Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anabelafrom New Jersey

Alvor Atlantico

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
To check-in at Pestana Alvor Atlantico you must check-in at the sister property resort Dom Joao Pestana. The resort itself was a wonderful place to stay with it's oceanside location and having beautiful clean rooms with ocean views. However, customer service from Dom Joao was lacking. Daytime front desk staff appeared overwhelmed at check-in but night staff became increasingly helpful throughout the stay. Everytime we asked a question of day staff, misinformation was given. It appeared that they were trying to perform the least amount of work as possible and would suggest other avenues so that they would not have to go out of their way. We chose this hotel specifically for the in-room safes and hair dryers. Upon check-in we discovered that there are no hair dryers in the rooms, they must be requested and they had run out. In addition, safes must be rented at 2 Euros per day (other people in my party were quoted 3 and 4 Euros per day). Furthermore, they never smiled and seemed annoyed to give us any assistance. Night staff was completely different, going out of their way to assist the guests. Overall, being one of the cheaper options in Algarve, I was satisfied with the stay. I am not sure if I would come back however, being there are so many other lovely places to explore in Algarve
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jason Darosafrom New Jersey

Great location

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
To check-in at Pestana Alvor Atlantico you must check-in at the sister property resort Dom Joao Pestana. The resort itself was a wonderful place to stay with it's oceanside location and having beautiful clean rooms with ocean views. However, customer service from Dom Joao was lacking. Daytime front desk staff appeared overwhelmed at check-in but night staff became increasingly helpful throughout the stay. Everytime we asked a question of day staff, misinformation was given. It appeared that they were trying to perform the least amount of work as possible and would suggest other avenues so that they would not have to go out of their way. We chose this hotel specifically for the in-room safes and hair dryers. Upon check-in we discovered that there are no hair dryers in the rooms, they must be requested and they had run out. In addition, safes must be rented at 2 Euros per day (other people in my party were quoted 3 and 4 Euros per day). Furthermore, they never smiled and seemed annoyed to give us any assistance. Night staff was completely different, going out of their way to assist the guests. Overall, being one of the cheaper options in Algarve, I was satisfied with the stay. I am not sure if I would come back however, being there are so many other lovely places to explore in Algarve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anabela Santosfrom New Jersey

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
To check-in at Pestana Alvor Atlantico you must check-in at the sister property resort Dom Joao Pestana. Th resort itself was a wonderful place to stay with it's oceanside location and having beautiful clean rooms with ocean views. However, customer service from Dom Joao was lacking. Daytime front desk staff appeared overwhelmed at check-in but night staff became increasingly helpful throughout the stay. Everytime we asked a question of day staff, misinformation was given. It appeared that they were trying to perform the least amount of work as possible and would suggest other avenues so that they would not have to go out of their way. Furthermore, they never smiled and seemed annoyed to give us any assistance. Night staff was completely different, going out of their way to assist the guests. Overall, being one of the cheaper options in Algarve, I was satisfied with the stay. I am not sure if I would come back however, being there are so many other lovely places to explore in Algarve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquil beachside hotel with fantastic staff.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
My boyfriend and I had a lovely first holiday together at this peaceful hotel. I have visited Alvor previously and stayed in a beautiful neighbouring hotel which is also owned by Pestana. Both hotels have been a pleasure to stay at. We would both like to return together in the future to explore more of the beautiful Algarve. Staff were both friendly and helpful. Alvor is a truly magical and special place. I would recommend people to visit Alvor and consider this hotel as an option. Happy days!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robertfrom Manchester U.K

Apartments convenient for beach and town

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Situation and locality.
Cons: The studio apartment was ok for one week but very confined for longer stays.
Location: Very close to beach and easy 15 minute walk into town where there are many restaurants. Appears many golf courses also close by.
Had the opportunity to walk the beach, sunbathe in garden and use hotel facilities including restaurant, bar and entertainment. Made use of courtesy bus to Portimao and used local bus service to Lagos which we found punctual and easy to use. S
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lynnfrom surrey england

great place for a break

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: comfort and cleanliness. reception staff very helpful
Cons: cost of drinks
Location: excellent only 10 mins walk into Alvor town
we changed our booking on arrival and did not stay at the alvor atlantica residences but upgraded to the dom joao villas, because our friends were in the hotel and we wanted to be nearer to them. the villas were clean and spotless, maid came every day and the above ratings refer to the dom joao hotel and villas. as with most hotels the drinks and food were expensive but there are plenty of restaurants and bars in the area that serve good food and cheaper drinks
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom HAUTE SAVOIE

Bon hôtel

Posted Jun 16, 2009
hôtel un peu vieux mais très propre la plage est très belle mais on a pas pu l'utiliser car elle été en travaux le seul point négatif de l'hotel est que il est un peut loin des resto et de commerces c'est bien d'avoir une voiture
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Norwich

O.K. for what we paid

Posted Oct 22, 2008
Since all we wanted was a cheap holiday in a reasonable location, using self catering facilities, this hotel was fine. The outdoor salt water pool was not heated so only used it once as 19 degrees C was too cold with an air temperature of about 24 degrees. The indoor pool was too small for proper swimming and was also salt water! Having breakfast included at the nearby Dom Juan was a bonus, but the buffet was boring, being the same every day. It would have been better if they varied it by reducing the 3 different egg options and changing the baked beans to tomatoes or mushrooms on some days. Also they need at least one more toast machine, preferably one that works properly all the time. The weather was fine and this made for a good break for the price we paid. Of course the best night out is the "Happy Dinner" at the Algarve Casino in nearby Praia Da Rocha. Where for a mere 27 Euros each you get a beautifully prepared 3 course meal including wine (a whole bottle between 2) and water. Topped off with a show (mainly dancing this time) which starts at 10pm. The taxi was only 6 Euros going and 8 for the return, must better value than here in UK!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom worthing

hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 5, 2007
some of the complex pathways need repair and some buildings need repainting especially the block in front of the hotel. overall the situation is lovely and we had a really relaxing and enjoyable week. we are seriously considering returning next year
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Attention, nous n'étions pas au Alvor Atl. mais Don Juan II

Posted Aug 26, 2007
Personnels sympathiques et accueillants, hotel chaleureux et bien situé dans Portimao.