Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Location: Right across the green line light rail stop and not far from downtown.
The location is good. The room smells weird but for the price it is OK. The underground parking has weird rectangular shaped pillars so if your parking skills are just so-so, don't risk scratching your car
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

A decent place to lay your head down

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: It filled my expectations for a budget hotel in a cool city.
Cons: Well, then it would be different experience. No.
Location: Great location. Portland Farmers Market nearby. University district. Easy walk to downtown core, shopping, oldtown, Voodoo doughnuts, craft market,
The price was the deciding factor to stay here. It was good value for the money, good location in the university district, a popular budget restaurant (pub and grub) adjoining the hotel. Be smart. Seemed to be fast hot water in the evening compared to the morning so take a shower at night. Tram line is right beside hotel, so, like an seasoned budget traveler, be the proud owner of some good earplugs. Good firm beds, good air conditioning and I had a great sleep every night. There are no towering roman pillars, no mountain vistas, no valet parking or frills like that. It was a clean room with a good bed in a funky neighbourhood. The Portland Farmers Market on Saturday was two blocks away in the university itself. Wonderful farm produce, honey, fresh burrito breakfast, flowers, exotic breads, cheeses, etc. I would stay there again in a heartbeat as I know what I want and I also know what I won't pay for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable motel between downtown and PSU campus

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds, friendly staff.
Cons: Bathroom was not as clean as it could have been. Towels were very thin and rough.
Location: Cheerful Tortoise had $2 for 6 wings and $1 beers on Thursday. There was also a Saturday farmer's market a few blocks away that was solid.
As far as motels go, this place was overall solid. Rooms were pretty clean and beds were surprisingly comfortable. By far the most affordable place on the weekend we went. The only thing to take note of is that the description says free onsite parking, but the spaces are limited and first come first served. There are not enough spaces for everyone so we ended up having to wake up to move the car every day from street parking to paid lot parking across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel. Good location downtown.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Decent hotel close to downtown activities and right on bus route.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tacoma wa

It had good and bad points

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Nice comfortable room. Not much for parking but it is after all downtown Portland. There wasn't a sink stopper because it was being used as the bathroom door hinge pin and the toilet was in need of some repairs. Other than that. it was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The location is great. Free parking.
Cons: The staff wasn't particularly nice, helpful or flexible.
Location: The Crystal Ballroom, Powell's Books, Voodoo Donuts and other downtown favorites.
There is almost no warm water so the shower was a trickle. There was only one bath towel. The room is loud and it was hard to sleep. It was old and outdated, but also had unnecessary things unpainted or fixed, which is fine for a good price but along with the other things seemed annoying. The housekeeping seemed fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Hotel room was decent but hot water ran out mid-shower. There was no elevator so that was an issue. On our last day we asked if we could keep our luggage stowed away while we visited the sites before our flight and was told no. This meant that we had to haul our luggage around everywhere we went.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London/New York

Get what you pay for

Posted Jul 2, 2014
This was the cheapest hotel in Portland at the time we were visiting. The location is very convenient for most stuff you'd want to do downtown, the streetcars are right by. The room was clean, but shabby: to be expected I guess if you want an affordable option. My two complaints are the staff: they were dismissive and rude, and the mattress sagged so me and my partner spent the night rolling into the centre of the bed or having to cling onto the edges. If you're expecting luxury, not for you. If you want a relatively cheap place to stay and can overlook a few things then consider this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Definitely the least expensive hotel I could find

Posted Jun 30, 2014
A stray cat tried to get into my room while my window was propped open with phone books (it wouldn't stay open on its own), as I was trying to air the space out. It smelled like smoke and urine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem

Posted May 31, 2014
Clean comfortable room at a very reasonable price. Located within walking distance to downtown, museum and adjacent to Portland State.