Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great family run hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Shame shower didn't work
2 out of 5
by Birgit from Somerset

The least enjoyable stay of our 3 weeks in JAM

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: Lush gardens and tropical forest around, close to San San beach
Cons: Décor a bit hit-and-miss, murky pool, missing a 2nd chair for a double room, dirty crockery,
Location: Frenchman's Cove a bit overcrowded and underwhelming, but San San beach was brilliant (and also cheaper), saw a ray and flying fish there.
This was the second-most expensive, but certainly least enjoyable stay of our JAM trip. It's not terrible, but I'd rather not stay again. We online-booked, but when we got there the owner was in Kingston and the staff didn't know how to check the emails (eh???). They finally did confirm we existed and had paid. The room was the smallest and plainest we had in our 3 weeks in JAM - 1 chair for 2 people and a small-ish bed! Nice showers though. Some reviewers had mentioned the free beach passes they offer (or used to offer) to either nearby Frenchman's Cove or San San beach - this is not available. Cutlery and cups were dirty when we were having morning coffee - put me off actually eating there. I found the food pricey, but can't comment on quality as we didn't actually eat there. The pool looked murky and was the only one we never made use of in our travels. Somebody had a loud party outside our room one night - I had a feeling it was the staff as the owner was away, I could be wrong though. The proffered free wifi only worked when standing in the doorway of their office, somewhat awkward for a lengthy email, but sufficient for a quick check. The parking is a bit limited (property on a steep incline) so when we wanted to leave we found ourselves parked in with the staff trying to discover whose car was double parking us, and how to move it (extra points to them, they managed to free us after 15mins)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ravindra from Mumbai, India

Located near a beach

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: It is a villa
Location: Blue Lagoon and a beach
This hotel is a villa far away from the city but near a beach and Blue Lagoon
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

lovely stay

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice getaway if you just want to relax lots of interesting sights not for you if you want 5 star. but if youwantsomewhere you can relax and enjoy this. is the place, staff were superb room very comfortable swimming pool refreshing. thanks for a great stay. will be recommending to all.
2 out of 5
by Roy from PNG

seen better days

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: The staff were friendly
Cons: no water in the shower and no fridge in the room.
Location: set in the hill over looking Frenchman's cove. The hotel is in one of the nicest parts of Jamaica
We drove in to the court yard to find an old car on cement blocks. We knew this did not bode well. We checked in and the rooms we basic. No fridge in the rooms and the shower just dribbled. We had to wash with buckets of water. There was a pool but there was blood around the walkways and noone bothered to clean it up. The staff were freindly but that does not make up for the bad hotel. We would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Susan A from Connecticut

Very cozy, personable

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is not a large high end hotel but it had everything we needed for a relaxing, quiet and comfortable few days. The staff was wonderful! They were super friendly and very helpful. The rooms (family of 4, we had 2 rooms) were a good size, clean and nicely decorated. They both opened to the pool - not a very big pool but enough for the kids to have some fun and for some relaxing in the sun. The dining room is right off the pool, I would come out with my coffee after breakfast and sit on a ledge in the pool and enjoy. The hotel is across the street from Frenchman's Cove, a beautiful hidden little beach. The hotel provides a pass to the Cove for guests, otherwise there is a fee to enter. While there are a few fancier and pricier hotels in Port Antonio, I highly recommend San San Tropez. Don't expect any resort glitz or extras, just a clean, comfortable, quiet setting, with very reasonable rates and the kindest staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fabienne

Our fabulous stay in Port Antonio

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: The hotel is so comfortable with its pretty and well kept garden, the cool swimming pool after a long day of excusions.
Cons: Breakfast could be included in the price of the room. And please! Repair the espresso machine!!!
Location: There is so much to do you could go crazy. And the manager is so helpful! He gives you good tips on what and how you could fill your days of vacation.
We were enchanted by the scenery and the manager's warmth and friendliness.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Vincent from New York

Bitter Sweet

Posted Apr 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
I already knew what to expect as far as amenities & conditions.Cable TV is provided, yet limited channels.The air conditioning worked great & although there was hot water, the shower had poor water pressure. The toilet took forever to refill in order to flush a 2nd time.There was no microwave or refrigerator in the room. But the kitchen staff will store any beverages & heat your personal food items. The location is great. right across from Fisherman's Cove Beach. The hotel was very peaceful.& quiet. The food is very good. yet way over priced. The pool is less to be desired. not unless you don't mind swimming in a pool full of rain water. The grounds are very well kept with tropical flowers & plants. There's a guy there named Ricardo who catered to our needs. a good cook & is well informed about where to go & what to do in the area. Although Ricardo was a great hotel worker. Unfortunately one other male staff member there wasn't so friendly. During the end of my stay, I was accused of breaking a glass table on the private deck. when actually a stray dog came in the middle of the night, looking for food & knocked off the glass table & broke it. The next morning i reported it to one of the local male staff members & was accused of lying. He even denied that there were any stray dogs in the area that come on property looking for food. When everyone in Jamaica knows that it is indeed a fact and a problem that most local hotels & beaches have.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ask about running water....before booking here.

Posted Apr 4, 2013
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
The first day we got in, no running water in our room, 2rd day trickle, heard this is common, because of droughts? The housekeeper did not empty our garbage, we had a lot piling up. When we asked it got taken care of. The bathroom had a musky, damp smell. The shower was mildewy. Asked to get a lightbulb changed in our hall we had two adjoining rooms, another lightbulb was out as well, in our room. Some of the yard was very nice, other parts were not, seemed like dump sites, old trees cut down, garbage around. Below the hotel was an area with a washing machine, looked like it was falling apart. The towels were very rough. The food was decent. The pool was very nice. We paid about 100.00 us dollars per night for two rooms total. The staff was very accommadating. We were very close to Frenchman's Cove Beach-beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

San San Tropez in Port Antonio, Jamaica

Posted Apr 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay at the San San Tropez. Phil and Andrew greeted us immediately and helped us with our bags. The room was very comfortable and very clean. The location was perfect. It is located across The Frenchman's Cove Beach. Included with our reservation were daypasses to the beach so we did not have to pay additional $6 per person. Ricardo was also very pleasant and helpful. The town center of Port Antonio is about a 10 minute drive. Overall, we would stay at San San again and recommend it too.