Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long Island, new york

Very good location with very nice facilities.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
We found the main buildings great but the Carriage house was a bit shabby and run down. The staff was wonderful at every encounter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

wedding weekend

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Old world charm but with modern customer service standards.
Cons: n/a
Location: Trolley bus trip that took approx 40 mins and took you to the coast, past the Bush residence, around port Arundal and town area. Lovely gardens.
We stayed for 2 nights and were delighted with our stay. We were located in east house and although initially disappointed, the rooms we had were large light and airy and had large tv and nice bathrooms. We also had air conditioning which proved exceptionally useful on such a hot weekend. Guests that were staying in the main hotel were surprised at our facilities. Breakfast was very good and the wedding fayre exceptional. Location is superb and next time we are in the area we will stay at the Colony - just loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: It's elegant and the staff is old-fashioned pleasant, courteous, personable and pleasant.
Cons: I don't really need a television in the room but... There is none but there are tvs where I would rather not have them... At the bar, the lunch room..
A lovely classic hotel, very well maintained. No bath robes in the room, tiny bath room, no minibar, no tv. Lots of kids everywhere, maybe works better for families than couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Park from Idaho Falls, ID

Wonderful hotel located in a beautiful spot

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Location: Location was convenient to restaurants and the shore. We took great walks every morning.
The hotel was a beautiful hotel in the "grand hotel" tradition. The location is beautiful with wonderful views from both the common areas and the rooms. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful ocean views

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Perfect Rented bikes and rode the coast The breakfast was awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Forest, IL

Peaceful through back near the ocean

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Location: Mabel's is a short walk from The Colony Hotel. We greatly enjoyed the food there. Family friendly and reasonably priced.
Great views of the Atlantic. Historic facility. No TV made our stay even more peaceful and relaxing. Could hear the ocean from our room. The included breakfast buffet service was outstanding. We will be returning to the hotel in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JEF from Beacverton OR

Gorgeous place! Great location!!!

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Everything
Gorgeous place! Great location! I look forward to staying there again - and savoring the pecan pie with maple syriup ice cream & a Gran Marnier Wonderfully friendly staff So helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by G & G from Pittsboro, IN

History in a Hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: The proximity to the shops and restaurants in town. The continental breakfast was delicious.Really enjoyed the sounds of the waves as we slept.
Cons: I can't think of a thing.
Location: Mabel's restaurant closeby was great for our first Maine lobster.
We enjoyed the hotel during our post-Columbus Day (when a whole lot of Maine seems to shut down) trip. Obviously, we couldn't use the pool, but the grounds were lovely. And, the walk to the Bush compound was invigorating and scenic. Our room didn't have a TV which shocked my sports fan husband, but was actually refreshing. I liked the fact that the hotel was nearly 100 years old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely historic hotel. Sit on the porch and relax

Posted Oct 17, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MaryAnne from ri

Very romantic getaway!

Posted Sep 28, 2013
This was a very romantic place to stay for two people in love.