Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not a "no-tell motel," the Somass Motel!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Quiet, friendly, unpretentious, clean, comfortable.
Location: Opposite the Somass River on Hwy 4 to Tofino and Ucluelet. Restaurants, filling stations, and marina close by.
My wife and I wanted to break up our drive to Tofino from Victoria and chose to do it in Port Alberni, a blue collar forest products and fishing town at the end of the long Alberni inlet from the Pacific Ocean. The Somass Motel at the town's western edge fit the bill to a "T." The friendly owner checked us into our simple, spotless, comfortable room, and after the pool lights were switched off at dusk causing the kids playing there to disappear, the place --which also provides several trailer hook-ups-- became completely quiet. Passing the Somass on our return to Victoria we saw a doe and two of its young fording the Somass River opposite the motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver island

Quaint

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Nice and close to town, right across from the river. The bed was fantastic and the owners were very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

very friendly and clean enviormejt

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
hosts were very friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay for staying

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Location: Port Alberni is very famous for fishing. Also the restaurants there should be visited
We stayed here overnight on a trip from Nanaimo to Tofino. All things were pretty well. The booking was prepared. Checkin run smooth without any problems. It is a motel, so if you know that, everything is pleasing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Peter_YMM from Fort McMurray, AB

Average motel

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Office and motel room had a strange smell. Has to open windows to get rid of this smell. Room and furniture are average. Room was in the back of the premise and was very quite. Expensive for what is offered, but maybe there are no better deals. Everything in Port Alberni is expensive and does not mean you get a good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gordon from British Columbia, Canada

A good one

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: The at home feeling
Cons: ??
Location: Couldn't be better for us, one block from the facility we wished to visit and just over the road from the river.
We got more than we expected and were pleasantly surprised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by De Wind family

If only all motels could be like this!

Posted Aug 12, 2013
We're always a bit sceptical when it comes to motels and (despite the good reviews for this one) we arrived on-site with not too many expectations. We were proved wrong! The staff was very pleasant and accommodating, the semi-detached motel-'room' (little cottage) better than expected and the outdoor pool just great! In front of our 'room' there was a pic-nic table with a decent size (functioning!!!) umbrella, which we made well use of. Kitchen tools, (dish) towels, huge fridge, 2 TV's, well everything was there to secure a pleasant stay. The motel owner even provided body board, (soft) balls a.s.o. in the pool. We regretted the fact that we only stayed there for one night. Well done, Somass!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Happy Travellar from British Columbia, Canada

Home away from home

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: Location and Cleanliness
Cons: None
Location: Very central
Asd we had mentioned to the management that it would be very much appreciated if they had some plates and cutlerries as it being a motel we the visitors expect to have some thing to eat on when we do bring in food ,otherwise everything was excellent and the management was very helpfull and pleasant.