Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portales, NM

Should be called the smoke filled hotel!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The receptionist that checked us in was rude. I requested a nonsmoking room (I had my 3 teenage children with me), which I was told that's what I got, but to get to the room we had to walk through a hall filled with smoke. The room itself didn't smell heavily of smoke but there was a lingering smoke smell to it and the towels all reeked of smoke. Also, the outlet in the bathroom was burnt out. If I had not already paid for the room through Expedia, we would have left! I would not recommend this hotel to any nonsmoking person or people with kids. This was by far the worst place I've ever stayed!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Amy, Hotel Management
Dear LaTanya First off I would like to apologize to you that you were treated rudely at check in. That bothers me so much and I will look into this and take further action. Yes, we do have 7 smoking rooms on the 2nd floor and you had to walk by them to get to your room. I am sorry. Thank you for letting me know about the broken outlet. It will be fixed right away. Thank you for sharing your experience and being honest.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Needs major renovation.

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
I booked a non-smoking room. Got there and hotel staff told me I had booked a smoking and blamed it on hotels.com. They had no other rooms available that night, so I had to spend a night in a smelly room. Very unpleasant. Every thing looks old at this hotel. Breakfast was cheap. I served myself some coffee in a styrofoam cup and tried putting a lid on it, which made the cup break and spill its content. The price is too high for what the hotel offers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2015 by Amy, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I apologize sir that you ended up staying in a smoking room. I'm sorry to hear that you had a disappointed. We do hope you return and we will make it right for you sir. Sincerely
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smells ripe

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Although the hotel is not responsible for the smell of the cows, they are responsible for the smell on the inside. The hallway smelled like sour water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Amy, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience here at our Super 8. I apologize for the sour smell you noticed. We will get the hallway shampoo'd right away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Efren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul from North eastern NM

Nice stay

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels
This stay was a little better than the last time I stayed. Desk clerks were helpful, building was clean and didn't smell like smoke, like last time. Room was clean, but the bathroom needs some caulking work and just some touch up to the tub as not to make it look like there is a crack or cleaning scrubbed for hours...haha They need a little variety on the continental breakfast, not just cereal, yogurt and bread Other than that, decent stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015 by Amy, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you for sharing your experience after your stay. I apologize that the hotel smelled of smoke. Not a usual thing for our Super 8. I will follow up on the tubs/caulking. I agree, we should offer a little more variety. Thank you Paul !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Cruces, NM

Close to ENMU

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Hot coffee available all the time; close to campus; clean
Staff is outstanding! Room provided everything we needed for a quick trip- comfy bed, very clean. Extremely fair value for the price
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Amy, Hotel Management
Thank you Odette for sharing your review. I remember you and enjoyed getting to meet you. We get a lot of compliments on our staff. They are truly great. I'm glad you were happy and satisfied during your stay !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Andrews, Fife

Basic Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Nothing. Poor value for money compared to other similar hotels we have stayed in New Mexico and Arizona.
Cons: Decoration and furnishings all require upgrading. Quality of breakfast was poor. Coffee had no taste. Bread was sweet. Poor selection.
Location: Near the university.
This hotel is dated with basic facilities. Standard of breakfast was poor. Rooms are small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Amy, Hotel Management
Hello Louise, I am sorry that you weren't impressed with your stay. We are a budget hotel so therefore we do serve only a continental breakfast which includes waffles, cinnamon rolls, bread, cereals, oatmeal, yogurts juice and coffee. We have been renovated in the last 2 years. Our furnishings are new. Concerning the price issue, you may have stayed on a weekend when rates were higher due to local events. Thank you for sharing your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by wd from Camarillo

Good bargain

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels
Original non smoking room smelled like an ashtray. The very nice girl at the counter fixed it & gave us a very clean & good smelling room immediately. Nice staff & well-maintained property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Amy, Hotel Management
Thank you WD ! Im glad you were switched right away and the problem solved. I commend our staff here as well. They really try hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels