Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glen from Sydney

So Much Potential !!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Brilliant reception and Bars/Restaurants..... the rooms were fantastic size and comfortable.
Cons: Cleaning up of the vast gardens/ grounds, more staff to be available around pool area, more activities for guests in the evenings.
In its day this resort was spectacular, time and some neglect is apparent, BUT we were shown several glimpses of greatness and potential, the pool area and service were brilliant even with the limited staff who were run off their feet ( well done team you never stopped and gave us great service). The reception areas, bars and restaurant were beautiful and just needed some good publicity to encourage people to use these facilities more. The Rooms were dated but very clean and spacious, great value for the daily rate we paid. The Grounds were the in need of much attention and hopefully with new owners some injected capital will assist in the revitalisation of this resort. We had a great time and look forward to the resurgence of this great icon of the North.!!!
1 out of 5
by viv from sudney

Roo over prives for a very old and smelly hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Bad experience, terrible old hotel Overpriced Hotel smells really bad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wong from Sydney

Nice hotel, don't like having 1000 extra charges.

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Cons: Nothing in the minibar except water.
Location: The town is a nice 25 minute stroll along the beach, we (partner and I) walked up most mornings for breakfast and to buy drinks for the bar fridge.
Basically, the hotel was great. The rooms are dated, in a late 80s way, but it is not detrimental, it is chic-kitsch if you like. What isn't good is the service at the poolside bar, never once did i NOT have to chase up my order, and never once did i walk past the bar to hear somebody else doing the same. The extra charges bordered on absurd, i realise Australia unlike any other country believes anything can have a price added to it. Here is a list of some things that were chargeable but would be free in any other hotel around the world: internet (seriously? are we still charging for internet?) bike hire $10 service fee on room service (can't this just be added into the bill? isn't room service already a service?) $20 for a lost towel Fee for a lost safe lock breakfast
1 out of 5
by Lawrie from Sydney

I will never go back to this place.

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: This place is in disparate need of a revamp, I would guess it was built or renovated in in mid eighties and nothing has been done since then.
Location: The location is about the only thing going for this place, there's a shuttle bus that takes you in to town, they charge you $ 10 return, so wrong.
Very dissatisfied, if I could have got my money back and gone somewhere else I would have. I have stayed in Sheratons all around the world and this place does not live up to the reputation and quality you would expect from this chain. It really put a damper on our holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ewan from New Zealand

Expansive property, very relaxing

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a "studio" room in one of the wings. The room was large and spotless clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The location was great along 4 mile beach and the pools at the report were first class. Definately recommend staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eduardo from Melbourne

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The Facilities
The hotel is bit dated but everything still in pretty good condition - excellent facilities and outstanding service. If you are looking for a place to relax please stay here
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Vicki from Brisbane

Not Happy - better & cheaper elsewhere.

Posted Jan 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We expected more from the hotel being the Sheraton Mirage & were really very disappointed with the rooms, we had friends stay too & they had similar issues.The hotel is well overdue for a refurb, it's straight out of the 80's there are musty smells in the rooms & the carpets are worn & gubby. The restaurants are very expensive & we ate in Port Douglas all teh time. Our room wasa deluxe garden, upon arrival we had several things missing from the room & mini bar. Not deluxe at all. If we could have cancelled we would have, but no refund was available on this stay.We will go elsewhere in the future. And won't book rooms through Hotels.com without refunds available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Pools

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: The pools
Cons: A renovation
Excellent pools and lagoons. To many to count. Great for a morning walk along the beach and even able to pick a coconut. Rooms are dated but very spacious. Don't take good bathers as the chlorine bleached mine. Hotel food is expensive but all resort food is! You can take a short shuttle bus that comes even 30 minutes into town only costs $5. Would defiantly stay again as the pools are amazing but will take cheep bathers!