Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Good location

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Walking distance to most places downtown, next to the MAXlight rail stop so you don't have to drive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Hotel is old, lacks security, not ideal location and was extremely noisy not just because of street noise but walls and ceilings are paper thin. Only positive the bed was very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, Washington

Clean, affordable comfort and convenience

Posted Apr 4, 2015
I stayed here for two nights. It turned out to be a great place for me. The rooms are comfortable and basic; very clean. A great urban setting: one block from Portland State, two blocks from 15+ food carts, right next to a wonderful pizza restaurant. Just two blocks from the streetcar and two MAX lines. Very pleasant walking to the river or the center of downtown from here. The only thing missing was a coffee maker---but Starbucks is one block away! Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Halifax, Nova Scotia

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Found the staff friendly and helpful and the room was clean and quiet, and in a good location. I would go back for sure.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Good location and clean.
For over a $100/night, there should at least be a coffeemaker in the room. Also, the site showed free parking but when we got there, they said that there was no more room and we would have to pay across the street. Adding parking money and coffee money to the night's stay made me feel cheated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price, location

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Everything was great. My only complaint was the shower had issues. Went from Scorching Hot to Freezing Cold randomly all weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Excellent location and service.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Location and service
Location: It is located in the college district with an easy access to everywhere. The museum of art for example is in walking distance.
The hotel is located at the college area close to all kinds of public transportation. The staff is excellent, accommodating our stay from beginning to end. The draw back is the noise; closing the windows minimizes the street sounds, but then you hope your neighbors are not very loud. Though that is typical for motels in town. The hotel is exactly what I paid for as accommodation, except for customer service is way more than expected. I would stay again there when visiting Portland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Best kept secret in Portland.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Close proximity to everything
Cons: extras,
Location: Eats, College, rail to anywhere, museums, tours, etc.
Does not have the best extras, however, very close to pretty much everything. There is a bus, trolly, and rail line very close to the building. There is a limitless amount of places to eat within a quarter mile. This place is also across the street from the college, which is great if you are visiting. All around nice experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location, location, location, the end

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: parking, hot water, key policy
Location: close to downtown with lots to do, eat, see.
Fairly rough all around. Definitely get what you pay for here. Parking, free yes, but nearly impossible to actually squeeze a truck into. Upon arrival we were informed it would be more money for any additional ppl besides two of us. They only give you one key, because they are so expensive to replace and the lobby is open 24hrs. Next day shower went from warm to freezing, once the neighbor turned on their shower. Location is great. Room is small, but clean and fine. For a little more money you could get nice hotel with adequate parking and each have your own room key.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Good location. Within walking distance to food carts and the Saturday market.
Cons: Furniture seemed a little outdated/old.
Location: Good location. Within walking distance to food carts and the Saturday market.
Perfectly suitable hotel for my needs. The bar/restaurant next door got a little loud at night, but it didn't particularly bother me.