Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vermont

Very nice room for the price.

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: clean, price is right, convenient to go to Portland, ME.
Cons: put coffee packets in the room when cleaning
Location: mall, visited relatives in Portland, ME
3 nights , very good sleeping. 2nd and third day no coffee/creamer/sugar packets left in the room by the maid. No big deal since the continental breakfast was right around the corner.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2014
This room is located in the heart of the shopping district in Portland. It is within walking distance to the MaineMall. It was the cheapest rate I could find in the area, and because of that, I expected the worst. The room, however was cozy and clean despite being a little out-dated. There were plenty of pillows and towels, cable and internet, as well as a cozy heating system. Staff was friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Cons: The bath mat was filthy and had mold on it.
Beds could be more comfortable. It was OK for one night.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Brunswick, Ca.

Good location, but very disappointing.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Only positive was the location.
Cons: Everything could be. Rooms were dirty. Found a big bug on the bathroom floor, carpet had not been cleaned well. Dirt caked on in bathroom. Rooms old .
Location: Near the mall.
First time in Portland, so picked this one which was right behind Maine Mall. Terribly disappointing. Did not feel safe . Rooms were dirty and smelled damp and smokey.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Check in was easy and fast. The room was clean. Location was convenient to airport.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Joanne Bondyfrom Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Poor Rewards

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arrival into property was dismal. Receptionist was very nice. Room us very outdated. Outside and inside was outdated and poorly maintained. Room was clean but uncomfortable due to old furnishings and appliances. Toilet was loose from the wall. For all the years I have been a Hotels.com customer, I was extremely disappointed with the "reward. I am generally a loyal customer, but this experience was so nasty that I will not be accumulating any more "rewards" nights. 3.4 is not accurate unless the standards in this area are low.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom cook

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Did not feel that safe door was about off its hinge not that clean
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Disappointed

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: It's proximity to where friends were staying.
Cons: Serious consideration should be given to outer appearance as well as the overcrowded, small accommodations. Furniture was lined up along the wall.
Location: Adjacent to Maine Mall with many shops....also highrise hotel we will consider next time.
We have stayed at Econo Lodges in the past but were disappointed this time. The motel looked tired and dated. There was too much furniture in a small room and it was hard to navigate. Overall, cramped and dated would be our rating. We will not be recommending this particular location to friends headed to the Scarborough/Portland Maine area. The owners need to do some upgrades to appearance within as well as outside. Because of our disappointment, we opted to leave without going for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
WI-Fi didn"t work
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Nova Scotia

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was hard to find even with GPS. Facility is old and dated, room not clean. I would not recommend this hotel.