Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tacoma wa

It had good and bad points

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Nice comfortable room. Not much for parking but it is after all downtown Portland. There wasn't a sink stopper because it was being used as the bathroom door hinge pin and the toilet was in need of some repairs. Other than that. it was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The location is great. Free parking.
Cons: The staff wasn't particularly nice, helpful or flexible.
Location: The Crystal Ballroom, Powell's Books, Voodoo Donuts and other downtown favorites.
There is almost no warm water so the shower was a trickle. There was only one bath towel. The room is loud and it was hard to sleep. It was old and outdated, but also had unnecessary things unpainted or fixed, which is fine for a good price but along with the other things seemed annoying. The housekeeping seemed fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Hotel room was decent but hot water ran out mid-shower. There was no elevator so that was an issue. On our last day we asked if we could keep our luggage stowed away while we visited the sites before our flight and was told no. This meant that we had to haul our luggage around everywhere we went.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London/New York

Get what you pay for

Posted Jul 2, 2014
This was the cheapest hotel in Portland at the time we were visiting. The location is very convenient for most stuff you'd want to do downtown, the streetcars are right by. The room was clean, but shabby: to be expected I guess if you want an affordable option. My two complaints are the staff: they were dismissive and rude, and the mattress sagged so me and my partner spent the night rolling into the centre of the bed or having to cling onto the edges. If you're expecting luxury, not for you. If you want a relatively cheap place to stay and can overlook a few things then consider this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Definitely the least expensive hotel I could find

Posted Jun 30, 2014
A stray cat tried to get into my room while my window was propped open with phone books (it wouldn't stay open on its own), as I was trying to air the space out. It smelled like smoke and urine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem

Posted May 31, 2014
Clean comfortable room at a very reasonable price. Located within walking distance to downtown, museum and adjacent to Portland State.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price and spectacular location downtown

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Low price, clean & comfortable, friendly staff, great location
Cons: Maybe more updated bathroom faciltiies
Very low price for being in the middle of downtown. The staff was accommodating and friendly. Our room was clean, comfortable, and as requested we got to have more towels! Only con thing is that we did have trouble with our restroom (e.g. toilet wouldn't flush, and shower took a while to warm up); however, when we brought to attention to staff they were quick to resolve! :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to public transport

Posted Apr 18, 2014
An old building, but clean and comfortable. I had a room with a bedroom, lounge room and a bathroom so there was plenty of space, I didn't book it specifically it was just the room I got. Some staff were great and very helpful, but they wouldn't keep my luggage for a couple of hours after checkout which was very annoying. The hot water took a long time to get to my room, the shower only got hot after about five minutes, but the bed was very comfortable. Not a high class hotel, but a decent, basic place to stay. Excellent public transport, quite neighbourhood in the evenings and food and shops close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R from Seattle

Clean Hotel with few amenities.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
Location: na
Room and hotel is clean. Good location near downtown and the streetcar line. Management is very pleasant. Room is for sleeping only. No a place to relax (except sleep) after a long day. A bit noisy as to be expected in the downtown area. GREAT pizza place next door. Limited parking. Next time we will stay in Vancouver at a nicer hotel, lower rates, and put up with the drive and parking downtown. If I had to spend the night in Portland, I would stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tarrah from Ohio

Convenient location, low price

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: large bedrooms, friendly staff, location, price
Cons: bathroom size for certain rooms, hot water tank upgrade
Location: bar/pizza shop is next door, train & bus stations around the corner on 5th st, lots of convenience stores, and restaurants within walking distance
I stayed here during spring break week for a work conference at the convention center. Access to public transportation is very convenient (the stops for the Trimet Max Lite are right around the corner) and the hotel is above/attached to a bar/pizza shop. The hotel staff were really friendly and accommodating providing me with a blow dryer and an iron to iron my clothes. I was in room 38 which is a king size room. It was HUGE and the view was really nice. It comes with a microwave and a small refrigerator too. However, it is directly over the bar so on Friday and Saturday nights you can hear the music thumping, but if you turn on the fan of your window heat/a/c unit it drowns it out just fine. Another note for room 38, the bathroom is TINY. My friend stayed in room 33 which was a decent sized full-sized bed room, and had a gigantic bathroom with a window that let in a lot of natural light. Room 38's bathroom was a dark closet with a really bad ceiling light. If you're a woman you will have an awful time trying to do your hair and makeup in this room. Hot water takes a long time to work for the shower and didn't last long either. There is a parking area for the hotel, but I can't speak to cost as I rode the trains during my stay. Overall, the room was clean and beds were comfortable. I would stay here again.