Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Blenheim, NZ

Nice hotel surrounded by Port Douglas activities.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Wonderful manager who organised all our trips and advised us on trips. Easy parking available. Books and magazines available.
Cons: Don't heat pool. Supply slightly more shampoo and conditioner.
Location: We were surrounded by restaurants, shops and tour companies - noisiness wasn't an issue.
It is positioned immediately in the middle of every where, close to the sea, shops and restaurants. The rooms were nice though the kitchen way to cramped for a disability unit trying to fit a wheelchair in the room. Bathroom, bedroom and lounge perfect. Nice but small verander with a limited view of the swimming pool. With it being so hot I was dying to dive into the pool to cool off. It was a shock to discover the pool was as hot as outside, can't understand why they would heat the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Pillows were a bit hard for my likling but everything else was very comfortable.
Location: Very central close to the shops, restaurant and all other facilities you might require.
This apartment was boutique and suited us well. close to the action but still quiet and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Location, location , location.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Nothing not to like
Cons: Plusher mattresses.
Location: Perfect location. Handy for local tours, dining and shopping. Car not needed.
Enjoyable, no hassle accommodation. Quiet room. Informative and cooperative staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Quiet week in FNQ

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Central location - cleanliness and newly renovated bath room - well presented - cable TV
Cons: Free Wi-Fi
Location: Central location with all conveniences close by - restaurants, shops etc - and yet only a 5 minute walk to 4 mile beach.
Retreating from the Melbourne winter for some relaxation in the sun. The beach is a standout particularly if you want to run and/or walk. The town has retained its character and has amble dining and entertainment options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Quite nice

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: location was excellent
Cons: In a four day stay there was no service to room at all, and small extras such as $5 for a towel to sit by the pool.
Location: Port Douglas is lovely
quite nice -- please don't make these reviews so onerous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Great hosts

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pip and Trev were incredible!! They were very helpful in figuring out/ booking our various tours. They were also helpful in restaurants, how to use the grill, basically whatever we needed, they would try to be helpful. They were always most pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bettyfrom San Diego, CA

great place to stay in Port Douglas

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Macrossan House is perfectly located, quiet but in the center of everything. The kitchen was ideal--after 9 days in Melbourne, we were tired of restaurants and longed for a simple salad and grilled fish AND there is a grill by the pool to use. Pip and Trevor were very helpful setting up activities for us and the stay was truly memorable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Barbfrom Michigan

Adequate room but good location

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was adequate but needs a little updating. The bathroom was updated and great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sallyfrom Dawson Creek, BC

Private Oasis

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Quiet, clean, execellent location.
Location: Easy walking distance to shops, great local dining, 4 mile beach, and marina.
Private suite hotel off the busy Port Douglas Macrossan Street. The room was spacious and clean with detailed amenities. We were pleased to have so much space, and a quiet retreat. Our kitchen was well stocked and the rooms were clean. The front desk staff were friendly and knowledgeable, and quick to make recommendations for local dining and activities. The location was perfect as we did not have a car. We were only steps away from local dining and activities on the beach as well as grocery and specialty shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by janicefrom victoria

Right on Main Street, yet very quiet at night!

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Almost everything save the stairs!
Cons: Can't think of any improvements needed, we loved our stay.
Location: Right in the middle of the Main Street, perfect spot.
Staff were lovely, accommodating & extremely pleasant. The apartment was perfect for two guests and contained all we needed. A pleasant surprise to have the unit serviced mid way through our eight day stay. A minor issue with toilet seat was rectified whilst we were out immediately after we reported it! The bed was very comfortable, large and well blanketed. Loved the wooden slat blinds throughout, great idea which rolled back to expose a full wall of window, which also rolled away, giving full open air access across the wall, lovely. On the down side - top floor, no lift;