Ratings based on 794 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value, very pleasant staff.

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The hotel restaurant and the staff.
Cons: Rooms are a bit narrow - perhaps a bit less furniture would make it seem less cramped.
Location: Close to a number of downtown restaurants and hot spots. Neighborhood is still a bit sketchy, but it kind of goes with the edgy downtown atmosphere.
I recommend this hotel - the rates were good, the restaurant downstairs was reasonable and fun and the location is convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a Quick Stay

Posted Apr 15, 2014
We were in town for one night for a wedding reception. Hotel was conveniently located. When I forgot my shoes, Macy's was only a short walk away. The event, at another hotel, was likewise a short walk. Desk staff were efficient. The valet staff were great. I forgot something in the car, and they literally ran to the overflow garage down the street where the car was parked to retrieve it. They were always great about asking whether we needed directions. Our room was on the top floor. It was nice and clean, even if a little spartan. We were on an odd corner, so there was only one window and the view (at least to one side) was really of the hotel itself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dennis from Seattle

Nice hotel, downtown, close to public transport.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Location.
Location: right downtown, on the public transportation lines that make it easy to get around Portland.
Pleasant and efficient staff, easy check in, great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from UK

Stayed last week

Posted Apr 1, 2014
It was our first time in Portland and we picked this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were right in doing so. Very nice hotel, friendly and clean. Close to both Waterfront and the Pearl district. The room was very clean, with a big bathroom including extra-large shower, quiet and with a very comfortable bed. I do not hesitate to recommend it. There is a lovely diner too on ground floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Canadian Owl from Vancouver, BC

A great deal and a great location

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Because of its proximity to the Max Line, it's really easy to get around on transit. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean.
Cons: My only quibble was with the TV. There was no TV guide so you had to cycle through channels to find something to watch. Also, the remote was SLOW.
Location: It's close to Bailey's Taproom, Voodoo Doughnuts, and downtown. If you want a quick bite, there are a block of food carts around the corner.
My wife and I decided to take a weekend trip to Portland on the Amtrak Cascades from Vancouver, BC and were looking for a reasonably priced hotel downtown that was right on the Max Line. The Courtyard fit the bill perfectly. We found the best price on Expedia, and because we were staying 3 nights we got a 35% discount. The room was small but well laid out. The was only a shower, no bath, but it was nice and large with a comfortable king sized bed. We asked for an extra blanket and it was delivered within a few minutes. My only complaint was the TV was a little awkwardly placed due to the layout and there was no TV guide so you had to cycle through all the channels if you were wanting to watch TV. Even a channel reference card would have been handy. The staff was very friendly and helpful in showing us local places on the map that they provided. Currently, there is some major construction going on across the street, but from our room you couldn't hear a thing. The hotel is right on the edge of the Pearl district and Chinatown. There are some great restaurants in the area although if you go just a couple of blocks north, the quality of the neighbourhood declines rapidly, so it is something of which to be aware. As it was, we never felt unsafe. All in all, it was an excellent place to stay in Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in Downtown PDX

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Fine stay, with comfortable room. Only problem is $30 a day valet parking is the only alternative to metered parking that has to be re-upped every 90 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by datruss from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Great Location

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Great, friendly staff and a great price. Great to be able to buy cold drinks right from the lobby.
Cons: Wasn't worth the $30 to park with them, parked nearby for $15 a day, but did not have in-out privileges at this location.
Location: Walking distance to Voodoo Donuts and a few minutes to walk to Pioneer Place Mall or Powell's books.
Walking distances are short to both Pioneer Place Mall and to Powell's books, and it's about a 3 minute walk to Voodoo Donuts. For the price, it was a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lou from BC

Great hotel, right in the downtown core!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location and hotel quality.
Location: Awesome hotel close to all amenities and within walking distance to everything in the downtown core. Plenty of options for transportation as well.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and had everything you needed in it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sam from vancouver, bc

Very central

Posted Mar 24, 2014
The staff were energetic even when we checked in late at night. Everyone was very friendly and we were located right in the middle of all the attractions. Bed was a bit too soft for our backs but the room was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G&S from Vancouver, bc

Central location, easy access to transit, shops, a

Posted Mar 24, 2014
We were happy to stay at the Marriott. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. It is located centrally, easy walking distance to many activities and close to transit.