Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Weeks stay

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location and facilities
Cons: Staff
Location: 4 mile beach,Daintree ice cream farm on the way to Cape Tribulation,Mossman gorge
We stay here 2 years ago ,then the staff were personable and very helpful ,now that has changed ,they have lost the charm of the personal touch ,seem under staffed and under trained ,this needs to change or we will not return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glen from Sydney

First class location with first class amenities.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Everything that was promised was delivered. Quality fittings and fixtures with everything you need for cooking, washing or just relaxing. Perfect.
Cons: Nothing at all.
Location: Netted swimming Beach and surf club 50 metres away. 5 minute walk to Main Street, restaurants, shops and hotels and 10 to the Marina and cages.
From the time we arrived in Cairns everything was perfect. Excellent transfer service to Port Douglas and a friendly and polite express check in at Mowbray by the Sea. I was amazed to see how beautifully presented the unit was upon arrival. Air conditioning and ceiling fans operating when I opened the door which was a welcome relief in the hot conditions. We had no need to contact reception staff other than to book our return transfer and check out at the end of our stay. Plenty of information in relation to the areas attractions and tours available contained in the ground floor lounge area. Extremely secure building in a beautiful location, close to beach, shops and Marina. Walk to everywhere. 5 star first class establishment that I would recommend to the fussiest of travellers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sarie from Sydney NSW, Australia

Great place to stay with a baby!

Posted Jun 30, 2012
We travelled to Port Douglas on our first family holiday with our 7 month old daughter. Mowbray by the Sea was the perfect location for us. I 5-10min walk to the centre of town, and a two minute walk to the beach! The self contained apartments are perfect for a family with one or two children. Our little girl loved the heated pool! Will definately stay here again when we return to Port next winter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from Rural northern NSW, Australia

Can't go wrong...

Posted Mar 27, 2012
Location: On the edge of town - ideal as the surroundings are quiet. Only a very short walk to town and the marina.
Very comfortable, well appointed and spacious excpt the showers which are a little cramped. Overall as good as you will get, well situated for Port Douglas town (a very short walk to town) and good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Uk

Mowbray by the sea Port Douglas- Great apartments

Posted Mar 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed our stay here, the apartment was immaculate. Well equipped and close to the town. Very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Port Douglas visit

Posted Feb 29, 2012
Pros: Close to beach, nice pool, handy for main street
Cons: No lift , lots of stairs
We visited in the quiet season and almost had the place to ourselves. It was nice not to have to share the swimming pool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mowbray by the Sea - Tropical paradise

Posted Jan 21, 2012
We had a great time staying at Mowbray by the Sea. The Property Managers are very helpful and friendly as well. We had a 2 bedroom apartment very well furnished on the top floor within 5 - 10 min walking distance to all the amenities and the beach. The kids had fun swimming at the pool. The rooms are quite spacious with en-suites in both the bedrooms as well. Will highly recommend this for someone with family looking for a comfortable and quite place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Everything you need

Posted Dec 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
My wife and I stayed here as part of a month long trip to Australia and this was in the top 2 of all the various places we stayed in during that time. The room is large spacious and clean. The location is excellent being close to restaurants and the beach and the pool is supberb. The hosts were very helpful in suggesting and organising and all activities. As a person who travels on a regular basis this place was a pleasure to stay at and I would recommend to both couples and families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location, friendly managers

Posted Oct 19, 2011
Great welcome from friendly helpful people. Good location, all needs met comfortably. Slight damp smell. Helped with aircond, windows open and fans.