Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One Night Stay

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Easy access on and off interstate 95
Location: Lots of stores and restaurants off the exit & on the way to and beyond the Hotel
Stayed here on our way to Northern Maine, Hotel was clean Staff were very pleasant, Breakfast was typical. This is a no frills place nice comfortable easy to get on and off the highway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight March 13, 2015

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpful. The variety of items included with breakfast was above my expectations. The bed was comfortable.
Cons: The heating unit was very loud and woke us during the night.
Our overall experience was good. The Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast included with the room was better than expected. Our only complaint is that the heater in our room was very loud and woke us repeatedly during the night. I shut if off at one point, but awoke a few hours later to turn the unit back on when the room became chilly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

WHY so simple to make things great

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
The room was fine. However The pillows were very uncomfortable They were old and tied in cases to make them look fluffy Reg sized pillows on a King sized bed? The coffee maker in the room was terible. The coffee was almost undrinkable
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susanfrom Boothbay

Shady Business Practice - Incidental Charges (hold

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
A hold was put on my account for $20 dollars for incidentals without any notification whatsoever, even when I asked why I had to give them my bank card at check-in, when the room had already been paid in full, they just said it was to verify information, NO mention of a hold on my account for incidentals. I also examined the entire hotel.com website where I made the reservation, as well as their company website, NO mention of a hold for incidentals and when I contacted the manager of the hotel, he informed me there was sign at the check-in desk, which was not apparent to me at the time, so it could not have been a large or well placed sign. Regardless, two days later I still had a hold on my account for the $20 and when I called my bank they informed me that the hold would be lifted on the 20th, which was three days after check-out, when I mentioned this to the manager he told me it was the bank that held the money and released it. This was either total ignorance on his part or a blatant lie, as I checked with the bank a second time to clarify it and once again they told me it was up to the Merchant when the hold was lifted. So, as you can see, I am very very disappointed by the treatment I received.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Jeff, Hotel Management
I am unsure how to respond. I have reached out to this guest and apologized for her inconvenience. It is a very common practice for hotels to require credit when a guest arrives. normally the authorization is taken on the guest's method of payment. When a guest uses a third party and prepays, this authorization is held against whatever card the guest supplies at check in. The hotel sends a message to the bank to insure that funds are available for purchases made or damages while the guest is staying. Our authorization is $20. There is a fairly large 9"x9" sign directly in front of the front desk which guests can read explaining this policy. The bank determines how long it takes this hold to fall off, the hotel does not. Please see below from Wikipedia for the most common occurences of this standard practice. It is always our reccommendation that credit cards be used in lieu of debit cards. Authorization hold (also card authorization, preauthorization, or preauth) is the practice within the banking industry of authorizing electronic transactions done with a debit card or credit card and holding this balance as unavailable either until the hold "falls off." In the case of debit cards, authorization holds can fall off the account (thus rendering the balance available again) anywhere from 1–5 days after the transaction date depending on the bank's policy; in the case of credit cards, holds may last as long as 30 days, depending on the issuing bank.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Western Maine

Very Clean Hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness
Our biggest interest the night before flying out in a blizzard was cleanliness, comfort, proximity to the bus station and catching some of the Superbowl. The Fairfield Marriott near the Maine Mall met all these conditions. The room was exceptionally clean and, in addition, all of the staff were very friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others. My husband said they had a very nice complementary breakfast too, with lots of choices. And even though the hours given us for the breakfast were 6 to 7am (maybe I misunderstood), there was still food available at 9:30am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Deerfield Beach Fla.

Great place to wait out a snowstorm!!!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: The staff were awesome at this hotel. Very accommodating during a long storm which saw employees stranded at work.
Location: We loved the Longhorn Steakhouse and were very pleased that the hotel provided the shuttle for the short drive there.
We spent two days of the last week of January 2015 at The Fairfield Inn, Portland and this hotel was our favourite out of the 5 hotels we used enrolee from Canada to south Florida.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Average hotel close to Portland Mall

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: For the rate, better quality bed linens. You can't enlarge the room!
Location: Mall and lots of places to eat.
Room was small, bathroom extremely small and cramped. Furnishings were nice. Towels were plush, bed linens average. Lighting was very useful. Climate control worked well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2015 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your remarks. I hope you will give us another opportunity to give you an excellent stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dominiquefrom Southbridge,Ma

Great time!

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels
I was here on Thursday Jan 8 th with my 3 girls. We had a nice lady check us in when we got here. Friday morning we went down for breakfast and we met a very friendly working in the breakfast area and we were talking . She was very nice and the breakfast was very good. Can't wait to go back again in the spring time,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Ont.

Great Place To Stay in Portland Maine

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Inviting staff, breakfast comes with the price of the room. Clean room, warm water.
Great location near all routes you need to get around Portland. Good retail and food options in the vicinity. ave stayed here multiple times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Meganfrom Hampden

Friendly staff

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels
The room was a little small, but overall the hotel was great. Very friendly service! The breakfast was great and they had a nice display of snacks at night.