Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FL

TOO COLD TO ENJOY

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Hotel is 1st Class even though the weather was bad.
Cons: No
Location: would be great in summer, Weather was freezing,
Wife ill did not make trip from FL to NY, Funeral for former Marine Buddy - went alone. Stayed one (1) night not (2), NO REFUND - Just doesn't seem right to pay for 2 nights when I stayed one night. Desk Clerk said NO REFUNDS because I booked with Expedia. My Loss - Never again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: The rooms were nice, well-appointed, and exceptionally spacious.
Cons: The heating system in the room was extremely noisy. There is no second exit to the fitness room that isn't locked with a deadbolt. Criminal.
I stayed here for two nights in the dead of winter. Used only the room and fitness facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Breakfast not included on weekends nor holidays. We spoke to the restaurant Mgr about this and he said continental breakfast was included. When we went on Christmas Day they attempted to charge us for a full breakfast. We complained and the mgr removed the charge. The day after Christmas, not a holiday nor weekend, the manager told us breakfast was not included. Disappointing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul Cfrom Lynbrook

meh...

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful neighborhood, dated hotel. No room service. Extremely loud banging from pipes whenever neighboring rooms used the bathroom. Actually woke me up thinking someone was banging on my door. Very frustrating. Lastly, and I don't believe this is really the hotels fault per se, but I was really looking forward to a bath, but my room only had a standing shower. I wont be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by corrfrom New York

A Great Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very Pleasant stay at Danford's right in the heart of Port Jefferson, staff were top notch, room spacious and well decorated, hotel amenities exactly as advertised, will definitely be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jamesfrom Connecticut

Over priced and out dated facility.

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is one of the only hotels that I have stayed at, that does not offer parking nor an loading or unloading zone at its door. The hotel is an accumulation of small, older buildings adjacent to one another versus a single structure. The buildings are older with the main entrance to each more like entering an unmanned apartment or condo versus a hotel. The room rate high versus what you get. My stay was on a cold Monday night, in a town known for its Summer attractions much more than this time of year, yet very pricey. Very limited amenities and the icing on the cake: I asked the girl if there was a gym and she said no but there was a small gym that I did find. Overall my experience was sub-par and overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the bay

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Nice hotel on the bay. We had a meeting at the hospital, and didn't really have the opportunity to appreciate the hotel or the city. The staff was friendly with a great desire to please. We'd come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Cure but a little loud

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is an older property so you constantly hear your neighbors and street noise. Only compaint i had though! :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2014
we could hear every car go down the street all night. the ferry woke us up at 8 am. the room smelt like air freshener. smell never went away. hotel restaurant was aweful.