel experience yet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fbob and coll from Alberta

Bouncing through Belize

Posted Mar 20, 2014
A fun hotel a little primitive but nice people. The rooftop decks offer a great view and are probably a great party on the weekend
1 out of 5
by Otto from Guatemala

A Major Fraud!

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: The Hotel Staff was the only one trying to make it pleasent!
Cons: See experience!
Rooms are old and seems like an abondoned building (pictures on website are from the opening day!). You will find spiders web on your rooms. No toiletries at all, Wifi Works only on first floor, refrigerator almost falling apart with TV set over it (unable to view a program clearly). Food was bad (reheated meal), no sodas. Bed was uncomfortable, you where able to feel the springs! Definitely not worth what I pay for!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Troy from dangriga

ghetto

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was ghetto, ac worked but dripped water all night. Room shown on sight was not what I got.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzi from Los Angeles, CA

Attentive Bed & Breakfast Atmosphere

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Hotel is a converted house where the friendly articulate family cooks and provide the services. Bare bones by US standards, but represents Belize.
Cons: Cleaner bathrooms.
Location: Hopkins, zip line and Jaguar Reserve are within 30 minutes. Most everything else is a drive.
My family (husband, 2 adult daughters) and I spent 4 nights at family-owned Macaroni Hill, which has a spectacular view of the surrounding jungle but is a distance from any commercial area (which we realized later was a real plus). Hotel is very safe, the food is simple but tasty, and they will help plan your excursions. The sons can provide transportation and accompany you on the tours/outings (roads are horrendous in Belize --massive pot holes everywhere & the country's poverty can be intimidating). One night the other guests and my family joined a wedding reception held on the hotel veranda-- we danced away to the local music, immersing ourselves in the local culture/people. Unbelievable fun you would only find in a small lodging where all guests mingle & feel comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Jan from los Angeles

Hotel located in the jungle region in Belize

Posted Nov 12, 2013
I was disappointed in my stay and the conditions of this hotel. If you get on their website it appears quite charming but I felt the room was unclean and conditions shabby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mel from Canada

A large family home converted to Bed and Breakfast

Posted Apr 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed this very much. Family run home, we were welcome to hang out in living room on 1st floor outside our room. Very friendly and helpful. Just 12 miles out of Dangriga makes it a great location for exploring both the coastal town as well as inland jungle interests. Building is a little dated (not like a high end hotel) but very comfortable. They have made a rooftop restaurant ... great view and excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 6, 2013
My wife and i brought in New Years in Belize for two weeks. One of those weeks we stayed at the Macaroni Hill View Hotel, and we had one of the best times of our lives. The Ferguson's (the owners) made our trip with there hospitality, generosity, and there eagerness to make us comfortable. The whole family took time out of their days to show us local customs, hidden treasures, and teach us everything they could about their country. And You can't not mention the food, Mrs.Ferguson is a tremendous cook, some of the best local cuisine. If you are looking for a trip to Belize this is one of the best places to stay to experience Belizean living. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the best time

Posted Mar 21, 2013
if you want to have a party go to Macaroni hill view hotel.