Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pleasantly surprised. Met all our needs for the weekend. Close to where we needed to be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unprofessional staff, terrible customer service.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The Candlewood Suites tried to charge me twice for the same room. When I called the front desk, the receptionist said she didn't see a charge on my card on their system, even though I explained I was just there and I could clearly see the charge on my mobile banking app on my phone. I later got a call from the manager of the Candlewood Suites and she proceeded to "apologize" for the issue, but sounded like she was reading from a script and therefore didn't genuinely care about my issue. Nothing about her tone or what she said sounded like she felt any kind of remorse or concern about the error her staff made or how it was handled. She even claimed that she too didn't see a charge on my card. After 8 minutes of back and forth arguing, we had to end the conversation because we weren't getting anywhere with the manager and she was just plain rude and unprofessional by not wanting to admit that she and her staff did anything wrong. In the end, Expedia, not the hotel, made sure I received a refund. To say the least, we will not be staying at this hotel or any other Candlewood Suites ever again in the future and will not recommend this place to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall Rating - One major issue

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The eventual correct room was as expected according to pictures provided by expedia. It was quite comfortable.
Cons: The attitude of employees of the hotel were rather grim and not pleasing.
Location: The location was exactly as expected.
I rented a one bedroom suite through expedia. Upon arrival, I was assigned a studio room. When I saw the room was not as purchased, I phoned the front desk and was told to come back downstairs and I would be re-assigned a one bedroom suite and would receive new room keys. I think that the front desk personnel should have brought the new keys to the studio room and should have provided assistance for the move to the suite. This was 'not' offered or provided.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feed back you provided on your survey. As the hotel has proceeded to go under new ownership and management we are continuing to look for, hire and train the right staff and we do encounter some hiccups along the way. I do apologize that you had an encounter with one of our hiccups. I would like to reassure you that we are well on our way to staffing the beautiful, well maintained and extremely clean Candlewood Suites PDX with an extremely competent, well trained and customer service orientated staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Patty

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2015 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with The Candlewood suites PDX. We appreciate your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Excellent hotel near airport

Posted Nov 12, 2014
People at hotel go out of their way to help. Big room with kitchen. Excellent shuttle. Moderate price. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Heather, Hotel Management
Dear Bernard, Thank you for choosing to stay with Candlewood suites PDX. We appreciate your business and look forward to many future stays. The team at our hotel is proud to say they will always go out of their way to provide excellent customer service because the customer is always right. I am glad you were able to use our shuttle; it runs from 4 am to 11 pm daily and will take you to and from airport with no trouble. We know it is important to pay for what you get but we also know how hard everyone works for their dollar these days so we do try to be fairly and evenly priced. Thank you for your comments and your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Close to the airport and my car rental. Not great if you are working downtown.
Cons: Wifi speed needs to be greatly improved. Also, I could hear the neighbor's television all evening long.
Location: Airport close by. A few restaurants, but nothing you can walk to.
Was here for four nights for business. I have stayed at other Candlewoods that are much nicer. The mattress was uncomfortable and seemed old. The standard things I prefer when traveling, such as plenty and easily accessible outlets, were not available in this room. My main complaint, and the reason I will not stay here on my next trip, was that the WiFi was very slow, almost non-existent. I had difficulty getting work done in the evenings and early mornings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I do apologize you encountered so many issues with your stay. Please contact me directly so we can discuss the issues you encountered because these issues are just so out of character for our hotel. Our business clientele usually rave about our internet. I would like to hear from you so I can do an investigation. It is always the hotel staff and my intention for every guest to have a clean, comfortable, productive or relaxing stay with The Candlewood Suites Portland Airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great room, beds need upgraded

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Love the size and kitchen in room. Beds could be more comfortable. Good location by airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by Heather, Hotel Management
We appreciate your stay with The Candlewood Suites PDX and your review. It is true our rooms are larger than most and it is nice to have the room to move around especially hen you are in a hotel for more than 5 days. Our airport location is so quite we never get complaints about noise but we do have ear plugs if you ever experience to much noise. I do apologize the bed did not meet your comfort needs. We will bring that up in our ownership meeting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Awesome place to stay in Portland

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were absolutely amazing, attentive and helpful. Our room was spacious and the bed was super comfortable. Surprisingly quiet for being so close to the airport, and very easy to navigate to/from the hotel. It is even on a bike path! Will definitely be back :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2014 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and your review was so kind. We work really hard at making our hotel stand out above the rest of the many choices in the area. It is our goal to provide clean, comfortable rooms with a homey relaxed atmosphere; with customer service that blows the competition away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MBfrom FL

Business travel

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
No issues, everyone was helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Heather, Hotel Management
We appreciate you staying with The Candlewood Suites PDX. Please feel free to come back anytime we look forward to any an all future visits. It was our pleasure to have you visit us and if you ever need help with your stay needs please just turn to your friends at Candlewood Suites PDX.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2014 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business.