Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay for a few days

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The Motor Inn was lovely and quiet with a great pool and bbq area. The accommodation was lovely and roomy.
Location: The Best Western is located in Davidson Street. We had a car but it was not too far from the main shopping centres with restaurants etc.
Penny and Jim were great hosts. Very friendly and helpful in every way. This was the best stay of our trip to Australia. Would recommend this facility to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Amazing Personal Service

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Port Douglas is awesome. Friendly people, amazing restaurants and shops and a great site to start your Great Barrier Reef exploration.
Jim and Penny, the owners could not have been better hosts. The motel is situated within walking distance to Port Douglas main attractions and the rooms are spacious with easy parking in front of your room. There is a BBQ and pool, laundry facilities and a washing line, all of which we were all to eager to make use of. Jim booked us our diving/snorkelling trip on'Calypso' which was awesome. We originally booked Supersonic but the boat had suffered a mishap due to low tide and Jim kept us informed with updates so we settled on Calypso and He even drove us to the Marina. What a guy! We wanted to stay there longer but he did not have any rooms available so Penny drove us to our next stay. Can you imagine anyone doing that in the Uk? I loved our stay at the Lazy Lizard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

A comfortable and friendly base for a FNQ holiday.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Warm welcome, convenient, comfortable and modestly priced for the quality of the facilities..
Jim and Penny have transformed a traditional motel setting with all the little extras that make a longer stay comfortable. The beds are comfortable, the rooms sparkling clean and quite spacious, the garden setting, pool and BBQ are all well-maintained and a pleasure to use. Our TV was a newer Samsung with a good picture and that matters on a holiday! The motel is an easy drive or a vigorous walk into town, close to the Four Mile Beach and the bikes are a very pleasant option for local trips. The mini-kitchenette with a sink, microwave and basic cooking utensils means you have options for eating in as well as out . We had a lot of fun making salads from beautiful ingredients bought at the Sunday market to accompany barbecued barramundi from 'Snag-a-Barra' and steaks from the local butcher. Jim is a great source of sensible touring information too - book your tours when you get there to ensure optimal weather conditions. Oh...and the internet works too!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff are not nice

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Don't like to stay there again because staff were not nice to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, Ontario Canada

Perfectly met our needs!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Quaint, clean
Cons: A heated pool, but apparently that isn't common in Australia and is only really an issue in winter (July>
Location: Close to beach, bottle store ): could walk t town, but it was a short drive to get there and walk around once you get there
Owners Jim & Penny were super nice and helpful. They recommended and booked a snorkelling trip for us that was amazing! Helped us get settled in right away. Short walk to beautiful Four Mile beach Would definitely recommend this hotel. Al, Kathy & Kelli
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jun 6, 2014
I stayed for a night on two occasions recently. The Lazy Lizard had everything I needed, was well presented, and the staff were welcoming and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Marie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by crjb from UK

Outstanding Service

Posted Apr 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ideal resort location, privately owned, very helpful and excellent facilities and service. Couldn't be faulted. Discounts on local tourist attractions, plus all amenities including free DVD loan. A welcoming motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Peaceful, quiet, large room, everything one could want, at an excellent price.
Location: A bit of a walk from the centre of Port Douglas but there are shuttle buses that seem to stop anywhere! Go to Daintree forest!
Just wonderful little place, amazingly friendly owner, Penny, who did everything possible to make my stay perfect. Amazing trips in the area!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Royston, UK

Excellent motel, very friendly people

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Facilities, cleanliness and accessibility. Owners Jim and Penny couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.
Cons: We had everything we needed.
Location: Easy access to the town, restaurants and large Coles supermarket. Easy trips to.Kuranda train and Skyrail, Mossman Gorge and Great Barrier Reef
We found this motel in an Internet search and it lived up to expectations in every respect. The room was comfortable and well equipped. Cooking facilities were limited to a microwave but there was a barbecue for general use. The pool wasn't huge but very adequate for a decent swim. Jim and Penny were excellent hosts, Jim giving us very good recommendations for day trips, particularly when to go on a boat trip to the Great Barrier Reef and which companies to look at. Our choice of Calypso was first rate as their excursion was first rate. The motel is about 2 km from the town centre so easily accessible. There's also a walk through to the long beach but we didn't swim there because of possible stingers, being the end of the rainy season.