Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Panama City Beach, Fl.

Great setting for hotel next to docks great view.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: A nice restaurant and bar and a clean room.
Cons: Change attitude of breakfast worker.
Location: Great area to do things in.
The continental breakfast was a terrible. I had coffee and a small piece of cake. I was using a cane and couldn't move too good because I am recuperating from Right hip surgery. The lady that was there to take care of the Breakfast was coming towards me with a small plate she had cleared from another table. I told her I was all done could she please take my small plate too. She took it and then she snapped at me and said she wasn't supposed to do that because this was a continental breakfast and we are supposed to clean up after ourselves. I thought that was kind of rude and she saw that I had trouble walking with my cane carrying a cup of coffee and that small plate when I first went to a table to sit. This is the only thing I was concerned about with this hotel and I didn't say anything to hotel staff when I was checking out because I figured maybe she was having a bad day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Good hotel, clean and affordable

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The events. The price.
Cons: a bit better beds, found them a little uncomfortable. I booked 2 rooms for a week, wish I had gotten a discount for that.
Location: Location was good. Shopping centre right across the street and good restaurants near by as well.
This was my second time staying at the hotel. Really good experience. Staff was helpful, accommodations were comfortable. There is a grocery store right across the street, and restaurants around. The pool was open, and on the weekends had pool side band, and other activities going on in the hotel bar. All around a great experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Orange, Fl

Posted Jul 19, 2015
The staff was nice. Room was clean but I did see a roach in the bathroom. A bit dated. The breakfast was horrible. The pool was big and clean. Kids enjoyed swimming. We only stayed for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale

Always stay here when I visit New Port Richey

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Having a restaurant and bar right in the hotel is a real plus!
The Magnuson is the best choice when visiting New Port Richey. The hotel is very clean. The rooms are excellent, with very comfortable beds. The restaurant and bar right in the hotel are very good. All Staff is very friendly. Rooms on that backside are by the marina - nice sitting outside with that view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, VA

OK for frugal single guest

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Bed was comfortable.
Cons: The walls/doors between rooms--SOUNDPROOF! Make a checklist for required items in room and use it before guests arrive.
Location: Don't expect beautiful harbor views from this marina.
Walls were thin--neighbors were heard throughout night to 4:30 AM. Not for kids--OK for single guest needing basic room. No iron provided--had to ask for one twice. Sink drain plug broken as well as the shower drain. Non-smoking room reeked of smoke. Internet was reliable. Provided breakfast IS/WAS a JOKE. Don't expect much from this motel and you won't be disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

AC Issues

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Clean, Quiet, Good Location, Friendly staff.
Cons: Do not control the AC unit let it work the way we want it.
Location: Nice fishing, Hacking and the springs are amazing....
The room was clean and the location was nice not too much noise but every night the AC turned off from 3:00 am to 4:30 am the room got extremely hot to the point of sweating. We spoke to the manager and they changed the thermostat but the same thing happened the following night it was pre programed to turn off not even the fan that I set up to continue run worked and I lower the temperature and even turned the unit off and on but it did not work it stayed off until 4:30 am. I have seen this done in cheap hotels they do it in order to save energy but never expected it from this hotel. Also de Dinner special was Pizza from a Box Do not order the Pizza Special !!!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The room I made reservations for was not the room I received. The room was clean, but smelled like vomit. The air conditioner didn't not work properly, I set the air on 68 and the room was still hot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Do not stay at this Hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Cool air and nice pool
Cons: There is just too much to mention, if they cannot go in that room and see what needs to be repaired and improved then I am not helping them out.
Location: We went to visit with family and they lived it this town we did everything outside of Port Richey. Like Clearwater and Tampa
I will never stay at this hotel or recommend it to anyone, after driving 7 hours, booked this room a month in advance, the room key did not fit, so we had to go up there to the office 2 times and after still not working he gives us a key to another room that is supposedly comparable but is smaller and after looking at it good the next day was in bad need of repair. Had a hard time getting towels, maid service next day was not until 4 o'clock can't tell if they did anything, a blanket was folded. Am just really aggravated with this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Well worth the money. Restaurant is convenient. Some construction ongoing which is a bother
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Charlotte, Fl.

Overrated Hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The beds and linens were new and clean. The pool is O.K.
Cons: Everything but the beds.
Location: The location is prime. Restaurants and water sport activities and plentiful and near-by.
The Port Richey Magnuson Hotel is very much overrated! The waterfront is under construction and the deck is roped off with yellow tape. There were no permits posted. The lawn area is unkempt and littered with debri from the deck construction. Beware if you have small children, as the debri is not isolated and presents many serious hazards. The continental breakfast is very limited and does not provide a feeling of cleanliness. There were no health dept. inspections posted. The parking lot is littered with cigarette buts and food wrappers. The beds and linens were excellent. The bathroom was clean and in good condition. The lounge is in very poor condition. This hotel is in a great location but it is old and in dire need of major up-dating.