Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Shantara Port Douglas

Posted Sep 18, 2012
We didn't have our room cleaned once during our 3 night stay, Otherwise, everything was great, location v good for walk into town and staff were helpful with tour booking. Overall good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

affordable, good all rounder

Posted Sep 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
clean and walking distance to shopping areas and restaurants. No cooktop but bbq in the pool area allowed for some cooking. Well stocked/ equipped bbq with oils, condiments, foil etc. Small pools, more for wading and not big enough to allow for laps
4 out of 5
by Margaret

Lovely room lacking sunshine

Posted Sep 12, 2012
Pros: Private spa and quality of room.
Cons: Lack of sun.
Accommodation was excellently appointed however the pool was in the shade most of the time and a lack of sun in the apartment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christine from Sydney

A wonderful tropical resort

Posted Sep 5, 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were welcoming and helpful, the room defintely five star, and the resort really relaxing with lovely well kept gardens, pools and service areas. It is a close walk to the beach and to the centre of the town. We would definitley return for another stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Candice from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Shantara Resort Review

Posted Aug 23, 2012
The Shantara resort was a lovely place to spend our holiday in Port Douglas. We stayed in a Studio apartment (pool deck) with easy access to pool for a swim. The staff were fantastic and very helpful with booking our transfers to/from the airport and our tours as well. I would recommend the resort if you are planning a holiday to Port Douglas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Aug 7, 2012
the hotel was ok but very disappointed with no room service with booking and that it was a extra cost. i think you should make it clear on the room booking that room service is an extra.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great holiday

Posted Aug 6, 2012
great stay and service - thankyou to all the staff at shantara
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DC from Sydne

Great alternative to a resort

Posted Jul 29, 2012
Shantara was a great alternative to a resort. It doesn't have a bar that a typical resort would have but being only a 5 mins stroll to Macrossan Street you don't need them and by choosing a luxuary aparment complex instead of a resport you get the really big selling points of your own kitchen and no children so afternoons lounge on our balcony with a drink of our choice were bliss. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and found it the be spacious and stylish. The only quibble is that the pillows in both the bedroom and on the sofa were a little hard which made sleeping and really kicking back on the sofa a little less than pleasant at times. The pools are great and I also had a massage at the day spa on site it is was one of the best massages I have ever had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Todd from Sydney NSW, Australia

Fantastic overall!!

Posted Jul 28, 2012
Pros: The privacy and lack of kids
Cons: Not much really
Location: Perfect! 5 minute walk to the main drag
Fantastic hotel!! Was very pleased with the whole stay. Gym is good with a handful of machines and weights + bench. Pools were nice with a private entrance to a pool a nice touch. BBQ area is great. Room was clean, tidy and more than adequate. Location was perfect - only a short stroll to the main strip. Only drawback was the lack of Fox Sports 2, so no league action over the weekend. But hardly an issue really. Would definitely stay again and will be recommending Shantara to friends and family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maureen

superb

Posted Jul 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
I don't normally write a review but feel that it has to be said how helpful and charming Jess and Pauline were with organising trips for my daughter and I.Location was just perfect , near to shops restaurants,beach and marina. Room was delightful absolutley no negatives!