Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value and location

Posted Jun 22, 2015
For the price, location and parking it is great. This hotel is very dated and is deteriorating. Also tends to be very loud with youngsters and local busy hot spots. Perfect if you need a place to crash and you can sleep through the noise, otherwise you will have a better time elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to sleep, close to city sites.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Exactly what you'd expect from a hotel at this price range. Look hasn't been updated since the 80s, but they keep it clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Great central location

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Great location for checking out the city's many craft breweries. No frills, but the rooms are well worth the price. It was perfect for us as we were mostly needing the room to sleep and spent most of our days out and about. If you are looking for a cheap, clean, secure place with nice staff, then this is for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Medford, OR

Family owned gem!

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Very friendly staff. Clean rooms. Quiet - which is amazing since its between two major streets. Close walking distance to lots of restaurants, Whole Foods, and music. Great budget lodge!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland

Good location, clean-ish

Posted Jun 6, 2015
This motel is ok. Nothing fancy at all. It was close to where we needed to be and affordable. It was clean except the shower corners were a bit scary. If you just need a place to crash in the downtown area and dont need anything in your room but a bed, then this is for you! The staff was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kennewick, WA

Noisy, Dirty Hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Stayed here recently when I saw a concert in the area. The best part of the room was the price. At less than a hundred dollars it's hard to complain, but I'm going to go ahead and do so anyway. The room was clean but the bathroom was not. Hair on the toilet. Hair in the tub. Soap or cleaning supplies still in the tub so when water turned on it became really soapy. The drain barely worked in the bath, which may have been why they had such a hard time cleaning it. The walls are paper thin. Very noisy. Van hear everything happening outside and it is very noisy outside at all hours. Bed was comfortable. AC was strong. The staff was friendly. The hair was gross.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and cost effective

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Convenient, clean, friendly front desk
Cons: Not much
Location: Brewery bars, easy walk to downtown, comedy club
We stayed at the Eastside for 4 nights to check out Portlands beer scene and were not disappointed in either. The hotel was clean, the staff on the front desk very helpful and friendly and the beers great. The hotel is just on to the east of the downtown and provided good access to every where we wanted to go. While the rooms are smallish they are well maintained and clean and for the price highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Comfortable budget hotel in fun neighborhood

Posted May 2, 2015
First off, I have to say that Michelle was SO helpful and saved our trip. I had originally booked 2 nights with a different hotel but it turned out to be in a super sketchy neighborhood. After finding out that our window did not lock and the dead bolt was missing (at the sketchy hotel), my friend and I started searching other options. Upon contacting Eastside Lodge, I mentioned to Michelle that I had to figure out if I could cancel my other reservation first before booking with Eastside Lodge. She suggested that I contact expedia customer service and explain my discomfort. Brilliant! That didn't even occur to me and sure enough it worked. Expedia happily gave me a full refund and booked my new reservation with Eastside Lodge. Michelle also had great advice about local places to eat as well as hiking tips. I can't thank her enough. The room itself was comfortable and clean. It had all the basics we could need. My friend and I felt safe and enjoyed walking around the neighborhood to get food and shop. The only minor negatives I could think of is that one of the buildings next door was playing music very loudly until about 1:30am on a Sunday night/Monday morning. Also, our a/c didn't seem to cool the room down on a hot day. Maybe it had something to do with the vent on the unit being aimed straight up behind the curtains.. I didn't see any way to change their position. It was a small thing that didn't really bother us though. I'd definitely consider staying here again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Close to bars and restaurants, and friendly staff.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Great location and reasonable price.
Cons: Coffee pot in the room.
Location: Night club, bars and eating places.
The hotel was great. Close to Amtrak station, only $8.00 in a taxi from Amtrak to the hotel, across the bridge. Friendly staff, and a mini-mart for essentials. Free 24 hour coffee and tea in the hotel Lobby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2015
The room is not well clean and the staff is not professional