Ratings based on 1,111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Beautiful, warm pool and spa

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: room, pool and spa
Great place to relax and enjoy Portland. Everything in walking distance downtown. Great restaurant and shops
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Good location, Walk to many features

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Room size and location and staff.
Cons: I put on my Expedia request that it was my Mom's birthday and they never acknowledged it but not a big deal.
Location: Mentioned above in review.
Rooms were spacious. Views out to other rooms though so not lots of privacy if you keep the drapes all open. Nice sitting area which we used a lot so that was a plus. Breakfast was great - lots of selection and fresh. Gym was very small and low ceilings but did have weights and cardio machines so it worked. Walking distance to Pearl District and lots of other restaurants and shops. Also walking distance to the light rail. We took from the airport for very little cost and rode right in and walked 2.5 blocks to hotel.Very easy and fast. Mostly quiet until the last night but can be expected I guess on the weekends. Called the front desk and they were helpful. The room was comfortable and clean and the beds were nice and soft with good blanket coverage (I get cold so it was nice to have the extra warmth if you wanted it).TV in sitting area and in bedroom. At arrival there was a checklist to choose when you wanted the room cleaned each day which was great. Loved that option. The staff was very friendly and accommodating in all areas (cleaning, breakfast staff, front desk and the maintenance). Better to stay at 4th street & above when out. By the bridge and light rail at night lots of homeless and I am used to that but it did get a little rough even for my experience being on the streets of San Francisco often. Nice food trucks by business buildings on 4th and 5th and also good restaurants on 6th.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Nice place to stay in Portland, OR

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The location, atmosphere, and condition of the facilities is excellent if you need to be in the Portland area. The staff service is also excellent.
Cons: N/A
Location: In downtown Portland very near to the Convention Center, Moda Arena (Rose Garden Arena), and close to the Lloyd Center too.
Embassy suites has converted and maintained the historical old Multnomah hotel building in downtown Portland. It has maintained the old, classic charm while also containing modern amenities and services expected. The facilities were clean and comfortable and the customer service by all the staff encountered was excellent. The breakfast has many options is very good as well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reservations were canceled by Embassy

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Can't say since we never had a chance to stay there.
Cons: Honor the reservations; still haven't heard why they dropped our reservations; we had to pay for our own breakfasts at the other hotel and outside.
Location: food trucks were delicious and ditto with the Blue Star doughnuts (instead of Voodoo that we would have tried if we stayed at Embassy Suites)
Had hotel reservations with Embassy Suites through Expedia. Had to make some changes that Expedia confirmed with Embassy Suites, but when my brother's family arrived first, the Embassy Suites front desk told them we had no reservations. They were not going to do anything for us, but my brother complained to them enough so they finally took action to find another hotel for our 3 families. But at the other hotel, we had twin beds instead of suites with 2 queen beds and no breakfast was given to us as what we were supposed to have with our Embassy Suites reservations. Also we had to deal with construction noises above us the first thing in the morning for 2 days of our stay at the other hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corvallis, OR

Great Stay All Around!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Lobby, Service, Room, Location.
Cons: The small humming noise of the heater in the room.
Location: Voodoo Donuts right on the next block, Prime steakhouse downstairs. Walking distance to several locations like Saturday Market, Shopping at the mall.
We had a very nice stay here. The hotel staff were friendly and prompt. Great lobby and a very nice restaurant attached to it (Prime). The free breakfast the next day was full of options and nice as well, probably saved us from a $50 breakfast at a restaurant. The room was very spacious and clean and we had a great stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value. Outstanding comfort.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The hotel was very comfortable. We lacked nothing. The price was very reasonable,especially when considering that a really nice breakfast is included. Conveniently located near Voodoo donuts and Powell's books.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Nice Older Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Always enjoy the free full breakfast. The hotel was a beautiful old building in town.
Cons: I should have been guaranteed the rooms that were booked and pre-paid for.
Location: Voodoo Donuts is just a block away.
The hotel was very clean. I was disappointed when I booked two double queen suites and when my family arrived about 9 pm, I was told that the suite rooms were not available and that it was not their issue. The problem was sort of resolved the next day when we were checking out I was given a ten dollar credit for each room. I always enjoy Embassy Suite hotels because of the room sizes and the free full breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

OK If you need a lot of room in downtown Portland.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The beer at happy hour was good.
Cons: Breakfast buffet had been sitting out a while and hot items were not hot. Avoid hotel parking. Parking on street is free after 7PM.
Location: Bijoux Cafe across the street had great food and live music. Skip VooDoo donuts. Go to Powell's Books and Living Room Theater.
Hotel is in a good location. The room was quite large. Bed was comfortable. Sofa bed not so much. If you have a family this place is ideal. Two people can do better elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central Oregon

Nice, pretty....will give another try.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We found a used enema box in the bathroom. Our room was right over the restaurant...which had a band until midnight without being told. Hot tub crowded as one was out of order. Breakfast was very good. Access to game room (for kids, teenagers) was closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family Fun

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Things we liked: price, room, guest services, staff, location, the classic feel of the decor.
Cons: The master bedroom was a bit cooler than we wanted. Outside low temperatures were in the upper 20's and the heater didn't seem to catch up.
Location: Great coffee shops, restaurants, and shopping in walking distance. We used hotel vallet parking- don't know if I'd leave a nice car on the street.
My family (5adults) spent New Years Eve in a 2 bedroom suite. It was spacious, clean, bright, and surprisingly affordable (vs 2 or 3 separate rooms). We forgot a few things and needed a roll-away bed: guest services was amazing!