Ratings based on 822 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice place, convenient location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
This hotel has very modern decor and layout. It's close to all downtown attractions. The staff was nice and the fact that dogs are allowed (for a pretty typical fee) was convenient. No complaints. If you like a clean, sharp-looking hotel for a reasonable price, this is the place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, Wa

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: towels were thin
Overall good. The room was clean but the mirrors were filmed from cleanser used to wash and the towels were very thin.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff didn't really want to be there

Posted Jul 7, 2014
There are no extras. No breakfast, parking, or anything else. For the location it was fine. My view from our tiny window was of a construction site across the way. House keeping banged on our door at 8 am. Thanks for the wake up call.... check out is noon why the banging so early?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay while on property. Our staff members usually try to do everything that they can to make every guest enjoy their time while in Portland. All feedback is used to improve on our services. Again I apologize for any issues you faced and hope that you will be able to give our property a second chance to show you the level of service we are known for. Best Regards, Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mill creek, wa

close to waterfront/ Blues Festival...15 min walk

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: valet and a tv that actually works
Location: vodoo doughnuts but we didnt get to try because the line to et in was always 30-45 mins.
pulled up to valet park car. Kid opens door to my Lexus and grinds the bottom edge into sidewalk. TV didn't work. Other than these two things, everything bueno.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kennewick, wa

A Weekend Trip to Portland City Center

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Friendly staffs. Very friendly valet staffs. Ideal location for Portland city center visitors.
Cons: Equipment malfunctioning issues
Location: City Center of Portland. Oregon zoo, Portland food truck pods, The whole food store, A number of good restaurants such as VooDoo donuts, Pok Pok.
We made a family trip to Portland city center over the weekend. We were able to book our room fast via Expedia, then phoned to reconfirm our reservation with the hotel front desk directly. The valet parking and front door staffs were very nice; it was definitely worth $30 (overnight rate) to have them take care of our car whenever we needed it or once we were done with it, compared to a closest public parking garage that would've charge us $27 with no valet parking. The lobby and our room seemed simple and modern, either are spacious but you get what you pay for, and we were happy with what we got. We've raided a number of Portland's good eats, and Portland has a lot of them. Unfortunately, we stored our food in our room's mini fridge, only to find out later it wasn't working. My adamant wife who had planned to store more fruits and milk for our 16 months old baby tried everything to make it work, and eventually discovered the fridge was UNPLUGGED. So be ware and check your fridge. Speaking of an equipment that wasn't working, our end table Iphone compatible alarm clock was physically damaged and internally malfunctioning. Aside from those issues, I'd say we had a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing us a review. We are happy you enjoyed the service of our valet team. We are sorry to hear about the issues with the refrigerator and alarm clock. We will use this information to help with training for our housekeeping team. We are so glad you had the chance to experience some of Portland’s wonderful food. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Portland. Sincerely, Amanda Obando | Front Office Manager Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Comfortable and Friendly in the City

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Location (close to station) - comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Good facilities. Close to the city centre.
Cons: I don't think there was a kettle for coffee and tea making in the room. This is a real essential for foreign travellers.
Location: Pubs, restaurants, pretty river walks. Shopping.
A very pleasant hotel only a few blocks walk from the train station. Cannot fault it.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Vancouver

Poor housekeeping

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Stayed here for two nights last weekend. On our second day we come back to the room to our door being held open by the door latch. The cleaners failed to close the door after their cleaning, they also also replaced two bath towels with only one which made for one of us having to dry off with a wet towel. When we complained to the front desk, they apologized, but didn't do anything to make it right. Still waiting for that..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014 by Lindsey, Hotel Management
I wanted to personally apologize for any inconvenience you faced while staying on property. None of this sounds like something that would normally happen with our team. I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay but thank you for this feedback as we will use it to improve our services. Best Regards, Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great location for shopping and entertainment

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Enjoyed a great weekend in downtown Portland. Shopping during the day and exploring bar at night. This hotel was perfectly situated in the heart of it all. Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Very comfortable room & reasonable priced. Would definitely stay again next time we are in Portland! The only complaint I would have was the room service breakfast - avoid the creme brule French toast. It was pretty much just regular old French toast with a huge pile of rock hard sugar fired on to it.. disgusting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown spot

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Very easy getting in and out. Great location downtown, very nice staff, would absolutely stay here again.