Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Okay Hotel for the room rate

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Only stated for the night passing through Portland For the cost the room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is a little dated but no big issues
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and close to downtown

Posted Sep 4, 2014
We enjoyed the room, pool, close parking lot, and supermarket and mall just across the street. Downtown Portland, microbreweries, and a great restaurant called Great Lost Bear are all within 15 minutes. And the whoopee pie was tasty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dancing

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Room had a smell of cats...got used to it...Terry Fancher
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

I wish we'd stayed somewhere else

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Easy to find
Cons: Cleanliness and service
Location: Close to the highway
I wish we'd stayed somewhere else - we would rate it 2.5 stars - it was not worth the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 19, 2014
This is not the most expensive hotel, and so the experience will not be five-star. But for what it costs, it is a very good deal in a good location with friendly staff. No complaints, just a peaceful, quiet evening with standard ammenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bel Air, MD

Has all the amenities, but...

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness. I could care less about having a fitness room, pool etc., but what is critical is a facility that is well maintained and is clean & fresh
Location: This hotel is sits on the outside edge of town. DiMillo's on the Water is an excellent floating restaurant about 10 minutes away.
Day 1, evening arrival on 8/5/14 room# 2306. - Entrance to main lobby smell musty. Second floor hallway smelled like vomit although saw no visible evidence of it. The room badly stunk with my wife & I can best describe as a room that had been heavily smoked in for years (this was a non-smoking room) with an astringent cover up scent (that didn't work, just made the odor more intense. The hotel was fully booked so didn't bother contacting the front desk. One light in the room didn't work, the wallpaper was damaged by the window, the ice machine was broken as was the soda machine by Entrance #9 requiring purchase of a soda at the front desk. Day 2, evening return (we put off returning as long as possible) - Musty odor in lobby not nearly as bad, vomit odor on second floor was gone, our room still smelled awful (i.e., no change). When we checked out when asked how our stay was I didn't bother to mention all the issues, just the awful smell in our room to which the gentleman responded that they try to deter those renting their rooms but are not always successful. I didn't bother to argue, but in no way was the odor in this room attributed to someone occassionally smoking in the room, it was disgusting. Because of our experience at this hotel we also stayed away from other Fireside Inn near Bar Harbor, ME.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ri

Too expensive for what you get.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The jacuzzi. The pools. The lobby was nice as well.
Cons: Breakfast selection. Price is too high. Rooms could be cleaner. The name of the hotel makes you think you are getting a suite and you are not.
Location: Portland waterfront had many great activities. The restaurants and the shopping were great. Fort Williams park was absolutely beautiful.
This was the first time we stayed. There were three adults so we wanted a place that we thought would be a suite style, where there was a second room with a small sitting area separated from the bedroom with a door and a separate television. Because of the name of the hotel and the room rate, I mistakenly thought that was what we were getting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

The hotel is just ok

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The stuff is not very friendly, breakfast is just ok, the wi-fi is terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Fireside Inn was great.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Room was nice, pools were nice, staff was friendly, and food was great. Only down was distance to shore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice Location, Nice Price, Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean. (The room we were in had laminate hardwood floors that were clean and in very good condition...no worn or dirty rugs which was a pleasant surprise. The staff was friendly and courteous, acknowledged you and asked if you needed any help, etc.. Nice indoor and outdoor pools with an outdoor lounge area that, though a bit old, was comfortable and well maintained. It is not a new motel, but it is clean and well maintained. Room size is good and adequate; bathroom a tad small, but adequate. Morning complimentary breakfast was more than adequate and you could purchase more at a discount if you wished. Overall a nice hotel to stay in relatively close to Portland's activities at a good price. Portland is a nice city to visit and enjoy. We will stay here again.