Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB

Adequate Hotel - NOT worth the price

Posted Sep 29, 2014
We had a room with 2 queen beds - extremely small, no room to walk on the "far" side of the beds only in between them. Mold in the bathroom.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Portage La Prairie Canad Inn

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: nice area
Cons: maybe offer some kind of free breakfast/discount, considering you are already paying out the wazoo for a "better" experience/room, which didnt happen.
Location: close to winnipeg, but outdoors smelled really badly like onions... not sure what THAT was about.
Expedia booked a different room than what i was expecting, and the Portage Canad Inn was dirty, smelled like mold due to piles of wet towels and garbage in the hallways, and the staff was rude. Overall NOT the best experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dirty, pool and hot tub had too much chorine

Posted Aug 27, 2014
very disappointed in the accommodations, very dirty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Great value

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Very quiet. Good restaurant. Excellent pool area, especially for kids.
Cons: We wish we had been told about the buffet dinner and also the wi-fi by the clerk who checked us in.
Location: The hotel has everything you really need for a night's stay.
This hotel has great family appeal with a lovely pool and waterslide area. The spacious lobby is very welcoming and everything is well kept and clean. If I had one complaint, it would be the gas station-variety toilet paper holders that don't turn. This seemed rather cheap in an otherwise classy hotel. We enjoyed the pool and water slide area but were disappointed to learn that there had been a buffet dinner which ended just before we got to the restaurant and we wished we had been told about this at check-in. However, the food we ordered from the menu was reasonably priced and very good, like home-cooked. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christinefrom Ottawa, ON

An Ok stay

Posted Nov 15, 2012
Beds were comfortable and the place was clean. Reception staff were friendly and professional. Waitress in Tavern United was inattentive; brought food but had to be asked for cutlery, napkins and condiments. Called for room service (breakfast) at 7;15 a.m. and was told that it wasn't avilable as the waitress was the only one in the Alto's restaurant and she could leave to deliver a room service order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Canad Inn Review

Posted Nov 3, 2012
Internet connection was good. Restaurant cooks made great food. Very comfortable stay. One negative - the hallway to my room did not smell very good at all and dirty plates from someone's room service sat in the hallway for hours...it should have been picked up by a staff member when passing by. I would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg

What a wait!

Posted Nov 22, 2011
The hotel is obviously an older hotel. It will need a lot of upgrades in the near future. But what got us is that we needed an extra blanket and it took ALL DAY. My wife asked at around 10 am to get us another blanket after she stopped by the room in between conferences. By supper it still was not in the room. After supper we checked again and still no blanket. So she went back to the front desk and asked again. Two hours later at 10pm we finally got a blanket. Unacceptable. We heard that others in our conference didn't even get there room cleaned and they asked for it to be done. I guess when your one of the only hotels around you can slack off on service cause you don't have options to go anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

very comfortable

Posted Mar 28, 2011
Very Comfortable