Ratings based on 429 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Nice enough hotel in a superb location. Nothing fancy, but clean. Price was high but not in comparison to higher end hotels in the area. Again, the location is so great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
This hotel was within walking distance from most restaurants, bars, shops and tourist attractions. The morning breakfast buffet was excellent that saved us time and money. The hotel shuttle was extremely convenient. The hotel staff were pleasant and kept us well informed about local restaurants and shops. The room we stayed in was a king studio with a harbor view. It was very roomy and came with a refrigerator and microwave. Housekeeping kept our room clean and well stocked. I would definitely return to this hotel in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Great staff and close to everything

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: It's a top shelf Hampton. Really nothing could be improved
Location: 100's of wonderful shops and restaurants walking distance.
Didn't have a clue where to stay on my recent vacation to Portland. Love the Hampton brand so went with them. Hotel is located right by the best part of town just far enough away to be quiet and close enough to walk where ever you would ever want to see in Portland. Staff were all excellent! Highest recommendations to their manager to keep up the great work. Would certainly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niantic CT

Great Location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: See note on better cups in room. Current paper cups tend to leak.
Location: Old Port area with lots of shops, tours and restaurants.
Hotel is in a great location & easy to find--excellent access to old port area. Staff was terrific! Valet parking very handy. Facilities extremely good! Only thing I woul change would be better cups in room--something like plastic, foam or better grade paper. Current paper cups tend to leak.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Good value for Portland

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The Hampton Inn was a very good value for Portland as many of the hotels seemed fairly expensive. This property is a short 4 to 6 minute wall to the Old Port and downtown. It had valet parking for 15 dollars a night which seemed reasonable since hotels in other towns with limited parking like DC charge 30 and more for parking. The Hampton Inn has a continental breakfast included in the rate and it consisted of eggs, bacon, bresd and pastries, fruit, a waffle majer for you to make your own waffles, juice, good coffee, cereal and oatmeal - not bad at all. The hotel also had a pool and fitness center which we didn't use. The room itself was spacious, clean and had a sizable bsthroom that had a big shower stall and Neutrogena bath products. The staff was also so friendly and helpful with info and just generally seeming to be happy you're staying with them. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Awesome Hotel!!!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Intended on staying 1 night, ended up adding on another. The hotel is in mint condition from the exterior to the lobby, breakfast area, pool, elevators, and rooms. Front desk staff was very helpful in making area recommendations and helping acquaint us to Portland. Can't wait to visit Portland and stay here again--- a perfect hotel in the heart of the Old Port.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chadds ford, pa

Great place to stay downtown Portland

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Spent a night in Portland and found it easy to get around. Great location but the $15 required valet parking was a surprise. Nice hotel and pool. Would recommend to everyone! Rooms were good size, clean and super comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2014
We stayed there for one night and it was excellent and perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naperville Il

Don't miss this Hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: they made you feel like your family staff was great
Cons: Fan in the bathroom, and restaurant bar. but nice they have one next door for dinner
Location: a little further than we thought but for someone that can walk better not bad at all.
Our stay with the Hampton Inn was excellent would stay again Buffet was good we are more use to sit down and order. but the food they served was good. Nice to have the coffee and tea 24/7 our flight was very early and had our morning coffee fix. will tell every one who want to go to Maine to stay there. Great job Hampton Algeneia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com