Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ, USA

Good for Port Moresby

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Food good, nice restaurant. Nice spacious room.
Cons: A fairer price.
Location: Like most of Port Moresby, there has to be a guard and security gate. Walking outside is not recommended.
Port Moresby hotels are unreasonably overpriced. This hotel is no exception, but it's perhaps as good as you'll get. It is a pretty good hotel, and was well run.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

They prefer you don't book through Expedia

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Clean, good food, very good pizza
Cons: Service to those who book through other than Holiday Inn site. My room was downgraded but I still had paid full price.
Location: Security is very tight everywhere, you need to ask local people where to go and the safe way to go
First time at this hotel and as I will be coming back to PNG three or four times a year, I was interested to find a good one. I arrived at the hotel with 5 or 6 others in the hotel mini van. I happened to be first at reception, but my room "was not currently ready" ALL the other people on the that arrived with me, got their room straight away. After 45 minutes I was told "the room you booked with Expedia will not be ready for a few hours, BUT, we can give you another room on the other side of the hotel now if you like". Of course I took the ready room as after 14 hours travel and another hour waiting, I did not want to wait in reception another 2 hours for the room "which might be ready". In talking to other guests I find they had the same story when they arrived first time, if you book through on of the travel web sites you get below par treatment at reception, if you book through the Holiday Inn web site you get 5 star treatment. So, as I will be going back here frequently, I will do the sane thing and book through the Holiday Inn Website! As well as the room "downgrade" my Garden View room was as far as you could be from reception and still be in the same suburb. And the "garden" was about 1m2 with a tree and some grass and the rest was carpark with boat trailers and staff coming and going at all times. The other thing which really annoyed me was that, on the expedia site it says "ALL rooms with wired internet" the internet in my room was WiFi and very erratic and slow.
3 out of 5
by Michael Clarke

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Wotif
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Green and serene

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here for work. Felt very safe and secure, with the exception of one night where there was a drunken brawl in one of the rooms above me. The rooms are relatively clean, with older wooden furniture and cabinets in the "Tower" (rooms that start with a 2 are in this building), and remodeled bathrooms. The food was relatively tasty but did become redundant if you stay there for 2 weeks. I would not recommend room service because the food was not as good as in the restaurant. Staff was quite pleasant and helpful, though mostly had very slow service for food/drinks. The outdoor area by the pool and the gym were both wonderful to have and made the place worth it.
3 out of 5
by Glen Hughes from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Central location
Cons: Quality Service
Location: Just right
Facilities: Modest; Value: Could be better; Service: Below average; Cleanliness: Clean; Poor standard service - Room, Food and Check-in
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2015
Hi Glen, Thank you for providing us with this valuable feedback. I do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. Whilst rare, we always view constructive feedback about our service as an opportunity to improve. Thank you again. Scott Schaefer Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A week at Holiday Inn, Port Moresby

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
Recently my wife, daughter and I stayed for a week at the Holiday Inn, Port Moresby. The hotel was well located for our purpose in POM. We felt safe all the time (important in POM). The staff were always friendly and helpful. The room was fine and the gym facilities were useful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay at the hotel should we return in future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kevin Owens from Australia - QLD - Cairns

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: No comments
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Great deal; Service: Outstanding; Cleanliness: Immaculate; I enjoyed my stay
4 out of 5
by Glen Hughes from Australia - QLD - Brisbane

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Gym
Cons: Food
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2014
Hi Glenn, Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the Gym, I agree it is very extensive for a hotel gym. I also appreciate your constructive feedback regarding our restaurant. Kind regards Scott Schaefer Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by Mathew Marks from Australia - SA - Adelaide

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: The staff are excellent and very personable
Cons: Decor in the old sections dated, gym equipment old but still acceptable
Location: Perfect
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Affordable; Service: Phenomenal; Cleanliness: Spick and span;
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2014
Hi Mathew, Thank for taking the time to provide a review. I appreciate the feedback and I'm glad you found our staff to be friendly and engaged. They certainly are our greatest asset. Kind regards Scott Schaefer Hotel Manager