Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kiss., fl

Economical.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and friendliness of staff.
Cons: They should advertise aLL of their amenities. As a woman I always look to see if they have a hair dryer because they are so bundle some to pack,
Location: Location could be better.
Price was great. Everyone was nice and friendly. It was clean. Would be great for a family vacation on a budget, even though pool is small. Cl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

microtel usually has very small rooms no the case

Posted Jun 16, 2014
small rooms and no amenities is what you get at microtel. not at this one. nice size room, coffee machine, clean and had continental breakfast. at this price you just can not beat it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Brooklyn, BY

Small rooms

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Cleaniness
Good location. Cleaniness but rooms are extremely small.It is ok for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2014 by Tom, Hotel Management
Laura, Thank you so much for your feed back. We are happy to hear that we were conveniently located for your needs while visiting the Port Charlotte area. A clean, friendly and comfortable stay is our top priority. We by Brand are a Microtel with Micro in our name. This allows to provide a high quality and at a reasonable rate. Your feed back is valuable and we thank you. We hope that when passing through the area in the future that you will consider Microtel again. Regards, Tom Setchel , Director of Sales.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable economy hotel with fatal flaw

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Staff was very good and helpful.
Cons: Make the whole hotel non-smoking because it seems to be impossible to isolate the smoke to a room.
First, I will state that there were some very nice things about the hotel. Staff was very pleasant and helpful and went out of the way to make the stay good. Facilities were clean and adequate as long as one understands it is an economy hotel. reasonable continental breakfast included. One thing happened that caused the lower rating. I had three rooms for family members for two nights. The first night everything was fine. The second night things went bad. Occupants above two of the rooms (they were next to each other) where very loud, banging around, well into the early AM. In addition, both of the rooms suddenly reeked of cigarette smoke. I am allergic to cigarette smoke and basically was miserable and did not sleep. It was not clear where the smoke was coming from but it might have been from the rooms above or something. Anyway, ceilings and walls are thin so if there are occupants next to you or above you that don't sleep when everyone else does you probably won't sleep either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2014 by Tom, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Wow, this is sure a good news bad news review. Thank you so much for the kind words on the quality and service of our staff and management. As you could tell from your stay, the quality of service, and the cleanliness of the rooms and the comfort of our beds, that a happy guest is our highest priority. Thank you for taking the time to provide this review and to let us know where we can improve. Your input is very important and greatly appreciated from valued Guests like you. We are a 100% smoke free hotel and this kind of activity is absolutely not acceptable. As you may recall, our standard operating procedure is to have the guest read, understand and initial at check in that smoking will not be tolerated in the hotel and that a charge of $200.00 will be assessed to guests who do not adhere to our strict policy. It is unfortunate that some people have little regard for other people and or the rules of society. I ask that any future stay with us that you contact our front desk immediately so that violators of our policy can be addressed immediately. You truly are special to us and you deserve a comfortable smoke free stay with us. I apologize for the incident and assure you that we will continue to work diligently to police this very important issue. We have a property upgrade scheduled for this coming off season with many of the acoustics issues to be addressed to assure that each and every one of our guests is assured a pleasant restful stay. We hope that you will give us a second chance. We take you seriously and work every day to assure that each and every one of our guests are happy guests. PS: Please look me up on your next visit. I would enjoy the opportunity to meet you in person and to welcome you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lauren from port charlotte

Nice clean hotel for the price

Posted May 28, 2014
The staff was very friendly. The beds were very comfortable. The pool was clean. Very quiet. Offer a community computer to use. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephanie

Clean and very comfortable

Posted Apr 28, 2014
We had a great stay! Very friendly staff. Clean room and great bed and shower. Great value with good free breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Tom, Hotel Management
Stephanie, Thanks so much for your kind words. We work hard to assure that all of our guests are completely satisfied. We have been working extra hard lately to improve our breakfast selelections. We heard you telling us where we could improve and comments like this let us know that valued guests like your are taking notice. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by Frequent Travel

Non Smoking Right!

Posted Apr 28, 2014
We checked in at 9pm. Room that was suppose to be a non smoking room smelled like someone had spent time trying to mask the smoking smell. Pillows and bed coverings and eventually the room smelled like smoke. Front desk "Laura" was curt and not pleasant. Good shower pressure and towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Tom, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you very much for taking the time to make a review of your stay with us. It is input from valued guests like you that help us as we strive to be the best. Our hotel came under new management at the beginning of 2014. We have been working very hard to listen to feedback from guests like you and to make improvements as fast as possible. In January of this year we converted our entire building to be a nonsmoking building. This involved extensive odor elimination processes by professionals in this field. We recognize that that it is not perfect. The property was build in 2008 and is scheduled for a complete refresh at the end of this winter season. We will be bright and shiny with repaint, new curtains carpets and the works. I am sorry that you were assigned one of the retired smoking rooms. We were unexpectedly busy this past weekend and with your 9:00 PM arrival our room options had ran short. This is not an excuse but a reason. We apologize for your inconvenience and hope that you will give us a try after our upgrade is complete in about 6 months. Our staff goes through extensive training on how to be helpful and courteous to each and every one of our guests. We have taken note of your experience with our desk clerk and have taken appropriate action to assure that you or any other Microtel Port Charlotte guest never experience less than courteous and pleasant service in the future. Again I thank you for your time to review your stay and hope that you consider trying us again in the future. Sincerely, Tom Setchel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Boca Raton, FL

Easy to find. Friendly staff.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: location
Location: we were visiting relatives in area.
just perfect We were just there over night but adequate for our needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Clearwater FL

Nice hotel on the main road

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: It was clean, maid service good, and the A/C worked properly.
Cons: Our room was two queen beds with one desk and a closet that had two hangers. It couldve used another closet as drawer space was a bit limited.
Location: Proximity to restaraunts, bars......pretty much everything was within a mile or two of the hotel.
Reserved a room for 3 nights as we were in town for spring training baseball. The room was clean and effecient with plenty of towels. There was a complimentary breakfast buffet but i didnt partake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2014 by Tom, Hotel Management
Tom, “Go Rays” is our rally cry in Port Charlotte. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we met or exceeded all of your service and quality expectations. Your input helps us get better. Thank you. We hope that you and friends or relatives will contact us for future travel needs. Tom Setchel, Dir. of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ashley from Florida

Not cheap but good

Posted Mar 21, 2014
I was happy with our room the stupid remote for the tv sucked but otherwise bed was fine, room was clean, air was good, breakfast was simple just pastries and juice. Also had a washer and dryer hated there was only one wash and dryer I had two loads of clothes :( . The other thing is that morning when people woke laying on the bed closest to the door we could hear a loud person and several doors open and close that was the only real bad thing