Ratings based on 328 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dancing

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Room had a smell of cats...got used to it...Terry Fancher
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

I wish we'd stayed somewhere else

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Easy to find
Cons: Cleanliness and service
Location: Close to the highway
I wish we'd stayed somewhere else - we would rate it 2.5 stars - it was not worth the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 19, 2014
This is not the most expensive hotel, and so the experience will not be five-star. But for what it costs, it is a very good deal in a good location with friendly staff. No complaints, just a peaceful, quiet evening with standard ammenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bel Air, MD

Has all the amenities, but...

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness. I could care less about having a fitness room, pool etc., but what is critical is a facility that is well maintained and is clean & fresh
Location: This hotel is sits on the outside edge of town. DiMillo's on the Water is an excellent floating restaurant about 10 minutes away.
Day 1, evening arrival on 8/5/14 room# 2306. - Entrance to main lobby smell musty. Second floor hallway smelled like vomit although saw no visible evidence of it. The room badly stunk with my wife & I can best describe as a room that had been heavily smoked in for years (this was a non-smoking room) with an astringent cover up scent (that didn't work, just made the odor more intense. The hotel was fully booked so didn't bother contacting the front desk. One light in the room didn't work, the wallpaper was damaged by the window, the ice machine was broken as was the soda machine by Entrance #9 requiring purchase of a soda at the front desk. Day 2, evening return (we put off returning as long as possible) - Musty odor in lobby not nearly as bad, vomit odor on second floor was gone, our room still smelled awful (i.e., no change). When we checked out when asked how our stay was I didn't bother to mention all the issues, just the awful smell in our room to which the gentleman responded that they try to deter those renting their rooms but are not always successful. I didn't bother to argue, but in no way was the odor in this room attributed to someone occassionally smoking in the room, it was disgusting. Because of our experience at this hotel we also stayed away from other Fireside Inn near Bar Harbor, ME.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ri

Too expensive for what you get.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The jacuzzi. The pools. The lobby was nice as well.
Cons: Breakfast selection. Price is too high. Rooms could be cleaner. The name of the hotel makes you think you are getting a suite and you are not.
Location: Portland waterfront had many great activities. The restaurants and the shopping were great. Fort Williams park was absolutely beautiful.
This was the first time we stayed. There were three adults so we wanted a place that we thought would be a suite style, where there was a second room with a small sitting area separated from the bedroom with a door and a separate television. Because of the name of the hotel and the room rate, I mistakenly thought that was what we were getting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

The hotel is just ok

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The stuff is not very friendly, breakfast is just ok, the wi-fi is terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Fireside Inn was great.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Room was nice, pools were nice, staff was friendly, and food was great. Only down was distance to shore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from NY

Good Place to Stay

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Nice place at reasonable rates.
Although we only stayed the one night it was a nice stay, easy to find and right where we needed to be. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room nice and beds very comfortable. Will book again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jill from Ohio

Great Maine location

Posted Jun 12, 2014
The price is great the staff was great and the rooms were clean. The rooms did smell a little musty and the mattresses were not comfortable at all. Otherwise A+. The free continental breakfast was very good!! The restaurant that they have inside thereZacharys is just mediocre for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Candace from New Hampshire

Deployment send off

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: It was comfortable.
Cons: Pool temp higher.
Location: Easy to get to right off the highway.
We had a great time the only disappointment was that the indoor pool was only 80 degrees. That's fine if you're outside in the sun but not for inside. I go to a pool every morning for therapy. Raising the temp to at least 84 degrees makes it enjoyable. The grandkids of course went in but they were blue in a very short time. Other than that all our rooms were close to each other, clean and the breakfast was good.